We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub, beer nothing special”
Review of The Cask Inn

The Cask Inn
Ranked #148 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
snodland, kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice pub, beer nothing special”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A nice pub in a nice area, but the beer range could have been more exciting! Didn't have food, but it seemed good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    44
    20
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good ol' plain fashioned food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had the Sunday roast; nothing special but it did the job. Served a bit cold, seemed to be done in a batch with other diners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Expensive coffee”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

very limited beer range and as nothing I fancied I had a coffee - nothing special and cost nearly as much as hubbys pint

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Scruffy and unwelcoming”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The title sums it up, needs a good cleaning and more friendly staff otherwise this place will go the same place as lots of other potentially decent pubs,Wake up whoever is in charge.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cards091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Last time”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have eaten our last meal at The Cask!!!!! We have had a holiday home in this area for 5 years and have always had nice meals here. The Cask always seems to have been run by students who have in the main been friendly and welcoming. On our last visit we were made to feel totally uncomfortable and unwelcome, regulars were getting served some good looking plates of food whilst ours was cold, flavourless and was a long way from ever being fresh. If advertised as fresh they should not be serving frozen food. Have always recommended to family and friends but they would now be better at Wetherspoons !!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkeytraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cask Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Cask Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing