We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarborough Cricket Festival”
Review of The Outlook Hotel

The Outlook Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Outlook Hotel
Ranked #87 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scarborough Cricket Festival”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Outlook for only 1 night but would like to have stayed longer. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and very welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and overall, good value for money. Michelle met me on arrival with the offer of a cup of tea which was a good start!
I also liked the location of the hotel which is on a quiet street overlooking woddland/parkland but easy walking distance to all facilities.
Thank you for a great stay - just a shame about the cricket result!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goughie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and wished we could have stayed more. We stayed in the family which was very clean and well equipped.
The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice from fresh fruit, cereal and a cooked breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Will be back to stay for longer this time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed one night following Status Quo concert at the Open Air Theatre in Northstead Manor Gardens nearby. Hosts were welcoming and helpful and our stay was absolutely faultless including the first class breakfast, the best I have had for a long time. Would not hesitate to recommend and great value for money. Well done Ian & Michelle, we hope to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front overlooking the park which is peaceful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

stayed one night and could have stayed the week ! rooms were spottles and breakfast lovely and only a short taxi ride into town . we were made to feel very welcome and will definatly use the hotel in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at the Outlook Hotel in June, with a group of friends, our first time at the hotel, which is in a wonderful position, 10 minuets walk through Peasholme park to the sea,

Our room was comfortable and clean, great breakfast, we had two evening meals in the Hotel which where at three courses, huge and very tasty, especially the treacle sponge and custard, yummy.


Our hosts where very welcoming and we where made to feel at home.

Tips: Good walking shoes needed
15 minuets walk to Railway Station and Bus Station, where you can get a rover bus ticket for £6.00. We visited Whitby via Robin Hoods Bay, going through the North Yorkshire Moors and all the lovely village, but of course I am bias being a Yorkshire lass !!

Look out for the Peacock that wanders around the car park at the back of the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo-lady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a lovely 2 night break with friends during the Spring Bank week. It was our second time at the Hotel but our first with Ian & Michelle as the new owners. They did not dissapoint. As before, our rooms were clean and sparkly. Both were on the first floor and overlooked the top end of Peasholme Park so very nice indeed. The Hotel is set in a nice peaceful treelined road - so good for relaxing without traffic noise or rowdy passers by! The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equiped with everything you would need including a flat screen TV, hairdryer, fluffy towels and toiletries and a nice dish of sweeties to munch on whilst relaxing! When we arrived Michelle and Ian made us all a welcoming cup of tea along with a jam and cream scone - delicious and much appreciated! We thought that was a very nice touch. They were both also very helpful in suggesting venues where we could eat out on the 2 evenings and provided us with directions on how to get there and where to park. On both evenings we returned to the Hotel for a nightcap in the bar where we found Ian to be an entertaining and pleasant host. Breakfast was tasty, varied and well presented and catered for us and our travel companions who are both vegetarians. All in all an enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marge079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My wife and I have had a lovely winter 3 day break at the excellent Outlook Hotel .Ian & Michelle could not do enough for us . The decor is superb and very clean throughout, which we feel is vital and very important. The offroad private parking and the proximity to the town are also a real bonus.Rooms at the front have an OVERLOOK of the mature trees within the park opposite. Its also very quiet. Ian & Michelle have a vast knowledge of the areaand places/things to do.Perfect value for money . We hope to do our best to stay again .Gregg & Heather . Kent

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#80 of 182 in Scarborough
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#67 of 182 in Scarborough
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Scalby
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outlook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outlook Hotel

Property: The Outlook Hotel
Address: 18 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outlook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Outlook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing