We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were looking for a last minute break and managed to get a 2 bedroom apartment with a sea view, I have wanted to stay here for a while and heard good reviews on here and from people I know who have stayed. We stayed in Lockton house (the oval building) one floor up right above the beach. fortunately we had fantastic weather each day we were there, until a sea fret on the say we went home. it was as good as apartments you get abroad. they had a dvd and games library included in the price, which we would have probably used if the weather was bad.

The Apartment was spotlessly clean, and we really appreciated the welcome pack, and the sticks of rock were a lovely touch. You get one secure car parking space included in the price, but there were four of us for part of the stay, who brought their own car, the reception staff were able to provide us with an extra car space for the night, which we really appreciated. We would definitely stay here again. The building is really safe and secure, you need key fobs to get into the building. As it was so warm, we left the balcony door ajar at night so it was lovely to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds of the waves.

The only faults i could think of were relatively minor, the lights in the bathroom take ages to come on properly (energy saving), and as there are no windows in there it can take a good few minutes to get bright enough to see what you are doing. The twin beds in the guest room were only 2' 6" wide as opposed to regular 3' single bed widths, the other couple staying with us mentioned that they felt like they could have fallen out, the guest room could have easily fitted 2 regular sized twin beds. The mattresses were also not memory foam, and if you are used to these like I am, any other type feels too "bouncy", however as we had walked miles each day we slept really well in them.

The steps to the beach seemed to collect mud at the bottom, which could easily have been cleared and washed away. Also, be aware that Yorkshire Water are doing some major works around this area at the moment for what looks like the next few months, so there will be some obvious disruption, such as noisy digging equipment right outside the blue crush bar working Monday to Friday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    74
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
428
172
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 4 nights at The Sands having stayed in the Peasholm Penthouse (room 501 in Lockton).

Here are our thoughts on the accommodation and location:-
Pros:-
- Situated in the North Bay so much quieter than the South (a bonus for us but may not be for others)
- Beautifully appointed apartment (with only a few tweaks we would have made - more later)
- Secure parking - and in our case it was under cover so useful if it is hot
- Staff are very helpful and friendly
- Welcome pack provided and unexpected (Wholemeal loaf, jam, butter, semi-skimmed milk & sticks of rock) there for our arrival which was a nice touch
- 2 bathrooms for a 2 bedroom apartment which is very welcome
- Ability to have fresh air in our bedrooms - so often hotels/resorts have windows that only open a small crack. In our apartment both bedrooms had patio windows and as we were on the 5th floor we felt safe in leaving them open at night
- Wrap around balcony which in the penthouses is partly covered with some shade from the roof which is good if you don't want too much sun
- In the Peasholm Penthouse the sun is on the balcony (and apartment) during the day so if you don't want to venture out you can still catch some rays
- Dishwasher tabs (x2) and washing up liquid provided
- Walking distance to several things to do ie Peasholm Park, Sea Life and the North Bay Railway
- Good quality TV in the living area (didn't use the ones in the bedrooms)
- Peasholm Penthouse bedrooms are quiet at night as they are at the back of the building (at the front over the sea/beach you might find evening/night-time revellers enjoying their beers a bit of a disturbance)
- Lovely sea breezes to keep you cool
- Beds are on the firm side (but this might be a con for some?)

Cons:-
- Not quite as much of the advertised sea view as we would have liked. The Sea View Penthouse next to ours was sadly unoccupied for the 4 nights we were there even though it was not available for booking? I think this is because the apartments are individually owned and then managed by The Sands team?? We would have loved just to have had access to their bit of balcony for the view :-)
- Only 2 dressing gowns left for a 4 adult stay - we could have asked for more if wanted but as the booking asked us how may adults this should have been automatic
- No waste bins in either the bedrooms
- No cheese grater in the kitchen
- Some smaller glass tumblers would have been useful
- Car park was a little bit of a walk for my elderly parents, all be it on the flat (see my photo for distance from the apartment). If you have a lot to carry there is a luggage trolley available from reception but you have to go up into the other building to collect and return it
- WiFi wasn't great and on our last day failed, so a call to reception to get access to another router was necessary - don't expect the ability to download anything other than emails and webpages
- FreeView TV only so don't expect to necessarily get what you have at home
- Watch out for the glass cooker hood which isn't easy to see and very easy to hit with your head, eye etc if you are anything taller than 5'
- There is some kind of building / road work outside Kepwick House (the first of the two buildings) which during the day could prove noisy and a bit ugly - not sure how long this is going on for?

Final tips:-
- Get a parking disc for on-street parking in the town - free from reception
- Get a second set of keys for your apartment as you will need the security fob to get in and out of the buildings and car park
- If you are able to go to the Castle during your stay to look down over the North (and South) bay then it's well worth the effort

Room Tip: I'd try for a sea view but this might be a bit noisy too - so you have to decide what is most im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmbpboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I booked the Beach View penthouse for my wife’s birthday treat, my title says it all, we knew it was going to be special as it was on the top floor, so the views would be good, but not only was the apartment 1st class and the views, but the weather shone on us it was the hottest weekend this year, we were sat out in shorts till after 10pm drinking cold wine and beer as were 100's of people on the beach below it was like being abroad without the flight and the airport hassle, the staff in the whole complex shop, bar, reception were all extremely helpful, even unloading our car and delivering our bags to the apartment, I cannot speak highly enough of this whole set up,you only had to ask and if it were possible they sorted it, the welcome pack was a loaf, butter milk and preserves,we will be going back, there was a shortage of photo's for this apartment I hope I have now resolved this!

Room Tip: Lockton House is farthest from the road so the quietest. We neede an extra car parking space for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank videostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a great holiday at The Sands - fabulous weather and fabulous accommodation. Previous reviews gave us a good idea of what to expect and The Sands certainly lived up to our high expectations. As many reviewers have said, the accommodation is luxurious and the staff are exceptionally helpful. We requested an apartment in Lockton House on the recommendation of other reviewers and it was a good move - further away from the road and with a fabulous sea view all the way up the north bay. The welcome pack is a nice touch and it is also very convenient to have an allocated parking space although ours was next to a pillar and a little tight to get into in a large car.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view and I'd recommend asking for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbarnes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Sands is truly fabulous. These holiday flats cannot be faulted in any way. Spacious living area (living/dining/kitchen), comfortable king size bed, large on-suite. Welcome pack awaits with everyday essentials (bread, milk, tea/coffee). The balcony is an added bonus - especially if you are lucky enough to get an apartment with a sea view! Each apartment has its own designated car parking space - so need to spend ages looking ( & paying) for a place to park. Myself & my hubby will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have just come back from our stay in Lockton House for 4 nights (originally booked 3 and liked it so much we stayed another night). I still wanted to stay there but had to come home unfortunately! Definitely worth paying extra for a sea view.

Everything from the check in to the apartment was superb and it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in.

Staff very friendly, welcome pack really good. Furnishing was of a high standard and very tasteful.

When I had breakfast on the balcony every morning I felt that I was sitting amidst the waves - it was so close. I slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the waves and watched the sunrise every morning. I really miss this now I am home!

Will definitely be back and for longer next year.

Lovely beach and walks nearby - plenty to do and the cafes next to the beach do wonderful bacon baps!

All in all one of the best holidays I have had made even better by armed forces day on the Saturday with the wonderful air displays.

Room Tip: Lockton House with a sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have recently come back from a weeks stay at the one of the 3 bedroom apartments at The Sands. The apartment was very clean and spacious and the standard of fixtures and fittings is very high. You are provided with everything that you need for your stay and were even provided with a welcome pack which is great until you have time to go to the shop - which is just under the apartments. We came by car and you are allocated a secured parking space on arrival and as everything is on your doorstep we didn't need to use the car for a week. Peasholm Park is just across the road and round the corner is Northbay Railway which takes you to the Sealife Centre. You can also walk to the Sealife Centre which is very close by and can be seen from the apartments but the kids loved the mini train. It is only less than 2 miles to South Bay which took no time at all on foot and is a very pleasant walk. The highlight of our boys stay was a visit to the Military Adventure Park which is just next to the apartments where you can play Laser Battle and drive a small tank plus other activities. We can also recommend the Blue Crush Bar and Diner for a bite to eat. A great stay which we all enjoyed and the staff at the apartments are very pleasant and helpful and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Property: The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing