We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Ranked #81 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

stayed here last week to attend conference at the Spa Complex. It was the perfect location. 5 Minute walk to beach and a 10 minute walk into town. I stayed in a single room which was small but perfect for needs. The room could have done with a little TLC and modernising a bit, all it needed was a wall of colourful wallpaper with a matching cushion and curtains and paint the wardrobe and headboard white. But apart from that the bed was really comfort with excellent quality duvet and pillows and a lovely shower. Hotel is full of original period features throughout. Owners were lovely and a good sense of humour and the breakfast was fantastic, made to order with local produce. Never been to Scarborough before would definetly go again and wouldn't hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

A friendly B&B in a very nice, quiet part of Scarborough, a ten minute walk from the station. There are local shops just round the corner, and the Victorian cliff lift down to the beach is at the end of the road. My room was fairly small, but had everything you would expect, and a comfortable bed. Items used (coffee, biscuits, etc.) were replaced each day, and the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is pre-ordered the day before, and the produce was first-rate. No nasty frozen sausages here! The bowl of fresh fruit salad was a lovely accompaniment to a bowl of cereal. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Esplanade Gardens is a B&B close to the beach of Scarborough. The rooms are small but nice and the breakfast is great! You can choose from a few hot dishes which are made fresh and there is fresh fruit and cereal. The owner is very nice, we booked a room with two seperate beds and when we found out a mistake was made and we got a single bed he arranged two beds. The town of Scarborough is also very nice in the summer :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Derek was very friendly and cooked us a brilliant breakfast, the quality of the food was beautiful. Room was clean and had all amenities, bit of a walk to the seafront and to the local attractions but good quality for money. The bar was nice too, good to chill out in after being out in the cold!! Thanks for a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimzAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

only stayed here for one night but was very impressed, Derek showed us our room which was very nice, and very clean tea/coffee and biscuits, the little touches make a difference,breakfast was delicious all freshly cooked, would certainly pay a return visit, thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First visit to Scarborough, the location is great, Derek and Jen are super friendly and helpful, they can't do enough for you! Our room was really warm and clean and the breakfast was amazing! Would definitely stay again, it was a fantastic way to bring in the new year.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here as my daughter had an interview at the University early on the Saturday morning. We arrive straight from work on the Friday night and were met by the owner who showed us to our rooms and checked our requirements for breakfast. The owner advised that he did bar meals which we had not expected. He served us drinks from the bar and then cooked us our food. Chips were homemade and the meal great value for money. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and breakfast was a great start to the day. This break was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#57 of 183 in Scarborough
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#30 of 183 in Scarborough
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Gardens Hotel

Address: 24 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Gardens is a family run, non-smoking guesthouse built in the Victorian era; a Scarborough guesthouse of great charm and warm hospitality, in an outstanding location. We are open all year round and provide attractively decorated, clean, comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and a friendly lounge bar serving bar snacks for our guests. The Esplanade Gardens is situated just 200 yards from the cliff lift down to the Spa Complex and just a 15-minute walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing