We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a self drive weekend ( October 2011). I am profoundly deaf and this is one of the few hotels to provide subti”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great weekend good food warm room great view. Staff very helpfull nothing too much trouble room was small but clean. Will go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bass1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

I am glad you felt the team did everything they could to ensure you had and enjoyable stay and they will be happy to see your comments.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Had a seaview room which was always kept very clean superb views lovely friendly staff especially our little phillipian waitress she was lovely good choice at breakfast & dinner but the vegetables tended to be very dry otherwise not a lot to complain about

Room Tip: Single room no 318 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank goldie053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

It is very pleasing to read your review and that you enjoyed your holiday, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

No complaints enjoyed it all. Hotel staff, sea view, food and entertainment all excellent.
This was our first 8 days Shearings Coach trip. Roger our driver was very good. We will would definitely book with Shearings again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DollyBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

What a wonderful review, many thanks indeed. We are elated that you enjoyed your break and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The staff were fantastic - friendly, helpful and efficient.

The corridors are narrow and dark and the decor dated. Our room was small but met our needs - tiny TV, hairdryer, kettle etc. We didn't have a shower in our room which annoyed my wife. The room was clean.

The room was cold on the first night - the windows are single paned and old and this was probably the issue. However, an extra blanket cured this problem and there was a portable radiator in the wardrobe if needed. I slept well.

The food was generally good value for money. I don't expect haute cuisine. There was good choice on the menu and the waiting staff went about their job diligently. The battered fish was disappointing given where we were but most of the other meat dishes served their purpose. Breakfast good too - you are able to specifiy what you want. I never left the table wanting more.

The entertainment is geared towards an older crowd. Most seemed to enjoy the 20's - 60's songs sung by the cabaret turns. The entertainers were genuine and friendly. I found the quizzes challenging as I am the nice side of 35! There was bingo each night which was cheap and not serious.

The hotel's location is great- views are good and access to both bays are excellent.

All in all - the great staff deserve to work in a hotel that is slightly more modern. With a bit of investment this could be a fantastic hotel due to its location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

We appreciate the fantastic comments made in your review. The whole team and I work tirelessly to strive to deliver an excellent experience for our guests and it is nice their efforts have been recognised. We hope to continue to refurbish the bathrooms in 2012.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Came on a self drive break for the weekend, Our room 301 was excellent with a great sea view from this top floor . Newly decorated with good furniture and excellent bathroom with non slip floor. Restaurant -staff were efficient and evening meals good choices, breakfast ok. Enjoyed the resident host daniel his singing was great and makes everyone welcome .Not too much bingo (sigh of relief) Our only complaint was the high bar prices and £ 3.10 FOR A PINT OF DIET COKE. This hotel has a great location on the headland but when it is windy it is windy.bit airy for the old folk struggling up the hill!! Great to watch the sea when its like that, In summary hotel was great for the weekend, and said we would return. I just felt a little young and I'm 54 . It may be a problem for some that car parking is on the street away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view great 301 good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tigger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

I am delighted read your postive comments about the staff and am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the team and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days in April and had a fabulous time. The hotel is in a wonderful position overlooking the beach from its impressive position on the hilltop. The inside of the hotel is very comfortable and welcoming and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The staff were excellent and always on hand when we asked for help or advice. Although the room was slightly dated it had everything we needed including that view again! I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a decent base to explore this part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pucklenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

It was great to read your review and some fantastic comments made about the hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My 6 and a half month pregnant daughter in-law and I visited Scarborough Norbreck hotel for a weekend. It reminded us of an elderly care home. the Staff were stuffy and the bar was run by the reception staff as well as their own job during the day, we didn't stay for the night entertainment, the place didn't seem to cater for younger or young thinking people. The room was old, the bed bases were dirty and old. There was an old plaster underneath my bed and a hairbrush under my daughters. The furniture was old cheap and tatty, the bathrooms are terrible the floors when wet are leathal and I know we all like hot water! but, this water was scalding hot and would burn a small child. This place needs some serious money spending on it.

Room Tip: pay the extra £11 for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Thecolliehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmnor, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to read your comments regaring your recent stay.

Unfortunately non of the issues raised in your review were mentioned at the hotel during your stay. If something was not to your liking we would of liked the opportuntiy to investigate and rectify these to your complete satisfaction.

The hotel does cater for all ages but we are very popular with the mature market.

The comments you expressed is not reflective of the vast majority of customers who leave extremely content as you can see from the majority of reviews. We hope you would visit us again to enable us to restore your confidence in the Norbreck, part of Bay Hotels.

Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £49 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing