We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything it said it was” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #75 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything it said it was”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a lovely 4 day stay, very warm welcome from Derek and Anne, very clean room with beautiful views across the bay.The breakfast was superb (sausages lovely), very filling and presented very well. Very helpful hosts ,we would not hesitate to stay here again, well done and thanks derek and anne. Carol and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

had a great short break with quiet and comfort, good clean room plenty of local information friendly hosts and good food

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

An ideal place to get away from it all including the children. Superb room with a fantastic view (Rm 8). Very comfortable bed, excellent nights sleep even though the weather was rough. Superb breakfasts,no need to worry about eating lunch!
Anne and Derek made us feel very welcome and were excellent hosts.
Would recommend it to couples who need a good break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in September, the room was immaculate and the hotel owner was incredibly helpful. The breakfast is very good, the choice of what you can eat is very wide, the breakfast is cooked for you as to your specification and it tasted really good.
We were slightly concerned about there not being any parking, but you are given a parking permit as soon as you arrive and there is plently of parking on the road outside the hotel, and the road is quiet.
The room we were in was not looking directly at the sea but looked up to the south shore and across the town and the view was great.
We will visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCheshire1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed here in March with my girlfriend... the place is spotless, Derek and Ann made us feel really welcome. The breakfast is spoton (especially the sausages!) location is really good short walk to town yet really quiet on a night, got parking right outside, and the view from our room was beautiful! panoramic sea view could see for miles laying on the bed, bliss!!. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

We stayed at the Wharncliffe in September 2007. The hotel was very pleaseant with great views over the North Bay of Scarborough The service by the Hotel owners was veryhelpful It was only a B+B type hotel, - it certainly offered an excellent breakfast cooked to order, with other choices available inc fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts, there is a bar and lounge also available The Owner was very helpful, with local attractions and things to see and do, and kindly offered us his pass into Dalby Forest, saved us having to pay for another one!
overall it was a lovely stay, and we would certainly stay there again!

  • Liked — Helpful staff and lovely view
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fudgekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#28 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Property: Wharncliffe Hotel
Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing