We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY STAY AT THE NORBRECK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
SKEGNESS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY AT THE NORBRECK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We Have Just returned from a monday to friday break at the NORBRECK HOTEL,we found it a lovely homely hotel, THE staff were very helpful and did there upmost to make our stay nice, My husband is a rather fussy person with his food and they went out of there way to make sure he had something he liked tomato soup being his favorite starter, The room,s were cosy and warm sometimes to warm LOL and there was everything we needed a bath and a shower was a bonus, The veiw from our bedroom window was really lovely of the bay and cliffs, All in all no complaints THANK,YOU NORBRECK FOR A GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TERESAANDROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Hi Teresa & Roy, thank you for your great review! The staff are thrilled to know you spoke so highly of them and chef said it was a pleasure to cater for the 'fussy' diner as you call yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    163
    70
    36
    28
See reviews for
33
234
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My pal and i just spent four nights at the Scarborough Bay Norbreck on a Shearings holiday. The hotel has a superb position with wonderful views. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the views until the third day as the mist never cleared! Our room was not ready on arrival but we were kindly offered a free drink while we waited the ten minutes for the room to be ready. The room had been completely refurbished and we were the first to occupy it. It (Room 208). It was clean, spacious, well equipped with brand new beds. The bathroom was also spacious with a bath and shower. We did not book a room with a sea view but when the mist lifted on the third day we discovered we had a lovely sea view to the harbour over St Mary's church where Anne Bronte is buried. The view was partially obscured by the fire escape but at least we felt safe!
There was a good choice of food both at breakfast and dinner which was good value for the price that we paid. One cannot expect cordon bleu dining and turn down service in a budget hotel. We had a very pleasant and super efficient Asian waitress on the first three days who deserves a special mention. The nightly entertainment was very good. I was disappointed that there was not a reasonably priced house wine at dinner, the cheapest cost £14.95. Hardly anyone purchased wine but had there been a reasonable choice of house wine at around £9.95 the hotel would have no doubt increased their profit considerably.
There are scenic walks down hill into both the town and harbour and funicular railways from the beach area to the town to ease the walk up hill back to the hotel.A very pleasant holiday - recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thanks for your review Cliff, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It was such a shame that the fog held for so long but at least it lifted before you had to go home as you would have missed the views altogether. I will pass your comments on to Flo in the restaurant, she will be thrilled to know you appreciated her hard work, as will the entertainments team. I will pass your comments regarding the bottled wine to our purchasing team so they can be considered when we look at reviewing our wine lists shortly. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Wife and I (in our 60's) spent a week in October 2012 at the Norbeck. The room was good with a sea view, food was pretty good for a 2 star hotel and the staff were very friendly and efficient. It was a great week and a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodwardtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
It is lovely to read your review woodwardtwo, October saw it's fair share of sunshine and we are glad you enjoyed a bit of it with us here at the Norbreck, looking out at the views. I will make sure all your comments are passed on at our next meeting as the staff will be so happy to know you mentioned them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just back from a shearings 5 day tour,staying at the norbreck,and were pleasently surprised. The tours were well informative and well organised with visits to york,whitby,bridlington and a few other small trips that were a bonus,but be warned especially in york that some of the museums ec can be expensive,so limit it to just a couple of places that you really want to see.the hotel norbreck was quite a pleasant hotel,some parts have been newly decorated and some parts havent,with decoraters in the hotel as we were there,but they were discreet and didn't get in your way. The food is fair to good with a choice of breakfast and dinner menus,but these are limited,entertainment was ok but a couple of the acts were very good,and the compares especially daniel were very friendly as were the staff.Our seaview room was an added bonus with a great view of the north sea,also the norbreck is positioned on the top of the cliffs at the north shore end of scarbrough,with the anne bronte grave literlally around the corner and the castle 10mins away on the very top of the cliff. So yes a very happy and pleasant little break at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hi Mike & Brenda. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff, they are much appreciated. That's a good tip for others about visting York, there is so much to do there it can soon get expensive, although the National Railway Museum by the train station is free! I'm glad you enjoyed your break and all the visits in the local area and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

me and my wife both really enjoyed our stay at the norbreck, the hotel is having some refurbishments but they didn't interfere with the guests stay. entertainment was very good. our room was clean the trips to york, heartbeat country and whitby were excellent, all the drivers went out of their way to help as did the hotel staff. only gripe was some of the food was not to my likening, overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you john h for your review, it's good to know you enjoyed you stay with us. Thank you for noticing the refurbishment which was taking place, the contractors did a good job not distrupting customers too much. The staff are very pleased to see you found them helpful as they do all try so hard to help customers as much as they can. Sorry if not all our food was to your liking, we do have a varied menu to try and ensure there is something for everyone. Maybe we will see you back in sunny Scarborough soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The room in this hotel was quite nice. We had a wonderful view of the north beach in Scarborough. The hotel is quite high on a hill between the Castle ruins and the city. The food started off fair but improved as the week wore on. We were on a Shearings 8-day holiday and all in all we have no complaints regarding the hotel stay.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra and get a sea view room, it's worth it for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, as I always say, the views are amazing from the hotel and those paying the supplement for the room do get the advantage of being able to enjoy them upstairs too. Our menus vary each day so they appeal to a wider group of customers, i'm gald you found that they were satisfying overall. I will make sure I pass your comments on to the team at our next meeting and do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the Norbreck Hotel for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend on a Shearings self-drive break. The hotel is situated in a spectacular location high on a hill next to Scarborough Castle and opposite St. Mary's church which contains the grave of Anne Bronte. The hotel overlooks both the North Bay and the South Bay. Our room was situated on the 1st floor and was quite spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and roomy bathroom. The food was adequate with a reasonable choice the only let-down being breakfast on the first morning with a full cooked breakfast looking unappetising. After that breakfast was fine as I avoided a full cooked breakfast. All staff were very helpful, friendly and cheerful. Overall our stay represented good value for the amount we paid. The main problem we had was parking as the hotel has very limited parking which seems to be reserved for disabled guests but the hotel thoughtfully provides guests with a pass enabling free on-street parking. This was not always easy to find near to the hotel, probably because of it being Bank Holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the busy bank holiday weekend! We are very lucky to have the spectacular views from the hotel. As you say, parking during the weekend was very busy. Guests can pre-book the parking spaces at the hotel when they make thier holiday booking and once these have been filled on-street paking costs just £1.60 for 4 days. I will pass on you comments to our team of staff at our next meeting. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing