We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing few days”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very relaxing few days”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Both my wife and I spent an enjoyable couple of days at the hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday. The staff were very friendly, food and accommodation was good. Entertainment at night was a bonus.Would have like free Wi-fi internet access but I suppose you can't have everything. Would certainly recommed a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Overcomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you Overcomer1 it’s so nice to hear you and your husband enjoyed your birthday break with us. I hope the staff and the entertainments team made it a birthday to remember! I agree, that with modern technology being so advanced now, we are having more and more guests request WiFi and will seriously consider getting it installed. I look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    168
    77
    37
    29
See reviews for
33
243
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

my partner and i have just spent a night here through National holidays,and it was, for what we paid worth every penny,it was clean warm and the staff were very friendly and helpful...was'nt too keen on the main course with the evening meal,but everyone to there own :)

Room Tip: just ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Hi Dorothy H, great to hear you enjoyed your night away! The staff are always keen to be friendly and helpful to all our guests so it’s good to see they made an impression on you. You’ll have to try one of our other breaks as we have different menus every night so you’re bound to find something to your taste. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

hi i am writing to inform everyone that this hotel service is less than acceptable i found staff to be extremely rude. The manor in which they deal with situations is completly unprofessional and slack. I was horrified with the attitude they came across with and would certainly never use this place again. It completly ruined our holiday and i think it is utterly disgracful that one hotel can cause this much of an issue. I hope that this does not continue to be case but rest assured they will not have my custom again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AndreaScott19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
In complying with Licensing Law these guests were refused service on the grounds that they showed signs of heavy intoxication when they came in from Town. They acted aggressively towards staff and a caused disturbance among the other guests. The local police backed up the hotel in our handling of the guests. All staff acted professionally at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

i,ve just returned from a short stay at the norbrek .the room was very clean and warm,also quite spacious.there was a good choice of food for the evening meal and also breakfast.the staff were all very helpful.and would recommend this hotel .it is a bit of a walk to the shops, not that far for able bodied folk

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbara_miglentsis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for you review Barbara, the housekeeping staff do a tremendous job keeping the place clean and chef always likes to hear his food has been praised in a review. I find it a pleasant walk down to the shops, but with taxi’s being only £4.50 do treat myself on occasions to one back up the hill! I look forward to welcoming you back, and all of the friends you recommend us to!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here for one night, hotel is ok, nothing flash and maybe just in need of a bit of an update. The hotel is based right at the top of a cliff and by George is it windy! Well windy is an understatement its full blown gales, so its not just the views that will take your breath away! Nightly entertainment is typical hotel standards. Food was bearable, breakfast seemed to be a rush and serving staff didn't want to be sociable, just wanting you in and out quickly! Beds appear to be a bit on the old side.
Opted for a room with a seaview which guarantees you the sea breeze as well.
Just have to mention Craig the fella that serves behind the bar, friendly, outgoing and appears to be popular with all customers no matter what ages.
If you are stopping here give the Albion pub a try which is right next to the hotel, warm and friendly and bar food is good, plus it won't take you long to get back either.
In short hotel isn't that bad just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crookycrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Well Crookycrumble, you hit the nail on the head with the gales, we do get a bit of a breeze up here on the cliff top but the views more than make up for it!! Sorry you felt rushed at breakfast, with so many wanting to get out for day trips, for our guests a swift service is usually more agreeable, and I know the restaurant would staff love to stop for a chat if they could! Craig is a shining star and was thrilled to see you mentioned him. Your comments have been noted, we do have some areas that need updating, and will be very helpful as we build a refurbishment plan for the hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from the Norbreck hotel - the dining room is very cold and consequently the food went cold quickly. However, after some complaints, the plates were then slightly warm. The hotel, like all the hotels built when this one was built, needs reburbishing. Staff were very nice and the food was also very nice. The evening entertainment was excellent. The hotel was very
clean...

Room Tip: I had a single room on the third floor which was adequate and faced a lovely old church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaretlilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Margaretlillian, thank you for the feedback you have written. I am disappointed to see you had some issues in the restaurant whilst staying with us but glad to see we were able to make some progress to resolving them during your stay. I have taken all of your comments and we are addressing them with the catering team. It’s great to hear you found all the staff friendly and the food of a good standard. Our entertainers work really hard to put together their shows and excellent reviews keeps them going. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My sister & I stayed at the Norbreck at Christmas & again at the begining of March.We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.The room was clean,& warm with everything you need.The staff are helpful & friendly.Food was really good with a wide variety,something for everyone & always hot.The food at Christmas was excellent & the entertainment,both times that we've been was so good.Daniel is a real asset & so is Chris.In fact we enjoyed it so much that,we have alreay booked for this Christmsas & hopefuly we might squeese another one in before then.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view,& what a view,worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing