We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Rivelyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivelyn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Shabby, Not very clean rooms. Tired décor. Windows didn't open properly. Poor maintenance of rooms. Dints/holes in walls and doors. Breakfast lady was scary and swore about the guests till she realised that some of us were still in the breakfast room! Out of date cereal. Only hotel I've ever stayed in that made us pay on arrival...I wonder why?!!!

On the up side towels and bed linen were spotless and the staff were on the whole very helpful, polite and pleasant. The public bar was nice and well priced.

We asked to move from our first room as it was small and the bath was difficult to get in and out of (I suffer from Arthritis). Room 2 was much better and had a shower and the lady (the owner??) was vey accommodating.

Room Tip: Room 112 was really tatty and small. Room 101 was large and airy and much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    105
    51
    25
    22
See reviews for
30
152
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner book this hotel few months before due for us going to Spa for school reunion. At first outside look ok and once we were inside, the receptionist was friendly. We were show to bedroom and it was big and strange as the bathroom was ok but we couldn't find the sink. Sink was in the bedroom, and also need do more cleaning as well. We were told that if want breakfast it would cost £4.50 so my partner decided to have English Breakfast but it turn out too much fat, the milk was in the wrong place while people were queuing for their toast. Would go again not sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Apologies, I had thought I had done this already...In the 3rd week of JULY 2014, I took a group of 20 to the hotel. Except for "small problems" with morning showers (in 2-3 rooms only) my folk ALL enjoyed this hotel, they ALL would happily come to Rivelyn Again. The price we paid, we could not have got at any other hotel in the whole of England. we were very welcome, we had good facilities, the continental breakfast was "plentiful". NOTE please: the owners are still rebuilding (might be the wrong word) this vast hotel, which was quite rundown 18 months ago. They do care about their guests. This wasn't our 1st visit and we had a lovely time in our previous experience, hence why we brought our friends here. Our thanks to all the team for an enjoyable stay. (minor point)...there is a bar across the road, which has some clients who "cant read", as they do have a sign up which asks for visitors to respect others who are in the area. so at the RIvelyn, if U are in a front room on Friday/Saturday night it can be a bit noisy upto 11.30pm

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david221b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from a trip to Scarborough as a last minute getaway for my partners 30th and can honestly was left really disappointed. Despite a great location and decent price tag, the whole place was let down by unclean rooms and unwelcoming staff which really put a downer on our entire trip.
The room was a really good size and the bedroom itself wasn't too shabby but the all of the lampshades were caked (no exaggeration) in dust. In the ensuite, the bath was really too small and narrow so you struggle to get in and out but you have to as there is an attached shower head but no shower curtain. This is made worse by the lack of extractor fan, meaning the window must be open so you have the choice of a sauna or flashing the hotel opposite and when its 25degrees outside its not much of an option.
Breakfast was poor. Not much in the way of options other than toast and cereal. No offer of a cooked breakfast either morning even though we were told at check in there was. Staff pretty much ignored us at breakfast.
Staff really could do with a course in customer service, except for one lady at the bar on our last night who couldn't have been more helpful. The lady who checked us in was abrupt and made us feel like we inconvenienced her. Also with checkout, I waited at reception for quite a while, rang the bell for assistance 3 times but in the end had to search for staff in the breakfast room downstairs just to hand a key back.
Really was a shame as could have been a great little hotel in a fantastic area, but a reasonable price doesn't mean scruffy standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

They need a college course in "how to clean a room" having said that they are very friendly and it's cheap enough for a weekend away I wouldn't like to stay here any longer. Breakfast is continental or you have to pay £4.50 for a cooked one which is swimming in fat. On the whole it's ok but needs extensive work done to bring it up to scratch

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here for a wk end break ...our room had a bath with a shower head ..as i cannot climb into a bath we asked for a room with walk in shower and we were moved no problem ...rooms are basic and bathrooms are small but as we only paid 57.00 for room and breakfast and we didnt expect 5 star ...so you get what you pay for ...there is a large bar area were you could sit on a night ...breakfast was continental but my partner paid 4,50 for a cooked breakfast and there was plenty on the plate...all the staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful...my only real complaint is bed was quite hard ...a more comfortable bed would have been nice ..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the lady at reception claimed that I had not paid, despite booking and paying in advance, and extorted the £76 out of me again, this is now with the bank for a chargeback claim.

The room was dusty and the toilet could barely fit a size 12 lass in let alone a fat man like myself, the showers never had hot water, and the kettle just did not work.

The room was hot and the window could not be opened and there is a very loud pub across the road and downstairs in the hotel itself playing music till the wee hours, and with no double glazing it will keep you awake!

Breakfast was frankly crap, some little boxes of cereal, some dubious looking yogurts, toasters that don't work, a tea run that never had hot water in it and fruit juice in shot glasses! Oh and no milk ever!

They have a lift, just don't expect to use it as the cleaners keep the door jammed open so they don't have to climb stairs, so it's not at all disabled friendly.

Oh and the wifi password is the price of a pint, hardly professional at all and really the price is ordinary at least in Newcastle.

Just save your money and go elsewhere this place is a dump, and hopefully will shut down soon and get new management, it has potential to be nice, but the guys running it seem more interested in the pub.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Colnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivelyn Hotel

Property: Rivelyn Hotel
Address: 1-4 Crown Crescent | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivelyn Hotel is situated in the popular south cliff area of Scarborough, just a short walk from the beach and the ever popular esplanade gardens. Our team of professional and friendly staff aim to make your break with us both comfortable and fun. We appreciate how important it is for you to enjoy your time here and we all aspire to create an inviting & relaxing atmosphere enabling you to have a great stay with us. When we bid you a fond farewell we hope you leave the Rivelyn refreshed and with happy memories of your holiday in one of Scarborough's friendliest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Rivelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivelyn Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing