We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect once again.”
Review of Wharncliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wharncliffe Hotel
Ranked #77 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our 3rd visit and my wife and I both agree that it would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Scarborough. Great location with views of the north bay and castle and within walking distance of the town centre. Derek and Anne once again proved to be the perfect hosts, clean and comfortable room and fantastic breakfast. Nothing more to say, other than perfect again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marbar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review, we do appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure for us to see you both again. Thank you, Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

spotless rooms with fantastic views from room 3, which we stayed in, bathroom lovely and clean with extra touches of toiletries, sewing kit, shoe shine, and nail file' bedroom newly decorated.
breakfast superb, had tried to book for 5 nights but only managed to get 3. which was a shame as we had to move to another hotel for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieh629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First time at the Wharncliffe, but won,t be the last. Its in a great position near the castle and we could watch the surfers from our bedroom window. Derek and Anne are lovely and are always there to help with information and news of special events on during your stay.
Rooms lovely, exceptionally clean, and breakfast brilliant. There is a licensed bar and a lounge so you can chill with or without a drink from 12 noon onwards,.
Thank you so much Derek and Anne, you work very hard indeed and it really does show in the high standards and friendliness .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glyn_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Wharncliffe. We shall look forward to welcoming you both for a return visit in the future. Thank you, Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just got home from staying at the wharncliffe hotel and what a lovely stay it was, nothing was too much trouble, it was a friendly atmosphere, the rooms were very clean, the facilities were excellent, the breakfast was amazing, the bar area had a relaxed feel to it and we would deffinatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 8 are the best rooms with excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we shall look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your lovely comments. Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We would like to say thanks to derek for making us feel very welcome during our stay and that we would recommend his large breakfasts to everyone.Brilliant views from all the front facing rooms of scarboroughs north bay and the accomodation is close to all amenities i.e beaches,shops and restaurants.we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tippyyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. Thank you for your lovely comments about the breakfasts and the brilliant views. We shall hope to see you again soon. Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The whole stay was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.
Great breakfast, great rooms and perfect location.
No kids aloud, and I love that.
Very friendly owners.
We had a sea view on the top floor and it was lovely.

Would recommend this hotel and will be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review. Thank you for your lovely comments about your room and the breakfast. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Thank you, Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great 2nd visit just as good as last time. Friendly and welcoming really felt our holiday had started when we arrived. De-stressed as soon as we looked out of our view from room 4. Breakfast was superb, especially the sausages. Will certainly return and recommend to our friends and family. Derek and Ann do all they can to make your stay a restful and happy one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandAnn, Owner at Wharncliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. We really do appreciate your comments.
Thank you.
Derek and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Hotel

Address: 26 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £61 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharncliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation, situated overlooking the North Bay in Scarborough with fantastic sea views. Within a few minutes walk of the castle, town and harbour, and an ideal location for the Bowls Club or Cricket Ground.All guest rooms have en-suite facilities, flat screen tv, and a well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast is cooked to order; guests may help themselves from buffet whilst they wait. Ideal for couples to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wharncliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing