We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and staff”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 13 October 2013

this hotel is great for couples, it is up on the cliff over looking the bay with stunning views, the food is very nice and has lots to choose from if you are staying on a half board basis. it is only a short walk from the town center so makes a great base for exploring the local area.

In the evening they have entertainment but they also let you take your drinks to your room from the bar so i am afraid i didn't see it to let you know if it was any good. its about 30 min drive to york city center and 30 min by bus to Whitby so would make a great base for goth week.

all i will say that is a down side is make sure you take lots of warm clothing as where it is at the top of the cliff when you step outside in the cold it gets a very cold sea breeze blowing in so thick jumpers and cold weather coats are a must out of season. most of the guests are over 50 so be prepared for some odd looks if your under that age as me and my wife found out, but it is not in a nasty way they just seem to find it odd seeing youngsters there.

Room Tip: rooms with a sea veiw and bath are the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It’s lovely to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your comments Gavin K. We all look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

A pleasant self-drive weekend break with excellent entertainment from Daniel. However, our only issue was on leaving the hotel. The coach was parked across the front of the hotel and we had to wait 45 minutes to vacate as the coach driver refused to let us out even though he only had to back up a little. He said he was not allowed to move the coach under any circumstances as he was on a break. This is a very serious safety issue as should the emergency services need to be called it would cause a problem which could be life-threatening. There is ample space for the coach to be parked across the front of the hotel to resolve this problem. We have stayed at the Norbreck on many occasions and have not encountered this before and feel perhaps it was the unfortunate attitude of the driver and not the general rule.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It is nice to read you had a pleasant weekend break and I will pass your comments to Daniel. I apologise for the coach restricting your departure and I shall investigate the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Norbreck Hotel for a weekend on a trip with Shearings, the hotel is very nice and clean, and has lovely views of the bay from both sides of the hotel, The food was nice and the staff very friendly and helpfully, the entertainment was very good in the evening.The hotel is very high overlooking the bays any-one with walking problems would find getting anywhere difficult but inside the hotel would have.. no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeffngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi jeffngrace it’s lovely to read you enjoyed your weekend with us, we are very lucky to have the position we do with the spectacular views. I will pass all your comments onto the staff who will be very happy to receive them. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We had booked and paid extra for a sea view, what we got was a single room with a double bed squeeze into it. The bath side has a whole in it mended with tape. Staff not very helpful and do not respond to a complaint. We booked this holiday through Shearing's never again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Bernice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I’m very sorry to hear you were not attended to as you should have been and I will investigate the matter with the front of house team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

first impressions not bad we paid for sea view up grade but turned out most rooms have sea view as its on top of the headland.the food was the worst badly prepared and unedible by times and service slow.entertainment ok for o a ps. not for me.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gwolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for making your comments. Our position does allow for the majority of rooms to have a good view and supplements are charged for the rooms with the unrestricted views of the north bay. We constantly monitor the food and service and the points you have made will be raised at our catering team meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just spent four very enjoyable days at the Norbreck Hotel in Scarborough, The food, staff and fixtures were all very good as was the entertainment in the evening. We only had two small niggles:- One was the terrible dryer /washer noise every morning and the other was the car parking that we paid for was not accessible when the coaches pulled up to the front door. If we were in the car park we couldn't get out and if we were out we couldn't get in!!!

Room Tip: Try for the front with wonderfull sea views but not over the bar or near to the generator by the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review David O it’s good to hear you enjoyed your break with us. The staff and entertainments team are really happy to see your comments. Sorry you were disturbed by a noise each morning I will investigate this and the issue you had with the car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A well placed hotel with marvelous seas views. The room was clean ,comfortable and had everything we needed. Food was good although service was slow on occasion. Enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings. All round a good break and good value for money. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

It’s great to read your comments Peter H and thanks for taking the time to write them. Apologies if you found service to be slow on occasion, it is a busy time and we do our best to keep delays to a minimum for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing