We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dire”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dire”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a bedroom that seemed like a relic from the past. Old fashioned television which only received a few channels, scruffy decor and a shower that only dribbled water and then was only just Luke warm.
Breakfast is only served until 9.00 am even on Sundays so no rest there unless you wanted to forgo breakfast. The dining room is pleasant enough and the food is adequate given the prices charged for hotel.
The hotel is situated on a steep hill out of the town and parking is very limited, only space for 6 cars that manage to book in advance, and so at times is very difficult to find a parking space, indeed one evening we needed to park on the sea front and trek to hotel; only for the super fit! A shuttle bus would be a distinct advantage to guests.
The reception and bar area are in need of refurbishment fast as at present they resemble an out dated holiday camp.
Will we return? Never.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Susie2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and observations about your recent stay. You may have read in past replies we continually refurbish a selection of rooms each year replacing televisions with fully available freeview sets as we go. We are also planned to have the restaurant and reception area refurbished in a few weeks time.
Our location is slightly out of town, being approx 10-20 minutes walk from the main town centre and approx 20-30 minutes from the beaches. We have stunning views I’m sure you will agree from our position and plenty of fair priced local taxis.
I have taken on board all your comments and wish you many happy holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    166
    74
    36
    28
See reviews for
33
239
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this place as part of a walking group for a long weekend. I had a single room, which was small but it had everything I needed; comfortable bed, plenty of storage, TV, tea and coffee and a roomy ensuite.
Our package included room, breakfast and a three course dinner with coffee. The food was more than adequate in quantity and mostly very enjoyable, although one or two items were disappointing. At less than £50 per night I was very satisfied with the value for money.
Views from bedrooms were stunning and from the dining room one could see little else but sea and coastline!
Car parking at £5 per night might seem steep but it was well worth it, given the trek some people had between the hotel and their cars - difficult as the hotel is situated at the top of a steep hill.
All in all a good place to stay and friendly, helpful staff make it even more welcoming,

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Colette and thanks for your review. Having chatted to some members of your group it was evident that a good time was had by all and you picked a really good weekend for all your walking. I do hope we can welcome you all back in the future maybe I could join you on one of your treks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This trip was booked via shearings coach holidays, I was a single lady travelling with a couple. First off I was charged a single room supplement as well as a Sea view supplement even though i didn't ask for a sea view. The Hotel and room was Scruffy and in a general state of disrepair, Food was very disappointing and low grade.Location is not suitable for elderly/disabled people. The bar was no better dirty glasses, trying to decant contents from dirty glass into a clean glass instead of issuing a fresh drink, Being charged for a slice of lemon in a gin and tonic "Unbelievable"
Needs a shuttle bus service from hotel to town.

Room Tip: stay away is the best advice until hotel gets a major refit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pingman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your break with us pingman 1958. We are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and have a selection refurbished each year. Our restaurant and reception area are also going to be refurbished later this year. I will make sure all of your comments are passed on to the team and I can assure you that we did not charge you for a slice of lemon in your drink as these are not chargeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was of a poor standard..
Breakfast. tomato never grilled. just half a wet tomato. today 15th august,
sausage was raw.

Evg. meals. main ingredient seemed to be seemed to be gravy, and more gravy.
Thursday 14th. Aug. Meal was disgusting.supposed to be chef's signature meal of chicken and ham pie. cold as was the vegs.

Ate a little and suffered afterwards. No management about, no one cared.. I spent the next hour or so you can guess where.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello David h sorry to read you were so disappointed by the food at the hotel. This will be raised with the Chef and kitchen team. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balquhidder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this three hours before checking in while between visits to family and friends. Very old fashioned hotel and it was delightful! Reception staff and night doorman were absolutely lovely! Breakfast staff could have done with a little customer service training but all in all it was perfect for what I needed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RF2012551933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi RF2012551933 and thanks for your review. So good to hear you had a good overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Arrived via Sherrings coach ( lovely driver Kevin ). first impression very nice only downfall was that only one window in room opened other scewed down. apart from that very tidy & clean room Good food nice & hot quickly served by friendly staff Entertainment very good must recommend Joel on Thursday " BRILLIANT "

Room Tip: Do not book room 315 next to lift & abit noisy apart from that room faced south very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It’s so nice to read your lovely comments Irene and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. I have noted the issue with your window and we are looking to get this replaced as soon as we can. Our staff were also very please to read your review and we all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed at The Norbreck several times over the years and love the location, the staff are always friendly and helpful and overall it's usually an enjoyable stay
The entertainment has always been above the average for similar hotels and this time was no different.
The lounge/bar area is lovely but the Restaurant - is most definitely in need of a good clean down and decoration. The flies were having a field day on the uncovered grapefruit, prunes and jugs of juice at breakfast time, a little off putting!
My room was a single and had been refurbished to a pleasant standard but my bathroom had only undergone a partial refurb which was disappointing - new shower fitting is very much needed, it lurched between hot and cold, needless to say I didn't linger in it for long!!
The food was edible and there was always sufficient but it could have been hotter and is of a similar standard to what you would purchase in your local frozen food store but having said all that it was a value for money weekend.
A tweak here and there would bring the place up to scratch!

Room Tip: A first floor room above the Reception/Bar area is close enough to pick up the free wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smf2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your honest review Smf2109 and I am sorry to read some aspects of your holiday were not at our best. We are lucky enough to be having our restaurant refurbished later this year which I agree will improve the overall ambience. I will look into the comments you have raised about the shower in your room and the food with the heads of department. Thank you again and I hope to be able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing