We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$669
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
94
188
96
41
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
188
96
41
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivesea viewheartbeat countryshearings breakanne brontechef's specialsentertainment every nightevery eveningenjoyable breakcoach holidayholiday makersmonday to fridayfire escapenational holidaysplenty of choicebath and showerthe cliff
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed with my wife for a week on a Shearing's Holiday super deal. Hotel is in a super position overlooking the North Bay. Quite steep up from promenade and harbour and so could be a problem to less agile if to do much walking. Room was not large, but of sufficient size for our needs. Beds were only 2'6" and so smaller than normally used to, but they were comfortable enough and so slept well. Room had been newly refurbished and so everything most clean. Bathroom was off normal size and wall tiles also newly replaced. On our landing 8 rooms were in the process of being completely plastered and redecorated, with contractors working from 8.00 am until 7.00pm in evening. Did not cause us much inconvenience and our being given a room with a clear view of the bay made up for this. Service throughout hotel was very good and the staff were all most efficient at meal times. The restaurant also enables you to enjoy a good view of the bay whilst eating. Food was good too, with a reasonable choice and well prepared. Coffee/tea was provided in lounge after dinner each evening. Cleanliness during our stay was hampered by the decorators, for the plaster dust was easily trod down the stairs and into foyer, albeit vacuumed up during day. It is also an older hotel where outside maintenance was not top priority. Did not see the entertainment as evenings so pleasant for a stroll down to front.
So in summary what do I think. Well, for the price paid on a last minute deal we enjoyed super value that could not be beaten. The hotel was very comfortable bearing in mind only 2* rated and I would gladly return if room rates remained so competitive.
This was our first visit to Scarborough, and it is a resort to be well recommended. Has plenty to see and explore with good shops and a Sea Life Centre, if weather turns to the worse. There are the resorts of Bridlington, Filey and Whitby also within easy bus rides if staying the week.
However, Scarborough has plenty of the nostalgia of a 60's type seaside town to wile away one's time quite happily over a beer or pot of tea. Shearing's coach driver also did us proud with the tours out from hotel and so we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Norbreck Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hi Peter Edwards and thanks for the review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay and that our team of contactors didn’t cause you much inconvenience during your stay. As you say, they did try their best to keep areas as clean as they could and cause as little disruption as possible. Scarborough is a lovely resort and it’s good to hear you would return. I will make sure your comments get passed onto the team and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The main reason for going to Scarborough was to visit Castle Howard, so a cheap two night stay suited our needs. What a pleasant suprise, very comfortable room, very good evening meal and a breakfast that set you up for the day ahead. In conversation, Chef Wayne heard that I have an intolerance to green vegetables and made a point of speaking to me in order to provide an alternative. One issue, men in "vests", shorts and flipflops should not be permitted anywhere near the dinning room!!!! Dress code please.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide wonderful views out over the bay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Tony. It’s lovely to read you enjoyed your stay. Wayne is a great chef who works hard for those with dietary needs so they can have as much choice as everyone else at meal times, as do the rest of the kitchen team. I was not aware customers had attended the restaurant dressed as you described as we do request a smart casual dress for mealtimes so I will remind the staff to speak with customers who are not appropriately dressed. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Castle Howard also and hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked this hotel on line £99 for 3 nights 27 April.On arrival first impressions are not good.
You pull up the ramp to reception and then wonder where you park to unload your cases.There are about 12 spaces and all have names on for those who have booked and paid.I pulled into one of these spaces or you block the ramp.it was raining so we unloaded and went to reception.Obtained a scratch card for parking on the road.£1 60p.you then have to reverse down the ramp There's no chance of turning the car round.
Given keys to room 110.I might add that reception is a small affair and the ambience did not bode well.
The lift failed to work and a member of staff had to run to the top floor to close the outer door.See What I mean about boding well.
On entering the room the shock started.Never have the wife and I seen a room like it.You step back 50yrs.It was small with wood chip papered walls that is peeling and worse for wear.Very old dark furniture.One bed pushed against a wall.We had driven 110 miles for this.The curtains hung in rags .literally..I have the photos.
The small window was metal framed and paint peeling all over.We looked in the bathroom which looked clean but by then we had decided we were not stopping in this room.
I went down to reception to complain.Trisha couldn't help with another room.She visited our room and said that housekeeping could sort the curtains out in the morning as if that would make things better.
Anyhow a refund has now been obtained and is in my bank account after a week.
We then drove home 110 miles not having the heart to find somewhere else.
We have been to a few Shearings hotel and this as far as the room is concerned is by far the worst.
By the way it would have cost an extra £42 for sea view.The room would have still been the same
This is an honest and true account of our Day 27th April.

Room Tip: Don't think there are many good rooms
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am very disappointed to read your review and am sorry that you did not find the hotel as you would have liked it. We have had a quarter of the rooms refurbished in the past 2 years with another 8 rooms booked to be completed in June this year. The age and structure of the building does limit the size of the rooms however we do find they are adequate and have all the amenities our customers require. Due to the busy weekend we were unable to offer you any alternative rooms which is why Trisha offered to allow Housekeeping to attend to the issues you raised where they could. I do hope this experience does not deter you from visiting other hotels in the group or ourselves in the future and we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel has been pleasantly refreshed in appearance since our last stay and our room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the entertainment provided by Daniel Defoe whose professional, personable and extremely talented performance never fails to please. His vocal quality and range of choice of material to suit a mixed audience is remarkable. We purchased his CD "From the Heart" which is a must for all guests and our advice to future guests is to never leave without one! Another act not to be missed is Chris Fields, impersonator, comedian extraordinaire with a unique blend of humour and touch of mischief without crossing the boundaries embarrassment.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you do not wish to stay up until the end of the entertainment.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Great to see you back again Janice and thank you for writing your review. It’s good to read you noted the refurbished rooms and that our entertainment program is still as good as ever. I have one of Daniels CD’s myself and agree he has a great voice. I do look forward to seeing Chris Fields appearing, he has such a unique show, it is a shame for anyone to miss it. Take Care and see you again soon 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The dinner the first evening was awful, but subsequent meals were fine.
The room was adequate and clean, and the bathroom with shower in bath was very good. We paid extra for room with a sea view, which was expensive after seeing the size of room and window.
The evening entertainment was good, and overall the break was fun and really enjoyable with a good clean hotel and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnno186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It’s good to see you had an enjoyable break overall. Sorry you didn’t enjoy your first meal with us and found the charge for the sea view expensive. Our entertainments team is great and they really work hard to give our guests the best time they can as do the rest of the staff and it’s great to see you make mention of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews