We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Monday to Friday holiday”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shearings Monday to Friday holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We use shearings every year for our breaks. The Norbreck was standard Bay hotel standard. The service was excellent and without exception all the staff should be congratulated. Room was small but clean and the best hotel shower we've experienced. Bar prices a little steep for the area but comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Food was very basic but nothing to complain about (although some did). Overall it was a great break and yes we'll return to Scarborough and yes would consider the Norbreck again. Only thing that nearly spoiled it was the most miserable coach driver ever which is unusual for Shearings and not the Norbrecks fault. Still great value for money, keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Hi Pete L. Is nice to see a regular Shearings holiday maker staying at the hotel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comments you have made about our service, I am very proud of all the staff who work at the hotel and they are very happy to receive positive reviews from guests. I hope you enjoy many more years of holidaying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    170
    80
    38
    31
See reviews for
35
249
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Shearings package hotel, we stayed for 4 nights on half board.
Stunning location but in serious need of total refurbishment.
Staff exceptionally friendly and did their best to provide good service.
En-suite room clean but overly full of dark furniture leaving mminimal floor space. Uncomfortable hard bed took some getting used to.
The corridoors are extremely narrow, have to walk in single file.
We were on the 2nd floor and may as well have had the entertainment in the room with us so no point in trying to get an early night. If the entertainment didn't keep you awake, guests passing your door and shutting their own doors would ensure disturbance.
The hotel was full of pensioners [including ourselves] so at least quiet after 11.30pm.
Meal times were breakfast 8-9am and evening meal 6.30-7.30pm. so no flexibility.
Evening meals disappointing, no sign of fresh seasonal vegetables. Chips that had been kept warm for so long they were tough and soggy. Delicious braised beef served with pre-frozen potato croquettes and frozen veg. Raspberry coulis which comprised of 2 dried up raspberries!! Tomato soup so highly pepperd to make it the subject of conversation afterwards. Bread rolls warmed long enough to make them tough. The food in our opinion is disappointing but edible.
On a very serious note the luggage had to be put outside of rooms before 7am on the last night. Considering how narrow the corridoors are I would have thought that it created a serious hazzard in the event of a fire!
In conclusion, we had a very nice break but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review jeanhartley, I am disappointed to learn not everything was to your liking. Please be assured I will discuss your comments with my department heads in order that they can be addressed to stop this affecting other customers. The complaints you made about the food are being looked into as I am working closely with the Chef on any issues that may arise from customjer comments. . It is correct that luggage is placed outside rooms to enable us to bring it down for the coach departures. The porter brings down luggage throughout the night as guests put it out and constantly from 7am onwards meaning all luggage is down by 7.30am for the drivers to be able to load their coaches. The build up of luggage is limited due to this procedure and has not caused us concern in the past. I’m glad that overall you had a nice break and hope you will continue to holiday with the group again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A 15 minute walk down hill into town and then a 30 minute slow climb up the hill to the hotel. The room we had was very tired particularly the carpet which needed to be replaced. It was dirty and no amount of hoovering would have made any difference.. The Throw on the bed had holes in it and apart from a sheet we only had a thin polyester cover. Could have done with a duvet. The food was always warm/cold which I sent back on several occasions. Only three choices of each course and no imagination was put into the cooking, very basic, sometimes burnt, tasteless and very small portions. At breakfast if you were not having a full breakfast and requested just bacon and tomatoes, you were given 1 small dried up rasher of bacon and 1 small tomato. On two occasions they ran out of our choice of main course at dinner and we were one of the first to be served. The best and only good thing about the hotel is the entertainment. 4 nights were excellent. Bar prices were expensive, a glass of house wine £3.60. This is a 2 star hotel!! All the problems with this hotel is purely down to Shearings and how they care about their customers. The hotel needs a massive refurbishment including the lift. We would not recommend the Norbreck to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IlfordHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review IlfordHolly, sorry you did not enjoy your break with us. We do endeavor to refurbish a number of rooms each year. We also plan to make duvets available when we upgrade rooms although a lot of our guests still prefer the sheets and bedspreads. I have investigated the shortage of items on your breakfasts and chef and I can only apologise as this should not have happened,. The entertainments’ team are very pleased you enjoyed the entertainment on during the week, they do like to be well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from a five day Shearings holiday at the Norbrek. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The big let down is the food. I cannot recall not enjoying an English breakfast prior to this holiday after all what can go wrong with such a basic meal. It was absolutely tasteless. The bacon was like cardboard and one morning I was sure that the honey glazed ham from the previous evening's meal had been fried up and served as bacon. My wife ordered poached eggs on toast as an alternative, believing that no one can get that wrong. When it came the toast had obviously been done ages before and the eggs were like two lumps of polystyrene on top. Have holidayed with Shearings previously but will think twice about booking again sfter this experience.

Room Tip: We did not opt for upgraded room, but those we spoke to were disappointed particullarly with the siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks for your comments Redcap. It’s nice to see you found the staff and bedrooms pleasant although I’m sorry you were let down by the food. The kitchen team have read your comments and can ensure you that no ham was fried up and served for breakfast. It is unfortunate that you did not bring these points to the attention of the restaurant team during your stay as they would have done their best to get this rectified for you. Please do not let this put you off holidaying with the company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We normally go to the Royal Hotel in Whitby but thought we would have a change. Big mistake. This hotel needs some serious updating. The food was dreadful. Cold and tasteless. Other guests in the dining room were also unhappy with the food and service. The wine waiter did not ask us if we required drinks until we were ready to leave the dining room. The breakfast was equally as bad as the evening meal. The room was small and the bathroom had a plumbing problem. We paid for a sea view but i dread to think what the other rooms were like. I would never recommend this Shearings hotel. It's back to the Royal hotel next time we book with Shearings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacqualine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback Jacqualine S. Again I am disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your break with us. As I explained after Dave J’s comments, we had relief chef’s working that week who did not live up to expectations. I have discussed you comments with the departments and we apologise that our service did not meet your expectations.
Due to the history of the building, our rooms aren’t huge but we do try and keep them in working order for our guests, our maintenance team deal with any faults reported to us promptly and we plan to carry out more room refurbishments next year. I do hope you enjoy your return trip to our Royal Hotel at Whitby and that this experience has not put you off trying other hotels in the group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Got back from 7 night break on 9th June.Let me say we have holidayed with Shearings many many times both in the UK and abroad, this was our 3rd trip this year so far. Dont understand comments of excellent food, Shepherds pie was rank. When asked about this the Manager said well we gave him a recipe to follow. Hotel had 3 chefs in a week, maybe ok to heat up and serve if you were lucky but not to actually make a dish from fresh ingredients. most food was at best warm, soups were not hot. Had Pate one night came with salad leaves no bread or toast offered Had Scampi another day, it was cold some of us had a Lemon slice others did not, when asked if we could have a slice of lemon, we were told no lemon till tomorrow now. We got lemon in our drink later the same night in the Bar.
Restaurant staff struggle to understand English so always hope you get what you order, but does not always work out like that.Toast was interesting in the mornings were given a 6 piece toast rack every day only had 4 halves of toast in it why? never happens at other Shearings hotels. 3 of our party of 4 were ill for several days with the vomiting and sickness bug. I understand 20 plus customers that week had the same, No notices to inform customers of sickness in hotel were dispalyed, indeed when asked about this we were told its not Shearing policy to put up a notice to inform customers they should take extra precautions to protect themselves from any sickness bug. Room cleaning was a joke, our room was not vacumed at all whilst we were there neither were the public areas, dusting was unheard of. I know as I spent 3 days stuck in my room and the cleaners visit was if lucky 3-4 minutes.. Bar was an interesting set up. No one ever available to serve.Never had the wine we wanted.All in all probably the worst experience and service we have encountered in all our years of Shearings holidays

Room Tip: go for a sea view fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
I’m really sorry to hear your disappointment in the break you have just had at the hotel. Although I was made aware of a couple of the issues you had during your stay I did not know all that you have listed here. I can only apologise that the food didn’t meet your expectations I can assure you this was an unusual occurrence as I was relying on relief chefs.for a few days
I do not know of any instances when the restaurant staff had misplaced guests orders, all the staff have worked at the hotel successfully for quite a while now however I have reviewed your comments with the staff
It was unfortunate that around 9 guests were ill over the course of the week which can happen occasionally but we do implement a strict and effective sanitising schedule at such times which we do with discretion. As you may have noticed, the reception, bar and public toilets were supplied with hand gels and antibacterial soaps. Public area are sprayed at regular intervals with virucidal spray. I can assure you that the public areas are vacuumed and dusted daily which is carried out during the night.
The bar is manned from 5pm with Reception staff serving during the day from 10am. Our wines are well stocked with alternatives available if we are unable to supply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Norbreck with Shearings.The hotel looks a little tired ,but its position facing the sea would lend to this.The service from the staff was first class. The entertainment was excellent ,the hosts Daniel ,Jason and Dave Davis entertained all night and made each guest feel special.Restaurant and food good especially the Gala dinner.Overall a good holiday break with included trips to York and Filey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Hi Kenneth F, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your break with us. I have passed your comments onto our staff and they are very proud to know you found their service 1st class, they do always try their hardest. Our entertainments team put on some excellent shows during the week, with a little Royal twist, to help celebrate the Queens Jubilee. Chef was pleased you enjoyed the food, and I have to agree, the Gala dinner was something special. Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing