We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel with helpfull staff”
Review of Rivelyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivelyn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night in this property and for the price we paid it was good value. The bedroom was basic but was very clean and had a fab TV. The continental breckie was enough for us as we are not bothered about full English. There was entertainment in the bar which was excellent the young girl was very talented. Only thing I would mention is we are light sleepers and our room at the front of hotel and the bar over the road was a little loud with a bit of bass kicking - not the hotels fault but I would have requested a quieter room if I was staying longer and I am sure they would have sorted as they were so helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed there with a friend and first night we paid 30 GDP I think and second night was much cheaper which was nice.. Didn't use their breakfast offer, but I think they had one. Solid hotel in convenient location, but nothing fancy. Fair price for what it is!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived unexpectedly early (two hours) and was wondering weather to chance booking in. Didn't have to worry, the owner, Linda must have seen me loitering outside and ushered us in and promptly sorted out our room which was already ready for us (room 105). Linda explained the breakfast (continental) timetable, the parking situation (50p a day) and what the bar had to offer, local real ale (2.50 a pint) brewed buy Scarborough Brewery which is run by one of Linda's son's.
Our room was large and spotlessly clean, it had a large flat screen TV and Wi-Fi. The bed was comfy with crisp white linen sheets.
The owner (Linda) and staff could not be more helpful, during our visit we encountered two young ladies and a young man who were a credit to Linda's establishment, not forgetting the lady who helps out at breakfast, a real gem.
Riveyln is in a great location 10mins walk from Scarborough town centre or the beach.
If you want a really nice hotel, friendly staff and exceptional valve go here. We will be going again, especially if they hold the talked about Beer Festival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over new year, great vale, early check in and friendly staff. Continental breakfast was very good wide range of cereals bread fruit yogurts etc. our room was lovely, huge fat screen tv and wonderful heating. Only criticism was that we had no housekeeping throughout our stay, not sure whether this was the norm or a mix up. Didn't request it while there as spent most of our time out of the room any way. Would Definately return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel staff were very kind to my mum who fell ill over her stay, the gas is broken so no promised full english breakfast, and it was cold but thats all i can complain about, the rest was great the TV had freeview, coffee and tea was in our room, the room was very clean, lots of storage places, they let us check in slightly earlier aswell, bar was nice (i would recommend 'SOBA' bar across the road) the bed was so comfortable.
I will definitely be returning for another couple days in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for four nights.Made very welcome at reception where we were allocated a room on the first floor. Our first impression was that the room was bright and clean with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space.The bathroom was small but quite adequate and there were tea and coffee making facilities.
There was a continental type breakfast with a good selection of cereals fruit juice and yoghurts.
We were able to purchase a parking permit from reception which only cost 50p. per day and enabled us to park adjacent to the hotel.
The staff were extremely friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a find! We had a great stay at the Rivelyn with our dog Henry. It is a very dog friendly hotel. It has a well stocked bar with local real ales ,bottled German and Belgian beers. The hotel is undergoing a makeover at the moment but it didn't spoil our stay. The rooms are basic(reflected in the price) but clean and very comfy, the free breakfast of cereals and toast was ample. The hotel is just a short walk into town or down to the beach. All the staff are friendly and helpful having recently been taken over they are really trying to make it work. We would recommend the hotel for a budget break and hope to go again ourselves. Would make a good base for anyone going to Camera's AGM next year, real ales on site. The owners also run the Valley bar(good beer guide) and their son runs Scarborough brewery what more do us real ale lovers need?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivelyn Hotel

Address: 1-4 Crown Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £25 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivelyn Hotel is situated in the popular south cliff area of Scarborough, just a short walk from the beach and the ever popular esplanade gardens. Our team of professional and friendly staff aim to make your break with us both comfortable and fun. We appreciate how important it is for you to enjoy your time here and we all aspire to create an inviting & relaxing atmosphere enabling you to have a great stay with us. When we bid you a fond farewell we hope you leave the Rivelyn refreshed and with happy memories of your holiday in one of Scarborough's friendliest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivelyn Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing