We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
94
188
92
41
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
188
92
41
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivesea viewheartbeat countryshearings breakanne brontechef's specialsentertainment every nightevery eveningenjoyable breakcoach holidayholiday makersmonday to fridayfire escapenational holidaysplenty of choicebath and showerthe cliff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room we stayed in, at the Norbreck, was clean and had lovely sea views. The entertainment was very good and the bar staff were good too.
Unfortunately, the food was awful and the general appearance of the hotel gave the feeling it had seen better days. Money needs spending on it.
The dining room had at least one large crack in the ceiling, that looked as though it may fall at any time. The lounge toilets were dirty and some of the lounge chairs smelt of urine.
On the good side, the Shearings four night tour and choice of day trips were very good and our coach driver was excellent.
I would take another Shearings holiday but not at this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms have excellent views but think before you book!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sheila-Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your review Sheila. I have passed on your comments to my team in our bar, entertainments’ and housekeeping who's, staff were very pleased. I am working closely our with new chef to address comments made by customers who have not enjoyed the food served. I have visited the public restrooms, these are cleaned a minimum of twice daily but their age is showing signs of wear which could be mistaken for dirt. I do hope you enjoy future holidays with Shearings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Room was clean but small and cramped and noisy, there were two windows in it one of which could not be reached as the bed was in the way so opening the curtains was a no no. The other one did have a sea view, but was very hard to shut once it had been opened, and the handle to open it was hanging off.

The food was what can only be described as abysmal, the chef needs sacking and should be replaced by one that can cook! The waitress on the other hand was A1, very polite and helpfull but this of course does not make up for the poor quality of the meals served.

As for the area it is a pleasent resort and has a good selection of shops, bars and restaraunts. A couple of things I did find annoying though were the very noisy Herring Gulls aka winged rats, and the overflowing litter bins, (a great target of the scavenging gulls!). YCC environmental department take note.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank aescom256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thanks aescom256 for your review, sorry you didn’t enjoy all the aspects of your break. Thanks for saying your waitress was A1, now all the girls in the restaurant are trying to work out who you mean. Myself and my new Chef are closely looking at the food and menus to try and prevent any issues arising. Our maintenance team do attend to all issues when reported to us, and have now been attended to, although I think the gulls may be a bit beyond our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

only hotel in scarborough that has views of both north and south bays,and woderful views they are.Sited next to scarborough castle it needless to say is at the top of the hill,quite a hike down to the sea front and back,there is of corse busses etc.we had a loverly room overlooking the north bay,meals were fine,entertainment in the evening very good.all round great place to stay,

Room Tip: overlooking the north bay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you Bruce a for your great review, I can defiantly confirm we have the most spectacular views here at the hotel, quite breathtaking. Although the journey to the beach is steep, as you say Scarborough have buses that can do most of the work for you, you are on holiday! We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We use shearings every year for our breaks. The Norbreck was standard Bay hotel standard. The service was excellent and without exception all the staff should be congratulated. Room was small but clean and the best hotel shower we've experienced. Bar prices a little steep for the area but comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Food was very basic but nothing to complain about (although some did). Overall it was a great break and yes we'll return to Scarborough and yes would consider the Norbreck again. Only thing that nearly spoiled it was the most miserable coach driver ever which is unusual for Shearings and not the Norbrecks fault. Still great value for money, keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Hi Pete L. Is nice to see a regular Shearings holiday maker staying at the hotel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comments you have made about our service, I am very proud of all the staff who work at the hotel and they are very happy to receive positive reviews from guests. I hope you enjoy many more years of holidaying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Shearings package hotel, we stayed for 4 nights on half board.
Stunning location but in serious need of total refurbishment.
Staff exceptionally friendly and did their best to provide good service.
En-suite room clean but overly full of dark furniture leaving mminimal floor space. Uncomfortable hard bed took some getting used to.
The corridoors are extremely narrow, have to walk in single file.
We were on the 2nd floor and may as well have had the entertainment in the room with us so no point in trying to get an early night. If the entertainment didn't keep you awake, guests passing your door and shutting their own doors would ensure disturbance.
The hotel was full of pensioners [including ourselves] so at least quiet after 11.30pm.
Meal times were breakfast 8-9am and evening meal 6.30-7.30pm. so no flexibility.
Evening meals disappointing, no sign of fresh seasonal vegetables. Chips that had been kept warm for so long they were tough and soggy. Delicious braised beef served with pre-frozen potato croquettes and frozen veg. Raspberry coulis which comprised of 2 dried up raspberries!! Tomato soup so highly pepperd to make it the subject of conversation afterwards. Bread rolls warmed long enough to make them tough. The food in our opinion is disappointing but edible.
On a very serious note the luggage had to be put outside of rooms before 7am on the last night. Considering how narrow the corridoors are I would have thought that it created a serious hazzard in the event of a fire!
In conclusion, we had a very nice break but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review jeanhartley, I am disappointed to learn not everything was to your liking. Please be assured I will discuss your comments with my department heads in order that they can be addressed to stop this affecting other customers. The complaints you made about the food are being looked into as I am working closely with the Chef on any issues that may arise from customjer comments. . It is correct that luggage is placed outside rooms to enable us to bring it down for the coach departures. The porter brings down luggage throughout the night as guests put it out and constantly from 7am onwards meaning all luggage is down by 7.30am for the drivers to be able to load their coaches. The build up of luggage is limited due to this procedure and has not caused us concern in the past. I’m glad that overall you had a nice break and hope you will continue to holiday with the group again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews