We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here as a family in 2, 2 bedroom apartments nextdoor to each other. My parents had stayed here previously and had bought the rest of the family back for a good get together. The staff were excellent and showed us up to the rooms after check in. The apartments were wonderful and had all the amenities you would require. Our rooms looked out towards the sea and the castle. There is a lending library in the reception for DVDs and WII games (WII console in the room) which is a nice touch.
This is an ideal location within an easy stroll of the sea life centre (scallby mills pub near sea life is great) and also of peasholme park. The other bay is a steady stroll of about 40min but well worth the walk.
I have stayed in Scarborough a few times before and next time We go it will defiantly be back at the sands!

Room Tip: Go for a Sea view as it is worth it
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROB-ON-HOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

I cant praise theses apartments enough.
The staff were very helpful, couteous, friendly and the communication from booking to departing superb.
The apartment we were in, Lockton 306, was excellent.
very clean, spacious,luxurious overlooking the sea.
At night we left the windows open and fell asleep to the sound of the sea crashing onto the beach. When the windows are closed you cant hear a thing.
there is everything you need in the apartment, en suite for the master bedroom, modern tv's, sound system, excellent kitchen area including dishwasher.
nice dining area overlooking the sea again.
underneath the main block there is a well stocked supermarket open until 10pm, an excellent relaxing bar and restaurant, all of the food looked outstanding and not expensive.
the bus sto is just outside and a family day return was under a tenner and you can make as many journeys as you want in that day.
donkeys on the beach close to the apartment and modernised beach huts to hire with kettle, electrictiy fridge etc.
have booked the penthouse for December and hoping to go back every 3 months now.
the scenery is superb, the beaches clean and some very nice restaurants a short walk away.
i brought brochures back with me and all that saw it on my Facebook have asked for details,cant praise it highly enough.
there is also s fully equipped gym for use.
towels, bathrobes, shower toiletries provided
bath and shower in second bedroom, shower in ensuite
a nice touch was bread, milk, jam, coffee, tea waiting for us on arrival
clean tea towels, dish washer tablets and wshing up liquid
full list of take away delivery services and local restaurants which you receive 10% discount off some
daily weather report pushed under door every morning
the beds were so so comfy and the linen/pilows complimented it perfectly to ensure a good nights sleep.
big library of DVD's to borrow free of charge, some up to date movies included.
well done to the Sands Team for making our break so enjoyable!

BOOK IT --- YOU WONT REGRET IT AND WILL RETURN!

Room Tip: insist on a sea view, we prefered Lockton house as it is the end block away from the bar and roundab...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in No'4 Lockton House. Simply out of this world. The service team go out of their way to be helpful. The apartment is very well laid out and very clean. We felt at home and enjoyed every minute. Very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyFea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Apartments spotless very modern and if you like a touch of luxury choose these.there is a small super market downstairs and also a small bar and restaurant. Staff very helpful and when we checked in my grandson was playing with a toy digger which was in the reception area. The girl told us to take it up to the apartment for him to play with which I thought was a nice touch. Very close to peashome park and our grandson loved going on the miniature railway. We did not think sealife was good value for money. The glass house restaurant next to the miniature railway was really nice and child friendly. They also have themed evening eg: murder mystery . All in all a very relaxing short break and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: You may want to pay extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackall57Bridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom sea view apartment in Lockton House. The apartment was very modern, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It has great views over looking the beach chalets towards the sea life centre.

We really cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Scarborough, this is our 6th visit and already booked the next, which is best recommendation we can give.

Room Tip: We like Lockton House, any seaview apartment will not disappoint.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was a last minute booking and our first time at The Sands. We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom sea view apartment in Lockton House. The apartment was very modern, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It has great views over looking the beach chalets towards the sea life centre. It was very peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the main road.

The apartments are in a great location for that bracing walk along the sea front but yet only a 10 minute ride onto South Bay or up to the town. Nearby attractions are Peasholm Park, Sea Life Centre, North Bay Railway and the Open Air Theatre.

These are amazing luxury apartments with fantastic views and are definitely worthy of their 5 star status. We will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Seaview a must
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Our apartment at The Sands was just what we thought - well equipped and very well placed to take in the fantastic views of the sea. The rooms were furnished nicely and clean. The main attraction though was the dramatic view from the main window of the ever-changing scene outside. It was great just to sit with a drink and take in the changes of the sea and beach. Although grey and cold, it still made for a refreshing break away from home. Would suggest that you request an apartment on a higher level to really appreciate the views.

Room Tip: Request an apartment on a higher level. Lockton House is away from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mizmoz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: £118 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing