We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to get home for a good nights sleep”
Review of Rivelyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivelyn Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 15 September 2009

On a tour with local bus company,a few people with walking diabilites who find it hard to go down to and back up again from the dining room also no ramp on entrance into the hotel.
The En-suite is a cupboard,no soap provided with the wash hand basin which is in the bedroom and no glass provided for toothbrush.
The other guest were very noisy shouting, banging doors most of night and to top the lot our room, till gone 2.30am we could not sleep as there was a extractor fan going ( sounded like it was from the kitchen below) it just vibrated and we put toilet paper in our ears to try to deaden the sound.
But I must say the food was good and staff pleasent

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Hotel Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2009

Thank you for your review, I am very disapointed to hear that their were a couple of points that effected your stay with us. We do have a ramp into the back of the hotel for wheelchair access and the lift goes to all floors including the dining room.
We do not provide toiletries or glass tumblers in bathrooms to enable us to give our guests great value for money stays in a clean and comfortable hotel.
Unfortunately we cannot ensure that all of our guests conduct themselves the way we should like but I am sorry that any exterior noises spoilt your stay.
Thankyou for your comments regarding our staff and food I am very pleased that we met your expectations in this respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Just returned home after a great weekend - we only stayed one night but wished it was more, the food was excellent - rooms clean and comfortable - set in a quiet area but not too far from shops and beach- the staff were great, the only little thing was was we were expecting entertainment but we were told on arrival that there was none that night - would go back with no hesistation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitch083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Hotel Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Thank you for your kind review, we are very fortunate to be in such a great location for everything Scarborough has to offer.
Unfortunately our entertainer let us down on the night you stayed with us, we do apologise but hopes it gives you a great excuse to come back and stay longer with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Six of us from Manchester have just spent a long weekend at the hotel and could not fault it, the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean, apart from all the steps to the centre of Scarborough which the hotel has no control over, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funnycazbo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Hotel Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Your review is greatly appreciated, all our staff work very hard to ensure our guests stay is as pleasurable as possible and we all like to be told we are doing a good job. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

food good room ok
lift miniscule bathroom ditto
we got a parking card from reception and were told it was set and not scratch anything out - only inspected the card on day of leaving only one day was sratched out and we were staying 3 !
so we were lucky i think
booked an evening meal for partners birthday and went down at 7 35 to find there was no food left !
its only restaurant ive seen with no times on the door - it said 6 30 til 8 30 on the room literature but apparently that means nothing
anyway we did get a complimentary sweet to make up for it
doors from bar to entertainment lounge opened wrong way !
handily placed on north end of south cliff only 10 min walk to town

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pendlelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Thank you for your constructive review.
Our new lift in 2008 was restricted to the size of the lift shaft so it is small but manages for the majority of the time. Our bedrooms and bathrooms are of varing size due to the age and style of the building, I do apologise if it was not suitable for you.
Your parking card was correct, the council instruct you to scratch off only the day of arrival so they can tell how many days it is valid for. The doors through from the bar to the entertainment lounge open the way they do as they are fire doors and must open towards an external exit.
I am sorry to hear of your disapointing dinner with us, there seems to have been a lack of communication and I will address this issue.
I do hope that you come back again to see us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

stayed for 4 nights with a caledonian bus tour, the hotel is not the ritz but is a very clean hotel with very good food and friendly staff.the entertainment was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We now have a new summer menu so I hope that you will come back soon to try it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Four of us had a great weekend stay.
Hotel was full,mostly of the same age group 40 to 60+ and most had a good time in the bar and concert room.Entertainment on both nights was excellent
Bar service was very good and prices were cheaper than most pubs.
Room was basic but roomy,nice and clean and the bed was very very comfy
Food and service was excellent.
all four of us agreed we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sananbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

Your comments are greatly appreciated, thankyou. Our 60's weekends are great fun and very popular, we also have Fawlty towers and Murder Mystery weekends, you may like to try one of those? See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

This was a weekend trip booked through "coach style" booked mainly for steam train journey through Heartbeat country, (oh what memories that brought back) We weren't realy bothered about the hotel we stayed in, but, it turned out to be an added bonus, not the Ritz, but the Rivelyn hotel was very nice, we were given ground floor family room, very spacious, TV, on suite bathroom, (bath only no shower) 2 arm chairs and central heating, good choice for breakfasts and evening meals. entertainment was good too. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aronggep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi9, Manager at Rivelyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

Thankyou for your kind review. We believe good home cooked food, great entertainment and attentive staff go a long way in helping our guests enjoy their stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
358 reviews
1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivelyn Hotel

Address: 1-4 Crown Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivelyn Hotel is situated in the popular south cliff area of Scarborough, just a short walk from the beach and the ever popular esplanade gardens. Our team of professional and friendly staff aim to make your break with us both comfortable and fun. We appreciate how important it is for you to enjoy your time here and we all aspire to create an inviting & relaxing atmosphere enabling you to have a great stay with us. When we bid you a fond farewell we hope you leave the Rivelyn refreshed and with happy memories of your holiday in one of Scarborough's friendliest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivelyn Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing