We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIAMOND GEEZER and his MOLL”
Review of The Kingsway Hotel

The Kingsway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #77 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DERBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DIAMOND GEEZER and his MOLL”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

What a fantastic Guest House run by Christine & Neil (its kim & aggie clean) In other words its spotless.Great choice on breakfast menu (full english a must)10/10.
The bed was better than we have at home,If you want the best value for money this is the place to be.
(Christines the boss and Neils a dab hand with the hoover)

Room Tip: An old house but no noisy plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-RUBBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here on a one-night visit to Whitby - prices in Scarborough are on average £10/night less than in Whitby! I'd lived in this house 40 years ago, and was fascinated to see how beautifully it had been updated. A warm welcome, delightful decor, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Very definitely value for money. The single room might be a bit small for a prolonged stay - which mine (regretfully) wasn't. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My other half and I stayed in a double room for 2 nights 24th & 25th November 2012. Came across this place by accident as trawling the area looking for a place to stay when the guest house we originally booked (The Airedale - avoid at all costs!!) turned out to be a complete dump.

The hosts here could not have been friendlier and the hotel was ABSOLUTELY spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable and bedding of good quality. The breakfasts were also 5* in quality and there was plenty to eat.
All in all this was a superb stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawbrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had an excellent stay here in Scarborough during the cricket festival at the end of August. It was our first visit to Scarborough and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and very filling. The hotel is convenient for the centre of the town and for the cricket ground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Can't fault this hotel what so ever. Been there 3 times now and would be more than happy to go back again. The rooms are spotlessly clean and with good facilities, and which are attended to daily there is also a licensed bar and evening meals are available, which are cooked well and are very decently priced, also the breakfasts are lovely too. The location is perfect situated in the middle of the town and the park, just a five minute walk each way. Run by 2 lovely hosts who can't do enough for you. An excellent hotel which is well worth the money! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Wonderful clean rooms with plenty of tea/coffee on tap,the hosts are great and very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.Meals were very tasty, well cooked and presented.Would recommend this hotel if you stay in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Kingsway which was excellent. The accomodation was spotlessly clean, lovely room and the breakfast was delicious. The hosts Neil and Christine were perfect hosts, friendly and very helpful. Would certainly recommend you stay here if visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#48 of 182 in Scarborough
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kensington Guest House
Kensington Guest House
#22 of 182 in Scarborough
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#28 of 182 in Scarborough
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newlands Guest House Columbus Ra...
#148 of 182 in Scarborough
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsway Hotel

Property: The Kingsway Hotel
Address: 58 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kingsway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly family run Hotel situated on the North Bay close to beach and town centre and within walking distance to Railway Station and main bus terminal. Visit Britain 4 STAR rated, fully licensed, guest lounge and lovely comfortable rooms. Open all year round including Christmas and New Year. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing