We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights in April on a self drive basis. We wanted a hotel on the seafront and this fitted the bill perfectly. The food was delicious and staff very friendly giving us suggestions for exploring. We didn't stay for the entertainment but there were plenty of people who seemed to be enjoying it and we bumped into the compeer/act later who entertained us with some amusing local tales!

The rooms were simple but functional, with nice hot water and a decent flow from the shower unlike some other budget hotels. The decor a bit old school floral for my personal taste but then for the price we weren't expecting anything else and didn't stay in the room too long. Tea and coffee making facilities welcome, and there was a tv too although we didn't even turn this on.

All in all a very pleasant stay which can't be faulted for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gbboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    163
    70
    36
    28
See reviews for
33
234
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Not one of Shearings better hotels although food had a varied choice was mostly overcooked and very poor portions.The view from the room was beautiful however the shower was one of the worst I have ever used , was a dribble at the best of times.
Entertainment was okaish for shearings but have seen better,.Trip to York was lovely as was the trip to "Aidensfield"

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
I am grateful for your comments, we always strive to deliver the best customer experience so I am concerned that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. The team at the Norbreck do their utmost to reslove any customer concerns and I am sorry if they were unable to offer an alternative room on this occassion. I will pass your feedback on to the team. Once again thank you for you constructive fedback this is always welcome to help move the business forward.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Typical no nonsence Yorkshire hotel, enjoyable plain food; good service; good entertainment ; room clean and bathroom spotless.
Only gripe, tv still terestrial really bad reception.
I stayed in room 301 view from room window unsurpassable.

Room Tip: upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leozit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
The team and I appreciate your great comments, the staff work very hard to ensure customers have a pleasant and enjoyable stay and the team will be delighted to hear your positive comments!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

The hotel was is drab, in need of major redecoration inside and out. The furniture in our bedroom was very dated and also damaged. The bathroom though was good and there was always plenty of hot water. The breakfasts were good but the evening meals were mediocre and not very attractively presented. I asked the waitress for a bottle of wine, she said she would send the wine waiter. Another waitress turned up and I asked for a Shiraz, to which I was asked is that red wine. She brought the wine, put the wine and two glasses on the table and walked away without opening the bottle. I would certainly never visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul26955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thanks for your comments I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding bar service has highlighted a shortfall in the high standards we normally maintain and we will feed this back to the bar team.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Good value stay with room , breakfast and evening meal

cannot fault the food or entertainment that was on offer great value for the money we paid

room was small but, we were out all day so that didnt bother us

good choice at mealtimes

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time at the Norbreck, I hope you will holiday with us again soon!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had a 3-night, half-board, self-drive, package deal, which we thought was very good value. On the plus side, the staff were always pleasant and willing to please; the meals were well prepared, quite varied and the kitchen and restaurant staff were super-efficient; the carpets were excellent thoughout; our bedroom was a good size with plenty of hot water always available; and the views were good. On the down side, the room was in serious need of new decoration, and the bathroom, although functional, was old and rather shabby (the pedestal washbasin had clearly broken at some time in the past, for example, and was held together with selotape). The TV in the room was good when it worked but it had unfortunate reception problems, which made it infuriating to watch at times. As it is an old building one should expect some creaking floorboards and narrow corridors. The evening entertainment (not every night), although good, caused quite a bit of vibration in the rooms. There is very limited parking onsite but the hotel provides a parking permit for parking on the streets in the area. Altogether it was a good deal, essentially comfortable but could be made better by renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cv-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday. The refurbishment of the hotel is an ongoing process and we hope to get more rooms refrubished in the next 12 months. Once again thank you for taking the team to write some feedback about your stay, this will be passed on to the team, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Self-drive arrived late, welcomed and meals were brought to our room, so delicious! Next day the views from our windows were breathtaking of the North bay, the sea looked magnificent. The entertainment team welcomed us as the 3 girls from Sheffield they took the time to greet us earlier whilst setting up thier speakers ect. for the evening. The show was breathtaking. Compere/Singer Daniel Dofoe was professional to a tee. The female impersonator Chris Firelds had absolutely stunning outfits !. but his ranges of singing was amazing.My favorite was Diana Ross. My friends and I enjoyed three days by the sea.

Room Tip: second floor rooms see either bay North Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marymavisaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Its great to recieve your fantastic feedback we are very pleased you had a lovely time and we look forward to welcoming back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing