We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 3 Days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have just returned from the Sands Luxury Appartments. We stayed at a Sea Front Appartment (406) Kepwick House. We stayed for 3 days and everything about the place was first class. The views and the staff especially. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    74
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
428
173
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Its been a while but finally we got back to one of our favourite places last week, The Sands in Scarborough. We stayed in lockton 1 which we have stayed in before and it was great to see that the high standards have been maintained since we were last there about 15 months ago.

Staff were really helpful and our apartment was spotless with a great welcome pack. Our daughter loved it and kept asking to go to the beach which is just about 30 feet away!

The weather has very bracing (but what do you expect when there is a cold front from Siberia hitting the east coast but we were warm and cosy with a fabulous view. We ate at the Blue Crush and at the Bistro the railway, great food and then cooked and watch the sea roll in one evening. Absolutely fabulous time.

Definately will be back soon

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view, for the extra cost (which is very little) it is worth every penny. Why g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKitesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Be careful Yorkshire Water are doing major work right outside The Sands all summer
See YWA website for information.
Food at the Watermark cafe ( The Blue building on the opposite side of the road) is excelent for food quality and value. A nice woodburning stove inside.
Nisa food store is handy for thoses essential items that you forget to bring.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sands and would definitely return in the future. The staff were very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The reason The Sands only receives 4/5 is that there were major roadworks that both hindered the view and made getting around more difficult. We were only made aware of this the day before our departure and would possibly have booked somewhere else if we'd known.
The apartment was very well appointed and very comfortable and the welcome pack was appreciated. I would recommend The Sands to family and friends, I would only suggest The Sands management advise of major disruptions well in advance to give clients more options.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andyn656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed with friends in Sands while looking for a property to buy. The location is excellent with private secure parking and is just out of the hustle and bustle but close enough if you want to dip your toes. The reception staff were polite and very professional. The apartments are indeed five star with everything you need for either a short break or dare I say it a year out. I will definately be returning because it says exactly what it is and delivers all the way right through this five star rock!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeenandDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Symi, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

book last minute great reception, 5* plus apartment very relaxing, short of a local cash point but other than that FAULTLESS. For breakfast walk down the prom 100 yards on the right you will not be dissappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Sands commands a great location directly on the sea front. Loxton House is furthest away from the road. All you hear is the crashing of he waves onto the beach. The apartments are furnished to a high standard, nothing has been forgotten. They are very secure with electronic access to internal doors and the car park where you receive a designated parking space. The staff are most helpful and act on your requests without delay. Whilst there were a number of young families around we never heard any noise indoors. All in all first class. We booked at an Italian restaurant on our first night CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano, 36 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7PE, England which is Trip Advisors number one out of 178 restaurants. Must book!

Room Tip: Go for Sea Front in Loxton House. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Property: The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing