We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivelyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivelyn Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Me and friends stayed here for 5 nights. It was a great cheap deal and our room was lovely, our room was made up everyday with fresh towels. Recepion was really helpful giving us maps and ideas of where to go. We had the cooked breakfast each morning for only 4.50. It was amazing!! The bar downstairs in the hotel had a great selection and i believe the owners even have Scarborough Brewery, of which they have some of their own beers on tap. The reception isnt 24 hours but they have a night porter on each night and the bar is open till late. Its a 5 minute walk from the town centre and the beach. We will be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for the beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    102
    46
    23
    21
See reviews for
27
141
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid august, the staff were polite and friendly.

Over all the room was very clean with comfortable beds, although it had a strange layout with a separate shower, toilet and sink, it was quite spacious and modern with everything we needed including an electric alarm clock.

Early hours in the morning the room dropped cold, but more blankets were provided in the wardrobe (if needed). They also provide drying racks for clothes should you get wet on ur stay.

The continental breakfast was very basic which consisted of two choices, toast or cereal. Alternatively you could pay up to £5 for a cooked breakfast. As we don't usually eat breakfast this did not concern us to much, but the room was quite small for the amount of guests and it was very full each morning.

As for the parking, you park on the streets in the selected zones, or you can also pay for a parking disc this is ideal if you are on a short day visit as it is a cheap option.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank frizma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

As students, both me and my boyfriend wanted a short valentines break last february that wouldn't break the bank! As the Rively Hotel was perfect.
The Landlady was so lovely, as we checked in rather late she was still waiting up for us to get in, offering us little chocolate hearts on entry. The room itself was basic yet nicely decorated. A small bathroom, but suitable and just what we needed. All essentials were available and the continental breakfast was basic but sweet and original. Not to mention that the continental breakfast was free with the room! with a large selection of cool breakfast items, with a toaster and microwave for the ready made pancakes and muffins! As it was cheap, we were pleasantly surprised, the welcoming hospitality made such a difference! Overall we enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: We opted for a double room with en-suite bathroom, great for young couples or those with a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingByKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good points good location parking close to hotel 50p a day rooms quite spacious clean staff friendly and helpful. Bad points we knew before we came it was not full English breakfast but it was continental ,English at £4.50 pp extra per night each. Don't consider toast and cereals as a continental breakfast no cold meats ,cheese different breads etc on Monday there was a brioche roll and some yoghurt but all in all very disappointing .it is advertised as wifi available in all rooms we were on ground floor and could not get a signal.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a hotel with a good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was the worse hotel we stayed at on a road trip. Do not be fooled by the pictures of the bedrooms in this hotel, rooms are nothing like them. It was very noisy had no sleep. There was no hot water to have a shower. Bathroom very small larger people would struggle to use it. Dust everywhere, dirty bedding. No one on reception to complain to so emailed and this was the response. 'We are only a budget priced hotel and I am quite happy for poor reviews.'

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Shabby, Not very clean rooms. Tired décor. Windows didn't open properly. Poor maintenance of rooms. Dints/holes in walls and doors. Breakfast lady was scary and swore about the guests till she realised that some of us were still in the breakfast room! Out of date cereal. Only hotel I've ever stayed in that made us pay on arrival...I wonder why?!!!

On the up side towels and bed linen were spotless and the staff were on the whole very helpful, polite and pleasant. The public bar was nice and well priced.

We asked to move from our first room as it was small and the bath was difficult to get in and out of (I suffer from Arthritis). Room 2 was much better and had a shower and the lady (the owner??) was vey accommodating.

Room Tip: Room 112 was really tatty and small. Room 101 was large and airy and much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner book this hotel few months before due for us going to Spa for school reunion. At first outside look ok and once we were inside, the receptionist was friendly. We were show to bedroom and it was big and strange as the bathroom was ok but we couldn't find the sink. Sink was in the bedroom, and also need do more cleaning as well. We were told that if want breakfast it would cost £4.50 so my partner decided to have English Breakfast but it turn out too much fat, the milk was in the wrong place while people were queuing for their toast. Would go again not sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivelyn Hotel

Property: Rivelyn Hotel
Address: 1-4 Crown Crescent | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivelyn Hotel is situated in the popular south cliff area of Scarborough, just a short walk from the beach and the ever popular esplanade gardens. Our team of professional and friendly staff aim to make your break with us both comfortable and fun. We appreciate how important it is for you to enjoy your time here and we all aspire to create an inviting & relaxing atmosphere enabling you to have a great stay with us. When we bid you a fond farewell we hope you leave the Rivelyn refreshed and with happy memories of your holiday in one of Scarborough's friendliest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivelyn Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing