We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
ludlow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we recently stay at the norbreck on arrival we were attented to promptly and our rooms allocated and when we we asked about parking we were told we could purchase a voucher which was valid for all our stay at a nominal price a good start our room was clean and comfortable and a nice sea view the dining room looked over the sea and we had a window table food was good not big meals but enough plenty of choice our waiter was prompt and polite but not talkative
entertainment was fair fri night he arrived late then finished 10 .30 sat was much better Daniel de foe was good and entertained us well I would have liked to have seen entertainment on sun as there were a few people about but all in all a pleasant stay

Room Tip: 203 sea view double
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Mazer and thanks for your review. It’s good to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate the wonderful views we have from your room and the restaurant. I will make sure all your comments get passed onto the staff. Our entertainments team varies throughout the year as we try to offer something for everyone and Sunday night entertainment returns during the winter. I do hope to see you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    170
    78
    38
    29
See reviews for
34
246
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the norbreck hotel Scarborough on the 21st June for 8 days with shearing a,the hotel was nice,the room was clean and comfortable the staff was very helpful and efficient,but what let the hotel down was the food served at the evening meal,the vegetables were cold and not very appetising,we found we were eating salads every night due to the awful vegetables that's why we only gave the hotel 3 stars

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review William and for the lovely comments you made about the staff and hotel in general. I am sorry you felt let down by the vegetables being served, I will investigate your comments with the Kitchen. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed with my wife for a week on a Shearing's Holiday super deal. Hotel is in a super position overlooking the North Bay. Quite steep up from promenade and harbour and so could be a problem to less agile if to do much walking. Room was not large, but of sufficient size for our needs. Beds were only 2'6" and so smaller than normally used to, but they were comfortable enough and so slept well. Room had been newly refurbished and so everything most clean. Bathroom was off normal size and wall tiles also newly replaced. On our landing 8 rooms were in the process of being completely plastered and redecorated, with contractors working from 8.00 am until 7.00pm in evening. Did not cause us much inconvenience and our being given a room with a clear view of the bay made up for this. Service throughout hotel was very good and the staff were all most efficient at meal times. The restaurant also enables you to enjoy a good view of the bay whilst eating. Food was good too, with a reasonable choice and well prepared. Coffee/tea was provided in lounge after dinner each evening. Cleanliness during our stay was hampered by the decorators, for the plaster dust was easily trod down the stairs and into foyer, albeit vacuumed up during day. It is also an older hotel where outside maintenance was not top priority. Did not see the entertainment as evenings so pleasant for a stroll down to front.
So in summary what do I think. Well, for the price paid on a last minute deal we enjoyed super value that could not be beaten. The hotel was very comfortable bearing in mind only 2* rated and I would gladly return if room rates remained so competitive.
This was our first visit to Scarborough, and it is a resort to be well recommended. Has plenty to see and explore with good shops and a Sea Life Centre, if weather turns to the worse. There are the resorts of Bridlington, Filey and Whitby also within easy bus rides if staying the week.
However, Scarborough has plenty of the nostalgia of a 60's type seaside town to wile away one's time quite happily over a beer or pot of tea. Shearing's coach driver also did us proud with the tours out from hotel and so we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Norbreck Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi Peter Edwards and thanks for the review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay and that our team of contactors didn’t cause you much inconvenience during your stay. As you say, they did try their best to keep areas as clean as they could and cause as little disruption as possible. Scarborough is a lovely resort and it’s good to hear you would return. I will make sure your comments get passed onto the team and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The main reason for going to Scarborough was to visit Castle Howard, so a cheap two night stay suited our needs. What a pleasant suprise, very comfortable room, very good evening meal and a breakfast that set you up for the day ahead. In conversation, Chef Wayne heard that I have an intolerance to green vegetables and made a point of speaking to me in order to provide an alternative. One issue, men in "vests", shorts and flipflops should not be permitted anywhere near the dinning room!!!! Dress code please.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide wonderful views out over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Tony. It’s lovely to read you enjoyed your stay. Wayne is a great chef who works hard for those with dietary needs so they can have as much choice as everyone else at meal times, as do the rest of the kitchen team. I was not aware customers had attended the restaurant dressed as you described as we do request a smart casual dress for mealtimes so I will remind the staff to speak with customers who are not appropriately dressed. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Castle Howard also and hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked this hotel on line £99 for 3 nights 27 April.On arrival first impressions are not good.
You pull up the ramp to reception and then wonder where you park to unload your cases.There are about 12 spaces and all have names on for those who have booked and paid.I pulled into one of these spaces or you block the ramp.it was raining so we unloaded and went to reception.Obtained a scratch card for parking on the road.£1 60p.you then have to reverse down the ramp There's no chance of turning the car round.
Given keys to room 110.I might add that reception is a small affair and the ambience did not bode well.
The lift failed to work and a member of staff had to run to the top floor to close the outer door.See What I mean about boding well.
On entering the room the shock started.Never have the wife and I seen a room like it.You step back 50yrs.It was small with wood chip papered walls that is peeling and worse for wear.Very old dark furniture.One bed pushed against a wall.We had driven 110 miles for this.The curtains hung in rags .literally..I have the photos.
The small window was metal framed and paint peeling all over.We looked in the bathroom which looked clean but by then we had decided we were not stopping in this room.
I went down to reception to complain.Trisha couldn't help with another room.She visited our room and said that housekeeping could sort the curtains out in the morning as if that would make things better.
Anyhow a refund has now been obtained and is in my bank account after a week.
We then drove home 110 miles not having the heart to find somewhere else.
We have been to a few Shearings hotel and this as far as the room is concerned is by far the worst.
By the way it would have cost an extra £42 for sea view.The room would have still been the same
This is an honest and true account of our Day 27th April.

Room Tip: Don't think there are many good rooms
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am very disappointed to read your review and am sorry that you did not find the hotel as you would have liked it. We have had a quarter of the rooms refurbished in the past 2 years with another 8 rooms booked to be completed in June this year. The age and structure of the building does limit the size of the rooms however we do find they are adequate and have all the amenities our customers require. Due to the busy weekend we were unable to offer you any alternative rooms which is why Trisha offered to allow Housekeeping to attend to the issues you raised where they could. I do hope this experience does not deter you from visiting other hotels in the group or ourselves in the future and we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Arnside
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel has been pleasantly refreshed in appearance since our last stay and our room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the entertainment provided by Daniel Defoe whose professional, personable and extremely talented performance never fails to please. His vocal quality and range of choice of material to suit a mixed audience is remarkable. We purchased his CD "From the Heart" which is a must for all guests and our advice to future guests is to never leave without one! Another act not to be missed is Chris Fields, impersonator, comedian extraordinaire with a unique blend of humour and touch of mischief without crossing the boundaries embarrassment.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you do not wish to stay up until the end of the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Great to see you back again Janice and thank you for writing your review. It’s good to read you noted the refurbished rooms and that our entertainment program is still as good as ever. I have one of Daniels CD’s myself and agree he has a great voice. I do look forward to seeing Chris Fields appearing, he has such a unique show, it is a shame for anyone to miss it. Take Care and see you again soon 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The dinner the first evening was awful, but subsequent meals were fine.
The room was adequate and clean, and the bathroom with shower in bath was very good. We paid extra for room with a sea view, which was expensive after seeing the size of room and window.
The evening entertainment was good, and overall the break was fun and really enjoyable with a good clean hotel and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnno186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It’s good to see you had an enjoyable break overall. Sorry you didn’t enjoy your first meal with us and found the charge for the sea view expensive. Our entertainments team is great and they really work hard to give our guests the best time they can as do the rest of the staff and it’s great to see you make mention of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing