We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivelyn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
83
113
56
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
113
56
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastreal aleshower and toiletbudget roombeds were comfortableparking discthree nightsfull englishdouble roomtown centredog friendly hotelbar pricesenjoyed our stayflat screen tvtea coffeeweekend breakstreet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As we wanted to stay for one night in Scarborough before heading for Whitby, we chose this hotel after looking around and reading T.A. reviews. We were not disappointed! If you want a cosy, smart hotel, well located and very well priced in Scarborough, you can't go wrong with this. The decor was very smart - better than expected and the bed comfortable. Ok breakfast was continental, but still good quality produce. Friendly staff and parking either in the street or a little car park 20 metres away - so excellent.

Room Tip: The only thing I would avoid is the rooms near the staircase and lift - ours was Room 101 and we were awoken twice by the usual inconsiderate people who don't think they need to lower their voices when coming back in the early hours!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Rivelyn hotel is excellent value for money. It budget yes but its clean and its very friendly. We have been staying at another hotel that just went more expensive every time we went. The televisions here are far superior to the hotel we were paying twice as much a night for bed and breakfast. Ok it was a cooked breakfast but we found the light breakfast we had here was ample and there was plenty of it. Also the young fellow who took care of us at breakfast was so friendly and we looked forward to chatting to him each morning. Also Melanie who checked us in was a most friendly and obliging member of staff she couldn't do enough for us and we felt really happy in the homely atmosphere. Most hotels are so impersonal but we felt welcome .. We will be going back again and again as we go to Scarborough a lot.
There was tea and coffee and biscuits in the room and the food for breakfast wasn't unknown cash and carry cheap brand it was all top of the range Kings mill breads, Kellogg's cereals as well as porridge by Quaker and Weetabix all branded and the marmalades were Robertson's and there was fresh fruit apples Bananas and Yoghurt all for approx. £30 per room for 2 people.
We got a parking permit for £4 for the 4 days we stayed and saved ourselves £20 which we usually had to pay for the council car parking pass. This will definitely be our new hotel when staying in Scarborough now. We didn't use the bar this trip so cant comment. The lift was small but good and it seemed new. We will even come more now because the money we saved from a Travelodge will enable us to

Room Tip: The front rooms are nice but as I haven't seen the others Im sure they will be good also
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at the Rivelyn recently for brother-in-laws 80th birthday. We were impressed by the rooms. Spotlessly clean and comfortable bed and a 32in tv! Staff are all very friendly, especially the bar staff in the pub. In fact we had a great night, all the people in there on the Wednesday night wished the birthday boy a happy birthday and sung to him. He was well pleased.
Just one or two little niggles. Breakfast was dis-organised and we had to ask for bread, coffee and milk. We ran out of teabags and toilet rolls in our rooms and as reception was closed for most of the day on Thursday we couldn't get any more. Also maybe it would be useful if mentioned that the hotel in on a steep hill as one of our party has mobility problems and we hadn't got a car so had to get taxis to get into town and back.
All in all though an really enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Don't stay here if you are expecting 5 star luxury with lots of freebeies in your room that you will not use. If however you want a clean, no nonsense stay, with all essentials, with a nice cheery, helpful welcome from the reception lady and other staff, then you can't go wrong. Situated on the south bay, near the esplanade and Valley foot bridge, this is a no frills hotel, but does provide a really comfortable stay, which is warm and above all clean. We had a twin room on the second floor (lift available), fairly spacious room, easily accommodating suitcases etc. Good wardrobe space, coat hangers, two easy chairs, smoke alarm, Sky TV. Twin beds, duvets, spare pillows and blankets, small ensuite shower and toilet, superb powerful shower. Kettle with complimentary tea /coffee/ milk. Single glazed windows but was warm - the week we were there we had the first chills of autumn. Two separate fire exits. Out of hours secure entry. On street parking, disc controlled - discs provided by receptionist. We had bed only, but there is also a bar and restaurant in the hotel, which appeared clean and with a reasonable menu, though we did not use these. For the money we paid, it was excellent, but it is no frills and on this basis deserves the 5 stars

Room Tip: We had room 204, on the front of the hotel, overlooking a quiet crescent
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a fantastic night here for my husbands 40th birthday. We was also allowed to fetch our dog. Due to hubby having mobility problems they put us on ground level which was brillant. Although there were some steps upto hotel from roadside. The bar was also next door which was lovely and didnt disturb us when we went to room at 10pm. They only thing I would like extra is a cooked breakfast although the cold breakfast was plentiful and the staff were brillant and helpful. I would definatly recommend this hotel and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews