We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lewis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
2 reviews
“Lewis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

On arrival to The Dolphin the owner Gary was very friendly and helpful and put me at ease, being a single parent and it been my first time away other that a caravan trip I was a bit anxious. The room was comfortable and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Will definately visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agelessYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

A lovely welcome awaited my husband and I and three grandchildren - 2 five year old boys and an 8 year old girl. The hospitality started from the door being answered and the hospitality was exemplary right up to us leaving. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the bed is comfortable, I was a little concerned at having the 5 of us in one room but it was all kitted out extremely well and all furniture well placed, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts, as stated in other reviews were lovely and plentiful, The guesthouse was perfect for children and we were told to use the lounge etc as often as we liked, which we did to play tiddlywinks!! The five of us had a cooked breakfast each morning and the children ate all theirs!!! The Dolphin is on Columbus Ravine (somewhere I always wanted to stay from being a child myself) and is right near to Peaseholme Park on the North Bay which is quieter than the south bay but this didnt deter us from visiting the south bay and the arcades for the children - not somewhere I would choose to go normally but when its raining i'm afraid I give in to keep the children occupied. Unfortunately the one thing the children were looking forward to was the Battle of Britain at Peaseholme Park but it was cancelled due to bad weather, the weather could have been better but when you have a nice dry place to stay, a lovely host and the pleasure of the company of your grandchildren, what more could you ask for.!! I look forward to next year already!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicalholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Scarborough is our favourite seaside town and we have stayed at The Dolphin on many occasions. The reason is simple - it has everything you want in guest house. The rooms are clean and cosy, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms clean and bright. The location is perfect for the quieter North Bay, and just across the road from the beautiful Peasholm Park.
The Dophin is owned and managed by the wonderful Gary, whose customer service and manners are exemplary. He is the most friendly, genuine man and we always look forward to seeing him when we are going to Scarborough. His cooked breakfasts are FANTASTIC - piping hot, perfectly cooked and plentiful.
We love The Dolphin so much we chose to spend our honeymoon there and it was just perfect. We seriously would not consider staying anywhere else when we visit Scarborough. The price per night offers excellent value for money (currently £27 I believe) and I don't see how it could be bettered.
Parking on Columbus Ravine isn't usually a problem even though the road is busy. Gary provides guests with permits to last the whole stay and it's usually fairly easy to park either right outside or close by.
We're just about to book again for a long weekend in November. I can't wait to get there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsbunnytails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

for a good b&b that is affordable for an odd night try the dolphin, clean tidy basic rooms, good breakfast, and very good location for peasholme park and north bay, proprieter very helpful of whats on and what to do

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lovely welcoming guesthouse. Myself and my 2year old were made to feel right at home. The owner and staff could not possibly have been more accommodating or helpfull.

Rooms were very clean and lovely en suite facilities. Free wifi signal isn't brilliant but seriously who cares about that really?! Breakfast was very generous and beautifully cooked.

My next weekend in Scarborough will include this guesthouse it is by far the best of the four I've used in recent years.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyansMum2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The owner of this b&b was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. The b&b was within walking distance of town, train station and beach. I have stayed here now on two occasions and both stays have been lovely and many thanks to the b&b owner for making us welcome and our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Only stayed for one night but its a nice place to stay and would recommend this place and gladly use again if in the area. The room was ensuite, it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was of good size and tasted lovely. Well impressed. For the price we paid it was worth every penny and the owner deserves a big thank you. Only about ten minutes walk into town so nicely positioned too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robyn's Guest House
Robyn's Guest House
#22 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Guesthouse

Property: Dolphin Guesthouse
Address: 151 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing