We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
45
44
14
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
44
14
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsingle roomfresh fruit saladlocally produced itemsincluding black puddingfree range eggscooked breakfastfriendly ownerslovely bed and breakfastnight staythe cliffnew ownerslate bookingparking permitbeds were comfortablebiscuitsclean tidy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Esplanade Gardens Hotel....where do I start! Well we have just came back this afternoon (after telephoning the bus company to collect our party (14 adults and children) 3 hours earlier than planned, due to us wanting/needing to get out of B&B). We arrived on Friday lunch time, and did not get the "warm and friendly welcome" mentioned in their brochure/leaflet. Never mind ,this wasn't going to spoil our first day. We had to find our rooms ourselves, owner did not offer to help with any bags etc up several flights of stairs, despite single women with small children/babies etc, and barely spoke three sentences to us all. Our room was ok for the price but my auntys room was dirty looking and shabby looking. I didn't like the extractor fans coming out of cupboard type bathroom straight into bedroom - but guess that is only option if impossible to have bathroom window. We went into the bar and felt like Derek was the built in CCTV, he stood over us and made us feel soooo uncomfortable to the point we all sat in silence. He was following the kids (aged 3 and 1) like a hawk as if they were going to destory the place or something. Tea and coffee facilities in the room was a pure joke - only 4 sachets of milk, 3 tea bags (and sugar which we don't use) and when we asked for more milk we were handed 4 more sachets with a tutt!! If we asked for milk/tea etc we were greeted with tutts and eye rolling etc. Breakfast time was horrible - we had to wait over half an hour for our preordered breakfast with the kids getting impatient, Jenny never spoke as she served...oh sorry she did "tea or coffee?" and that was it!!! The breakfast service was slow and with an atmosphere or should I say lack of atmosphere but the food itself was nice. This B&B was meant to be family friendly yet those in our group with kids felt like we had to keep kids locked away in our room and silent - Derek and Jenny weren't friendly to the adult guests never mind the kids. My husband tried to make conversation with Derek (apart from breakfast we never saw Jenny) but we were either ignored or got very little response. Everything we asked for, from more milk or to use a toilet (after handing our keys in earlier today) we felt like we were just an nuisance to them. This is just a few of my negatives and could still go on but I won't. It cost us £650 for 2 nights and we feel like we were robbed. Had great time in Scarborough but the whole experience of B&B was appauling. It was £30 pppn in our eyes £29 pppn too much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jemma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here with 4 other couples for a night in June. The rooms were clean and recently decorated with freeview, flat screen tv's in. The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts tasty and hearty with a choice of 6 items for the cooked breakfast, along with toast and cereals....although it was a bit early for us (8am-9am).
We each received our own keys to the hotel, as we weren't returning
till after midnight, which was good, and they also booked taxis for us.
On the whole, the stay was enjoyable, and we will be stopping there again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollylolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We (myself, partner and mum) stayed for 2 nights in a twin and single room. Both roooms were a good size and clean, with toiletries provided in the en-suite.
The breakfast was delicious - lovely fresh fruit and cereals, plus a very good choice of local produce (and the source is quoted on their breakfast menu) which is always appreciated and something we actively look for when booking somewhere to stay.
We would recommend to family and friends, and would stay again if we're back in the Scarborough area. The free parking permit we were given for our stay was also a nice touch. We paid £29.00 pppn (including breakfast) which was good value for August, and no single room supplement which is great! The location is excellent for visiting Scarborough - nice and quiet but a short walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We arrived on a Friday night to be greeted by an owner (after having had to ring the bell to get in at 8.30pm) who handed us a registration form and breakfast form to fill in. There was no reception so we were expected to fill them in in our room. There was not enough room for two people to be stood up at the same time in the room it was so small.
The service at breakfast was awful, which we let go, but when we returned after a day out, it appeared that the room had not been serviced as the used cups had not been cleaned, nor had the bed been made. However someone had been in the room to retrieve the glasses we had used from the bar, and to give us another packet of biscuits.
This all topped off by the fact that we were requested to pay an extra £2.50 to pay by credit card and 50p by debit card means we will definitely not be stopping there again.
Would also agree that the visitors' book comments must have been written by the proprietor's family as this hotel is rotten! Don't be tempted by the price!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dekquy, Owner at Esplanade Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2009

In response to this review. The inside door of the B & B is always kept locked for Safety and security reasons. We often have families staying and this prevents young children from wandering out of the guest house without parents knowledge and also its prevents just anyone from coming onto the premises. Guests will always have keys which gives them no restrictions on what time they come in. All guests are asked to fill a registration form in by law and the breakfast menu ensures that our guests receive a cooked breakfast with the items on that they like (this prevents waste). Does it really matter that you have to fill these in on the hallway desk or in your room ? We have no rooms available where 2 people carn't stand up in. All the rooms you can stand up in. The rooms are serviced daily. The bins are emptied, teas & coffees topped up (and biscuits) and beds are normally made as long as there are no personal items left all over the bed ie clothes,bags, money etc (we won't touch your personal items). We are sorry that we forgot to rinse your cups out for you. We do charge for using credit/debit cards to pay for your room however, the charges are £1 for credit/50p for debit cards and not £2.50 for credit as stated in this review. You can of course pay by cash or cheque(with your guarentee card) without charge. We have had our annual inspection by Visit England this year (mystery inspector) for which we received a 3 star rating. The inspector particularly commented on the cleanliness of the Guest house and the qaulity of the breakfast for which we use all local produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We would recommend a stay at this hotel. Nice rooms, nicely decorated bar and dining room.
Resonably priced. Quiet and close to hill cliff tram to espanade

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews