We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD WEEKEND”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GOOD WEEKEND”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went with my wife, daughter and Granddaughter on a Shearing's 4 day break. Very good journey with an excellent driver called Paul. Hotel impressive with position on the cliff by the castle. Very pleasant welcome and well informed before we left the coach. All the staff were delightful with a first rate manager. Lovely dining room with views over North Bay. Food very good and plentiful.
Our room was tired and tv small but the view over South Bay was something it was also very clean. Our daughter's room was much better than ours and her bathroom as they had obviously been up dated. First nights entertainment with Nik Martin was excellent and I am sure every one had a lovely friendly evening. The entertainment the following night was good but not on the same standard.
One big problem with this hotel is for people with mobility problems as there is no service bus into the town or to the front. Even going down is hard due to the cobbles. Any way the Tour bus costs £4 and takes you all around Scarborough from the hotel door and you can use the ticket all day all day. Good short break in clean friendly surroundings..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEOFFREY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Geoffrey G thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We are in the process of updating our bedrooms and have 8 more planned for later this year. It’s great to read you appreciated myself and the other staff and that you enjoyed your food and entertainment as I do have a great team here. We are a little out of the town centre, it being a 15 minute walk downhill, but as you say the tour bus is very handy and runs all through the summer and we are more than happy to advise directions to get down avoiding the cobbles!. I do hope you all come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    169
    78
    38
    29
See reviews for
34
245
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

second stay at this hotel
room adequate but no shower . just a plastic tap attachment. food was good staff friendly.
love the location and view from the room. would stay again. great value. we were able to park in hotel car park for a small fee

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your review Travelhaze it’s nice to see you came back to visit we do have 2 rooms at the hotel which have yet to have showers installed and I am sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your break. Please mention this on booking your next visit and we can avoid putting you in one of these rooms again. I’m glad you enjoyed your food and the service the staff gave as well as getting the benefit of the views from your room and the location. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

after visiting this hotel last week I can firstly say i was impressed how clean it was .Also the staff was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.
The things I did not like was the food in my opinion it was nursing home quality and not to the standard of a hotel of this size , also the chambermaid in our room kept it clean but never straitened the bottom sheet out once ,also never took the glasses down that we brought up to finish in our room they was left all 5 days mounting up.
it is also very high up on a slope so maybe not for the disabled unless you have transport.
Its a pity really as the manageress tries so hard to please everyone. Keep up the good work, its only the small details and the food that let you down

Room Tip: second floor or higher as over the entertainment area on first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear John B thank you for your recent review of the Norbreck Hotel we are pleased that you found our hotel clean we always keep it up to the best standard possible, also our staff are a credit to the hotel and I am immensely proud of them. I will look into the comments you have made regarding the food and bedroom I am sorry that you found this not up to standard. The hotel is high up on the headland but taxis are readily available and there is an open top bus that is available in the summer season that collects and drops off just at the foot of the driveway. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you at the Norbreck very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grays essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wonderful view of north beach .good entertainment .food adequate but dining room cramped .bedroom very cramped but had sea view would stay again in different bedroom.Shearings driver Roger very knowledgable and helpful.Went on optional trip to heartbeat land and tour of Whitby not worth the money considering Whitby was included on the itinery later in the day.Had fish&chips at the magpie in whitby £26 for 2 reg cod& chips 1 coke1mushy peas was very nice. As was the price but it is more of a restaurant than chip shop

Room Tip: When booked with shearing had to have an upgrade room. good sea view but really was to small to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review of the Norbreck Gerrylynn the view is indeed stunning onto the North Bay and we do have a wonderful variety of entertainers. Roger is a great coach driver and is very knowledgeable of the area so his trips out are always definitely worth it. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the optional trip value for money I have passed this comment onto the traffic department. I have also passed the comments regarding the dining room and bedroom on we are always looking for comments to aid us in our refurbishment which will improve the bedrooms ambience for our guests. I hope to see you at the Norbreck again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

George O
Be aware you are charge per head for sea view, ie 1 person £14 2 people £28 3 people £42 still only one window rip off. Also the free drink if you drink only soft drink ie orange cordial and lemonade per pint 2 drinks pint of beers per pint 1drink. this is a rip off on those who do not drink.
The staff were very good so was the food and accommodation

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks George O for your review I will certainly pass your comments regarding the sea view supplement and all inclusive drinks promotions onto the necessary departments as this is not something we control at the hotel. It is good to read that you enjoyed the food and the accommodation I am very lucky to have such excellent staff and they pride themselves on their service as do I. We hope to see you at the Norbreck again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just returned from a 5 day break with 2 friends that we booked with Shearings, when we pulled up outside our first impressions were not very good, we had been travelling for 11 hours on the coach so felt a bit dissapointed, but on entering it had a lovely friendly feel and our room we had a twin room with sea view and my friend had a single room overlooking the churchyard and south bay both rooms were comfortable and had everything in them. The food was very nice and plenty of choice and all the staff were lovely thank you to all, entertainment in the evening was excellent and there was also a good crowd especially the lovely people from Beeston they helped us to enjoy the break even more. The weather wasn't very good especially on wednesday when we went for a walk and ended up touring the north and south bays in the rain and sleet!!! The trips and journey were very well planned,the holiday was very good value as we had 4 drinks vouchers each every day. The hotel could do with a bit of a paint up but as it is an old building it must be quite a job.

Room Tip: Sea Views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Eileen-Rich thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Norbreck we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and also the entertainment. The drinks vouchers that we provide really make the holiday for a lot of our guests and it’s good to read that you feel the same. We are consistently working to refurbish the hotel both with maintenance and major works being undertaken. We are planning to have another eight rooms redecorated in June this will be of great benefit to us and our guests. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

we had a lovely Weekend break, everyone was friendly and helpful, the food was good and entertainment each evening was excellent, we had a seaview room which was very comfortable, the parking system is very good, you get a ticket to park on the road outside for one pound 60p and it lasts for you stay ( 4 Days in our case )

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleyh187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback Shirley it’s great to read we have another happy customer. Our staff are all great and do go out of their way to make our guests happy. The on street parking is good value and don’t forget we have 6 spaces at the hotel which can be booked when you book your holiday. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,797 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing