We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Guest House
Ranked #23 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
a long way off
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not your average B&B”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I can only endorse previous reviews.
The Kensington is a fine example of how far traditional seaside B&Bs have progressed. Scrupulously clean and comfortable accommodation together with great attention to detail is complimented by a quality pre-ordered breakfast. Would “scrambled eggs with salmon on toasted muffins” been available a few years ago?
They were part of an excellent package. Look no further, go to the Kensington, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank distantmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
136
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife made a brilliant find here - a lovely Guest House in a good location. Joy & John were superb hosts and I must say the breakfasts were the best we've ever had in 20 plus years of staying at B&B's - absolutely brilliant!! Our room was nice and we liked the small ajoining TV room/lounge - we had a night in one night with the TV on and red wine open and it was nice to be able to do that. Our room did face the road and there was a little traffic noise but it isn't intrusive at all. The room was also clean tidy and confortable and the little touches of homemade cakes/biscuits etc was superb and unexpected. If we return to Scarborough we will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BazD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepcar, Sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Once again we have returned from our holiday in Scarborough. whilst there the weather was kind for the time of year week of the the half term hols recently. Again we stayed at the Kensington on Columbus Ravine it was fantastic to see John and Joy. Again the stay was wonderful, the breakfasts, little treats on our trays and the sitting room attached in room 3... we will be visiting Scarborough again in March and returning to the Kensington to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary....very best wishes to you both

Tracey and Mark

Room Tip: quiet relaxing and how the hotel in general feels when entering
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank trac237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My first time in Scarborough and we looked at many guesthouses online before making our choice, and what a good choice it was. A beautifully presented home, with a lovely bright breakfast room and modern, comfortable bedrooms with a large and spotlessly clean ensuite.

Joy and John were very friendly and eager to help in any way or answer any questions about things to do and where to eat, etc. Nice touches included a blackboard with things to do updated daily, personal reccomendations for restaurants and home made cake or flapjacks in our room each day.

Breakfast was fabulous with an extensive choice of cooked dishes (everything from salmon, to eggs benedict to banana waffles). Everything we tried was delicious, so I really don't think you can go wrong! Also, a lovely array of fresh fruit or granola and yoghurt to choose from, along with homemade fruit bread and preserves. The biggest problem is making your mind up what to have!

Definitely reccomended if you are coming to Scarborough, would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2, no view but very quiet and a comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HC_Traveller_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

we have just arrived home from a 3day break at the Kensington ... it was more than we had hoped for, we stayed in room 5 on the top floor front facing,we slept with the windows open and didnt find the traffic noise excessive ... it certainly didnt keep us awake! the bed was comfortable,the room warm, cosy and clean as was the rest of the house, breakfast was amazing with a fantastic menu to choose from, everything homemade and scrumptious! (porridge .. mmm a must try!) John and Joy are lovely people who care about their guests we will definatley reccomend them to our family and friends and will go back ourselves in the future.

Room Tip: all the rooms are tastefully decorated, we wouldnt have had a problem staying in any of them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dianenphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What a delight to stay here! Everything was perfect; warm, spotless, well-equipped room, nice shower, comfortable bed. It was good to pay a little extra and have a separate (small) TV lounge. Superb, delicious breakfasts with an impressive and unusual selection of hot dishes as well as some interesting alternatives to cereals. Very elegant and stylish breakfast room with a nice ambience. Added to all that, friendly and helpful hosts. Why bother to stay in an impersonal, probably inferior quality hotel when one can get all of this for a lower price?

The only slight negatives were that the traffic is rather heavy and we didn't sleep quite as well as we had hoped and that the WiFi, though easy to access, was incredibly slow (slower than old dial-up!) and therefore not worth using. Perhaps it was experiencing heavy demand at the time (early Saturday evening). Not a big issue as we didn't need to do anything urgent.

Room Tip: Eat at the stylish Az Turkish restaurant opposite the Kensington. Very nice food and discounts avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Kensington. It was superb with the most extensive choice of breakfast menu we have ever experienced. The food was amazing, room spotlessly clean with lovely soft towels, large shower in our en-suite. The homemade marmalade was fantastic and those extra little touches of homemade bread, scones, jams and yoghurt made our stay all the more enjoyable not forgetting the homemade biscuits and cake in our room every day. John and Joy were lovely and made us very welcome in their lovely home. We will certainly be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: We had the added enjoyment of the room with a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cityvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newlands Guest House Columbus Ra...
#144 of 183 in Scarborough
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#115 of 183 in Scarborough
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Guest House

Property: Kensington Guest House
Address: 66 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kensington Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kensington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing