We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Outlook Hotel

The Outlook Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Outlook Hotel
Ranked #98 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My sister-in-law and I stayed at The Outlook in October 2011 whilst visiting family in Scarborough. What a lovely hotel. Chris and Beryl were excellent hosts, providing a friendly atmosphere and some truly delicious food. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect - a rare find these days! We would definitely recommend a stay at The Outlook if you are over that way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just had a lovely 2 night break at the Outlook Hotel with two of our friends, it was very relaxing and Chris and Beryl were very friendly people. We had tea and scones on arrival and two wonderful breakfasts, spoilt for choice really! The hotel is clean and comfy, you don't feel cramped in the rooms, the water is always hot and the heating was on when necessary! We didn't actually have an evening meal there but I am sure that it would have been excellent as Beryl is very proud of her cooking skills! Loads of nice little touches around the place, with fruit and chocolates to help yourself to! The hotel is not too far from the centre of Scarborough and a taxi only cost £5, we chose Seaside Taxis, who turned out to be very helpful and prompt! I would definitely go back there and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinysheff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were a party of 4 old friends in great need of a rest and some fresh Scarborough air.The characterful Chris and Beryl greeted us like old friends with tea and biscuits. The hotel is very well kept, clean, homely and tastefully decorated. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a delicious evening meal prepared by Beryl with drinks from the bar. We were accommodated in the main hotel and the annexe, I was in the annexe with one friend. We played our television without having to worry about disturbing other guests. It is more spacious and cooler than the main building.
A couple of suggestions would be to request the choice de-caffinated coffee for the room and some reflective strips on the steps into the main entrance and around the step from the car park on the approach to the annexe. It's almost impossible to see the steps in the dark.
We would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: The annexe is light and bright and affords more privacy than the main building. It has a couch too s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle07111958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned home after a one night stay at the Outlook. Chris and Beryl are excellent hosts and could not do enough to make us feel at home. They are very friendly without being intrusive. Beryl is a super cook, the breakfast and the evening meal were both of excellent quality and amazing portions. The room was lovely with a very cofortable bed and every conseivable little extra. We will definitely be going back.
Barry and Marjorie

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were made very welcome and had tea/coffee on arrival. The meals were amazing. We had evening meal which was excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. The afternoon scones were delicious! Room was lovely and bed comfortable. Lots of little extras in the room also. We will definitely be going back. R & J

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just spent a week here, and were accommodated in the Annexe building , as we had requested ground floor accommodation., and were thrilled with the spaciousness of it .Beryl is a superb chef, and the food was delicious. Breakfast was available to suit all tastes, Evening meal (optional extra) was also very good value at £12.50 for a four course dinner.
We met nice people like Linda and Brian from Tipton and enjoyed a quiet drink in the lounge in the evening.Will be visiting here again next year.
Well done Beryl and Chris. Love Yvonne and Bob.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holtbob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

we only stayed for 1 night but would go back for longer it is better than a lot off first class hotels and chris and beryl are the most friendly people we have met in this kind off busness they make you very welcome nothing is too much trouble we would hope to go back many more times and tell our friends also brian&jean from goole

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jess580414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#74 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outlook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outlook Hotel

Property: The Outlook Hotel
Address: 18 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outlook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Outlook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing