We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend”
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #76 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Spent a weekend at this hotel, excellent is all that I can say about this place, we paid a little extra for a sea view but was worth every penny.wonderful breakfast. Will hope to return later on in the year.
Lynn and Richard

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at The Wharncliffe. We hope to see you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we have just returned from two nights away at the wharncliffe hotel in scarborough. We were greeted by Derek who made us feel at home straight at home. The hotel was very clean and tidy and nicely decorated. We had a lovely sea view which was out of this world. The breakfast was excellent. Derek gave us some recommendations on where was the best place to eat in scarborough. We hope to go back soon. So give it a try for a unforgetable weekend away

Room Tip: room four has a wonderful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sunnyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekAnn-Wharncliffe, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments about The Wharncliffe that you have made in your review. We do appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend by the sea, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent a wonderful couple of days at The Wharncliffe.Derek was very friendly and informative.Made us feel very comfortable.The room was marvellous,with a lovely sea view.The place is very clean and tidy.The breakfasts were wonderful with plenty of choices Booked to go back in July. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a very nice place to stay in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Room 8,recently refurbished and excellent sea views.Steep steps though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napolean53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekAnn-Wharncliffe, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about The Wharncliffe. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are really looking forward to enjoying your company again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just spent two nights at the Wharncliffe B&B in Scarborough which was excellent. Derek the proprietor was very friendly and welcoming. We had a sea view room which was lovely. The breakfast on both mornings was excellent with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked. I would recommend a stay at the Wharncliffe B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: I would recommend any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekAnn-Wharncliffe, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about the breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just arrived home from a lovely stay at The Wharncliffe. Derek is a great host and helpfully recommended places to eat in the evening. The room we stayed in (8) had just been refurbished. It had a lovely big bay window and terrific sea views. We would happily recommend staying at this hotel to our friends and family. Breakfast at The Wharncliffe is delicious with plenty of choice. Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyhollyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do really appreciate you taking the time to post a review for The Wharncliffe. We are glad you enjoyed the terrific sea views of North Bay from your room. We will be delighted to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Unable to get in our normal place but found this just as good. Stayed for a long weekend and really impressed with the place. Good location, clean room with splendid views over the north bay.
Everything one needed in the room including a super kingsize bed! Derek was very friendly and the perfect host ( Never met Anne). An excellent breakfast ( especially the sausages) with a good selection.
Would recommend to anyone and very reasonable charges.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so bit of a climb if you have problems with stairs. Didn,t bother us though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radishskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The proprietor, Derek, was friendly and very helpful, recommending restaurants and places to see. Our large seafront room had everything: plenty of room, lovely comfortable bed and reasonable sized shower room, with lovely big fluffy towels. All very clean and well-appointed. The breakfasts were wonderful, with loads of choice of fruit, cereals, and anything you wanted cooked. However the hotel is, in common with most of Scarborough's seafront hotels, tall and narrow so accommodation is on several floors and there is no lift. Not a problem if you are fit! Parking can be a problem; we were given a permit but finding a space was a little difficult initially - although this would be the same for any of the hotels in this area.
I would highly recommend The Wharncliffe: it's in a lovely position on the seafront, the rooms and breakfasts are great and the host welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#108 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#56 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Property: Wharncliffe Hotel
Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing