We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wackers

Wackers
Ranked #126 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went here last sunday first time for a few years, they are still good! a few of the staff have changed but it was still good service and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Campanellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    65
    31
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely fish lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice fish & peas- didn't have chips but they look nice! Clean, reasonable price &good fish & chips- perfect seaside lunch!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nannan2bums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wackers in Scarborough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went mid week for lunch while in Scarborough, ordered medium haddock and chips. The chips were very good. The fish was tasty and the batter nice and crisp, but it had not been well drained and the plate had a lot of fat on it. There was no lemon or tartare sauce, which I think the menu said was included - another review said that the sauce was behind the counter. The waitress who brought my meal was pleasant. I had not collected my cutlery from the counter and she went to fetch them for me. I was not impressed by the state of her apron though, it was very dirty. The young lady on the till was fairly efficeint, but did not attempt to engage with customers. It is quite noisy so maybe conversation would be difficult, but a smile and eye contact would be good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plenty more places to choose from dont go here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were hungry when arriving in scarborough and this looked ok from the outside but i was a bit suspicious since there is a ICELAND shop next door! Between the 2 of us we had scampi chips and peas and fish chips and peas, the peas are not fresh they looked like tinned. The fish was good and so was the batter. They are the only good points. No complimentary tartare sauce, it was behind the counter. The layout of the counter was a little confusing the till was half way along and no help from the staff to say you have to collect your own knifes and forks and had to ask where they were as there was no signs. Total bill was just over £15. Totally not worth it! Ate at nearby pub same evening for less!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very average. The fish and chips was OK both in terms of quality and portion size, but the gravy was rather watery and came in a rather small portion. Also, it came in a bowl rather than a boat and so was less easy to pour. The coffee was alright, but again, fairly average. The price charged is pretty fair. The staff also let this place down, the woman serving behind the till looked incredibly uninterested.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wackers also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Wackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing