We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and inviteing”

Brontes Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brontes Guest House
Ranked #45 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm and inviteing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

my partener and myself stayed here 4 3nights and was greeted very warmly by the owners, they were very frendly and explained everything well. we had the room with 4poster bed in it although it could have been a little bigger it was alright, we had a power shower which was brill. we didnt have to walk far to get to the beach and local pubs, there was a lovely cafe just down the road which served lovely meals. if you didnt want to go out you could always borrow a dvd from the wide selection on offer from the owners corrina and eric the breakfast was enough to keep you goin all day with a good selection on offer. we will defenatly be going again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisemarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    17
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have stayed at Brontes on several occasions, we are made to feel like good friends not just guests, the rooms are excellent and very clean, the breakfast keeps you going all day.The location is excellent within walking distane of beach, pubs, and peasolm park.Would really recommend anyone to stay at Brontes. Also good value for money. Give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaphil37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in July, there was a friendly welcome and we were always made to feel welcome. The room was good, with a 4 poster bed and had a dvd player and freeview plus a nice cooked breakfast in the morning. It is close to the north beach and would definatley stay again in future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

As I use Trip Advisor before booking holidays we decided to book a stay after checking your ratings. On this occasion I was very disappointed. The greeting was not friendly and we were not made to feel welcome. We were not offered a welcoming drink as advertised. The photos of the bedrooms do not show how small and stuffy they are. and the ensuite was miniscule. We were awakened by howling dogs and noisy neighbours .Breakfasts are below average and are ONLY served from 8.45 - 9.15am. We were made to feel intruders in the guest lounge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arthur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We tend to have a few weekends each year in Scarborough and always used to book anywhere that was available at a reasonable price. Once we found Brontes it is now the first place we try to get in. Speaking to other guests, a lot of them seem to be, like us, repeat visitors who return time and time again which is always a good sign. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and en suite. The breakfasts are well cooked and hearty enough even for me. It is a 2 minute stroll to Peasolme park, 5 minutes to the North bay beach and 10 minutes or so into the town centre shops. The owners are always friendly and extremely helpfull with nothing seeming to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martintyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Good points : Close to amenities / Friendly hosts / very clean and accommodating / generous breakfast, well cooked. TV's in every room, including dining room - all in good working order. "Seaside" theme to decoration...better than bland. Very good fish and chip shop within walking distance.....

No so good : Parking nearby can be difficult - situated on a main road/permits available from hosts but spaces often taken.
This B & B would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems, as all bedrooms are at least one flight of fairly steep stairs up from ground level. En suite in the double-bed room we had was compact with poor ventilation. The bed was like an orthopedic one - OK for some people - and it squeaked (embarrasing for others....). Sounds did carry through from corridor and adjoining bedrooms.....
All in All - we would rate it as slightly above the 3-star it is listed as.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

we chose this b&b only because the ones in a better location were all full.Quite a walk into town and a very long walk to the beach Though our room was clean it was basic.and had a strong aroma of cheap after shave . Breakfast was average at best .Next time we will look elsewhere closer to the town and beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JANSPEED4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashcroft Hotel
Ashcroft Hotel
#48 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Guesthouse
Dolphin Guesthouse
#38 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ashburton House
Ashburton House
#30 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brontes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brontes Guest House

Property: Brontes Guest House
Address: 135 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brontes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run guest house on North Bay near Peasholm Park and within 10 mins of beach and town centre. All rooms double glazed, centrally heated with colour TV and DVD player, hospitality tray. Excellent English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brontes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing