We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #77 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Greated by a wonderful man who informed us of breakfast time etc. Took us up to the room which to be honest was on the top floor, not good if you're not fit. The room was fabulous! Looked like a superking bed and everything was absolutely spotless. Tea, coffee (galore), chocolates and sweets were ready for us and after travelling were welcomed. Everything was thought of from cotton buds, nail file, shoe shine and toiletries. The host couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful with enough to keep you going for a week. Plenty of choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and toast and jam followed by the Wharncliffe breakfast. Superb. Couldn't fault it at all. Would certainly stay again if in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Intended to stay Sun 9th & Mon 10th June. There was a cold front off the sea and a chill wind. Temperature in room no more than 15DegC. No central heating on. Landlord explained it was switched off because it was now the summer season. Too cold in the room to relax, shower or change. Owner had no alternative plug in heaters. Didn't stay the second night. Just be aware !
I have no other critiscism except the Landlord was a bit dour and off hand.

Room Tip: If weather not very warm check that the Owner has the central heating on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay in June.
We are sorry that we did not realise that you thought it necessary to have the heating on during the day whilst you were out.
Please rest assured that when it is cold outside we run the heating as required, after all we live here too, and we prefer to be warm and comfortable.
Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We first stayed at the wharncliffe five years ago for our silver wedding anniversary and have been going every year since.we have just been again, this time for our pearl anniversary, and we are going back in september with friends.You are made very welcome and the cleanliness is second to none,nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are fantastic,we always book a sea view room which has a good view of the north bay.Derek and Ann are brilliant hosts and we would recomend the wharncliffe to any one wanting to spend a relaxing break.Ann and Mervyn Bennett.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. With special thanks for all your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My partner and I spent a wonderful couple of nights at The Wharncliffe Hotel. It was very clean, and the sea view was amazing. The welcome was warm and the service most attentive. Breakfast was superb, and Derek even kept us company in the hotel bar one evening, helping to make the whole trip a very special experience..we shall definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view..you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Wharncliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Spent a weekend at this hotel, excellent is all that I can say about this place, we paid a little extra for a sea view but was worth every penny.wonderful breakfast. Will hope to return later on in the year.
Lynn and Richard

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at The Wharncliffe. We hope to see you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we have just returned from two nights away at the wharncliffe hotel in scarborough. We were greeted by Derek who made us feel at home straight at home. The hotel was very clean and tidy and nicely decorated. We had a lovely sea view which was out of this world. The breakfast was excellent. Derek gave us some recommendations on where was the best place to eat in scarborough. We hope to go back soon. So give it a try for a unforgetable weekend away

Room Tip: room four has a wonderful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sunnyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekAnn-Wharncliffe, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments about The Wharncliffe that you have made in your review. We do appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend by the sea, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent a wonderful couple of days at The Wharncliffe.Derek was very friendly and informative.Made us feel very comfortable.The room was marvellous,with a lovely sea view.The place is very clean and tidy.The breakfasts were wonderful with plenty of choices Booked to go back in July. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a very nice place to stay in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Room 8,recently refurbished and excellent sea views.Steep steps though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napolean53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekAnn-Wharncliffe, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about The Wharncliffe. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are really looking forward to enjoying your company again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#112 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#55 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#47 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Property: Wharncliffe Hotel
Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing