We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
94
188
92
41
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
188
92
41
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivesea viewheartbeat countryshearings breakanne brontechef's specialsentertainment every nightevery eveningenjoyable breakcoach holidayholiday makersmonday to fridayfire escapenational holidaysplenty of choicebath and showerthe cliff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

only hotel in scarborough that has views of both north and south bays,and woderful views they are.Sited next to scarborough castle it needless to say is at the top of the hill,quite a hike down to the sea front and back,there is of corse busses etc.we had a loverly room overlooking the north bay,meals were fine,entertainment in the evening very good.all round great place to stay,

Room Tip: overlooking the north bay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you Bruce a for your great review, I can defiantly confirm we have the most spectacular views here at the hotel, quite breathtaking. Although the journey to the beach is steep, as you say Scarborough have buses that can do most of the work for you, you are on holiday! We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We use shearings every year for our breaks. The Norbreck was standard Bay hotel standard. The service was excellent and without exception all the staff should be congratulated. Room was small but clean and the best hotel shower we've experienced. Bar prices a little steep for the area but comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Food was very basic but nothing to complain about (although some did). Overall it was a great break and yes we'll return to Scarborough and yes would consider the Norbreck again. Only thing that nearly spoiled it was the most miserable coach driver ever which is unusual for Shearings and not the Norbrecks fault. Still great value for money, keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Hi Pete L. Is nice to see a regular Shearings holiday maker staying at the hotel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comments you have made about our service, I am very proud of all the staff who work at the hotel and they are very happy to receive positive reviews from guests. I hope you enjoy many more years of holidaying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Shearings package hotel, we stayed for 4 nights on half board.
Stunning location but in serious need of total refurbishment.
Staff exceptionally friendly and did their best to provide good service.
En-suite room clean but overly full of dark furniture leaving mminimal floor space. Uncomfortable hard bed took some getting used to.
The corridoors are extremely narrow, have to walk in single file.
We were on the 2nd floor and may as well have had the entertainment in the room with us so no point in trying to get an early night. If the entertainment didn't keep you awake, guests passing your door and shutting their own doors would ensure disturbance.
The hotel was full of pensioners [including ourselves] so at least quiet after 11.30pm.
Meal times were breakfast 8-9am and evening meal 6.30-7.30pm. so no flexibility.
Evening meals disappointing, no sign of fresh seasonal vegetables. Chips that had been kept warm for so long they were tough and soggy. Delicious braised beef served with pre-frozen potato croquettes and frozen veg. Raspberry coulis which comprised of 2 dried up raspberries!! Tomato soup so highly pepperd to make it the subject of conversation afterwards. Bread rolls warmed long enough to make them tough. The food in our opinion is disappointing but edible.
On a very serious note the luggage had to be put outside of rooms before 7am on the last night. Considering how narrow the corridoors are I would have thought that it created a serious hazzard in the event of a fire!
In conclusion, we had a very nice break but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review jeanhartley, I am disappointed to learn not everything was to your liking. Please be assured I will discuss your comments with my department heads in order that they can be addressed to stop this affecting other customers. The complaints you made about the food are being looked into as I am working closely with the Chef on any issues that may arise from customjer comments. . It is correct that luggage is placed outside rooms to enable us to bring it down for the coach departures. The porter brings down luggage throughout the night as guests put it out and constantly from 7am onwards meaning all luggage is down by 7.30am for the drivers to be able to load their coaches. The build up of luggage is limited due to this procedure and has not caused us concern in the past. I’m glad that overall you had a nice break and hope you will continue to holiday with the group again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A 15 minute walk down hill into town and then a 30 minute slow climb up the hill to the hotel. The room we had was very tired particularly the carpet which needed to be replaced. It was dirty and no amount of hoovering would have made any difference.. The Throw on the bed had holes in it and apart from a sheet we only had a thin polyester cover. Could have done with a duvet. The food was always warm/cold which I sent back on several occasions. Only three choices of each course and no imagination was put into the cooking, very basic, sometimes burnt, tasteless and very small portions. At breakfast if you were not having a full breakfast and requested just bacon and tomatoes, you were given 1 small dried up rasher of bacon and 1 small tomato. On two occasions they ran out of our choice of main course at dinner and we were one of the first to be served. The best and only good thing about the hotel is the entertainment. 4 nights were excellent. Bar prices were expensive, a glass of house wine £3.60. This is a 2 star hotel!! All the problems with this hotel is purely down to Shearings and how they care about their customers. The hotel needs a massive refurbishment including the lift. We would not recommend the Norbreck to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IlfordHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review IlfordHolly, sorry you did not enjoy your break with us. We do endeavor to refurbish a number of rooms each year. We also plan to make duvets available when we upgrade rooms although a lot of our guests still prefer the sheets and bedspreads. I have investigated the shortage of items on your breakfasts and chef and I can only apologise as this should not have happened,. The entertainments’ team are very pleased you enjoyed the entertainment on during the week, they do like to be well received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from a five day Shearings holiday at the Norbrek. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The big let down is the food. I cannot recall not enjoying an English breakfast prior to this holiday after all what can go wrong with such a basic meal. It was absolutely tasteless. The bacon was like cardboard and one morning I was sure that the honey glazed ham from the previous evening's meal had been fried up and served as bacon. My wife ordered poached eggs on toast as an alternative, believing that no one can get that wrong. When it came the toast had obviously been done ages before and the eggs were like two lumps of polystyrene on top. Have holidayed with Shearings previously but will think twice about booking again sfter this experience.

Room Tip: We did not opt for upgraded room, but those we spoke to were disappointed particullarly with the size.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thanks for your comments Redcap. It’s nice to see you found the staff and bedrooms pleasant although I’m sorry you were let down by the food. The kitchen team have read your comments and can ensure you that no ham was fried up and served for breakfast. It is unfortunate that you did not bring these points to the attention of the restaurant team during your stay as they would have done their best to get this rectified for you. Please do not let this put you off holidaying with the company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews