We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST EVER”
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #78 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST EVER”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned today from a 2 night at the Whancliffe, this is the best bed and breakfast hotel we have stayed in. It is spotlessly clean. Our room had a king size bed, spotless bedding, brillant white soft towels, and a wide selection of teas,etc, it even had a sewing kit and shoe shine. The breakfast choice was excellant, yoghurts,cereals,fruit juice were there for you to help yourself along with a wide choice of fresh fruit, we counted 9 different fruits during our stay, when you have eaten your way through these, you then have a full cooked breakfast or a choice from the menu of various other cooked options. Ann and Derek were always available to help make your stay an enjoyable one. There were even umbrellas available by the front door if needed. Will be returning for a further visit and recommend this hotel to any-one

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
94
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I think this is either are 3rd or 4th stay at this fantastic hotel. This is my second review for this amazing place.an i will keep writting reviews as wharncliffe hotel is the best!! We love it here,we would move in if they would let us!!Derek and ann are fantastic,there not just hosts there friends..Every think is fantastic,But the proof is in the pudding,just pick up the phone now and make that call you wont be disappointed............................

Room Tip: All rooms would be fantastic,But a seaview room would be amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEEAUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenrothes
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

my wife and i have just returned from a weeks stay i have to say derick and ann were excellant hosts the room was great with a lovely view of the north bay the breakfast was very nice would defeninatly return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Wharnclife Hotel, ( this last time being a spur of the moment thing) , and we were absolutely delighted to find it still under the same management. So much so, that when Derek asked us if we would like to see our room before officially booking in my husband and I both said no need too. This has got to be one of the cleanest and most welcoming small hotel / B&B's in the country. When you enter there is a small EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN well kept booking in area, and behind that a small EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN bar social room. On this same level there is a large lounge ah! yet again EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN. I know I keep saying exceptionally clean, but that was what first attracted us to the place after having looked at so many grotty places before we found this one 7 years ago. And yet here it was still under the same manageement and still with the fastidious cleaning routine that made us plump to stay there 7 years ago. So we knew without looking the bedrooms would be perfect. We stayed in a beautiful ensuite room over the top of the main lounge, it had the biggest bed I've ever seen in it, some sort of superking size, HUGE!!. also in the room was a dressing table and drawers, a wardrobe with a safe in it for your valuables, and best of all two beautiful new tub chairs and a table that you could just sit at and look out of your window at the surfers on the sea, you felt so close you could touch them. This is another advantage of the Wharncliffe, it is on a main road high up over looking north bay, so you get all the enjoyment of a sea view without the noise and smell of chips . It is just perfect. Your own coffee making facilities and tv etc, hairdrier.
The ensuite, well what can I say, so clean the sparkle of the taps hit you when you walk in, I'm not joking. Toilet , shower washhand basin, floor, you could have eaten off them all SO CLEAN. Bed linen crisp and fesh, and clean towels every day. I know I keep going on about it but I am obsessed with how clean a place is or if it's not up to scratch I'm not staying there, simple as. And I believe the majority of people out there are like me. You want somewhere EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN and Wharcliffe delivers every time.
Breakfasts, I don't know how Derek and Ann can make a profit there's so much choice, fresh fruits, yogurts, fruit juices, numerous cereals, jam toast, scrambled egg etc. and the biggest homecooked full english you'll get anywhere.They even make there own speciality sausages alsorts of delicious flavours. Honestly by the time you've had your breakfast you wouldn't need to eat again til supper. But don't take my word for it give the place a try yourself I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackhCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've just returned from a week's stay in this marvellous B&B in Scarborough, from the moment I walked inside the premises it made me feel like I was coming home as when I walked inside it made it feel as if I was coming home indeed as it had that feeling about it. The propreitors Derek and Ann went out of their way to help me the best way that they could and made my stay there a perfect one. The room had everything I wanted and I had a really nice view of the town and a slight glimpse of the South Bay and breakfast every morning was cooked to order and to absolute perfection as most of the food was used with local produce and apart from 2 daytrips that started exceptionally early in the morning, most of the mornings I ate my breakfast there my plate was empty most of the time as it was so delicious and cooked to a high standard.
Anyway I'd like to close this review by saying that I will stay at The Wharncliffe at some point in the future and with sincere thanks to Derek and Ann for having me for the week and here's to many more future stays at The Wharncliffe if I ever visit Scarborough again which hopefully more than likely I will.

Room Tip: If a peace and quiet stay is what you're after, The Wharncliffe is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is the scond time me and my patner as stayed at the wharncliffe hotel,
Derek and ann made us feel very welcome.
It is very relaxing.The perfect place to unwind and relax and chill out!!
Rooms are fantastic very clean!!with tv and coffee facilities.
Wide variety on breckfasts very filling!We can see why they have won awards for them
Would recommend a stay here.
Aubrey and Danielle

Room Tip: Request seeviews and you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEEAUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Excellent breakfast, good clean room, excellent views over North Bay and Castle, friendly helpful welcome.Been several times - will be back next year

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
624 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#57 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,867 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#23 of 183 in Scarborough
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Property: Wharncliffe Hotel
Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing