We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic :)”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I've just spent 2 nights at The Sands with My husband and our 2 year old granddaughter. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom sea view apartments. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome, the staff at reception were fantastic nothing was too much trouble everything was explained. We were shown to our apartment taken inside and given a tour of the place. The apartment itself was amazing there was plenty of space for our granddaughter to move around in the front room, the kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need, the en-suite was fantastic (in fact it was bigger than my bathroom at home ).
We had no problem sleeping even though they are digging up the road in front of the block we stayed in.
Everything was prefect in fact we were so impressed that when we checked out we booked to go back next year.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawntomsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    79
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
447
182
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

a truly fantastic place to stay and so clean and luxurious and friendly staff ,we stayed with 3 adults ,2 children and 2 babies and stll had loads of room,far better than a b and b,nothing too much trouble and buses right outside to take you along the sea front,amazing views from your own private balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p_patersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here from 12 to 15 September (wife and 2 year old daughter) and cannot fault the standard of the apartments and friendliness of the staff.. Had a special time. Some very nice and thoughful touches from the staff . We had one night in a non sea view and 2 nights on the first floor (room 114), looking over the sea, amazing views, pretty much all you can is sea from all the windows! (if you look directly down, you see road works though!!... It was quite entertaining watching these works... They just seem to dig a few holes all day and work REALLY slowly, only in this country can such rudimentary works go on so long... Quite noisy works and for this reason I wouldn't recommend staying sea view mid-week... The works didn't finish until after 1900 on Friday night... Nice and quiet at the weekend though). Obviosuly the owners have no control over the works hence the 5 star rating.

The north beach is nice and quiet and lovely to stroll along if the weather's ok. the aquarium is surprisingly good too and good value if you get tickets from the sands reception. If you do go to the aquarium, we can recommended the old scalby mills pub across the road, nice setting and excellent plougmans!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the sands over a long weekend, the apartment was very well appointed with modern, quality furnishings. The apartment was sparklingly clean and very well equipped for a self catering weekend. The apartments are some distance from the centre of scarbough, but in my opinion this is a good thing! The beautiful peasholme park is a very short walk, and the apartments are just a stones throw from the north bay beach. The only complaints I would make are that the car parking space (secure undercover parking) was very small and made it difficult to open the car doors! And that the apartment does not have air conditioning, which I would have expected with the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You've probably read over and over how fab this place is, and it really is!! So I won't repeat the general praise.
Room 408, and probably those either side and underneath on the third floor, are ideally placed not just for the general sea view but also for looking down the North Bay promenade, which is superb entertainment when the sea is rougher; those signs warning people are spot on, the waves crash right over the road sometimes, very exciting!
This place looks after the disabled well. Wheelchair access is dead easy. We were worried when we found we'd brought dark wet sand in onto the light coloured carpet on the wheels, but the hoover in the cupboard soon took care of that.
They'd given us all the bathroom disabled aids too, very helpful. One tip: get one in your party to check in alone first and suss out the routes before taking in the wheelchair passenger.
Sensible policy on breakages: we had two minor accidents to the very nice white crockery, which we reported immediately. We were not charged.
Exceptionally friendly staff, a credit to the organisation.
Yes, the road works are very long term, but they didn't trouble us, and noise wasn't a problem in any respect.
All in all, fab.

Room Tip: Like everyone else, SEA VIEW - well worth the extra, especially south-facing down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from apartment 416 at the Sands. This was our first visit and we'll definitely be back. The apartment has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms but the best thing is the amazing sea view from the lounge/diner. You can relax on the comfy leather sofas or on the balcony and gaze out at the sea and over to the right at the castle. Night time views are just as stunning and on a clear night the stars are amazing. The apartment is extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. Can't fault it. Only problem was noise from some works the seafront which meant we couldn't sit on the verandah during the day, which was a real shame. However the agents reimbursed part of our rental for the inconvenience so ten out of ten for customer service!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannylass54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked for four adults for two nights in a two bedroom non sea view apartment.
Quick overall summary absolutely spotless, well equipped luxury flat would definitely recommend and use again, compared to the prices that were being quoted for run down or tired B and B,s or hotels these are actually good value for the money.
Ok now as usual i will try and give some of the information i would have found usefull before i visited.
Apartments are located on the north shore right beside Peaseholm Park, on arrival you drive up to the car park entrance and use the intercom and you will be given a car park space number.Then go to reception on first floor.We were taken to our apartment by a very friendly member of the staff, ours was in the adjacent Lockton building, the ovall shaped one. All entrance doors and gates are secure and you are given a fob to open these. Our flat was on the second floor at the rear of the property, view was non existent, ie onto a hill (see photo), but we did book a non see view so no complaints, you can book see views but they cost extra, if you are going to spend some time in the apartment then i would recommend paying the extra foe a view, but its not a deal breaker by any means.
Apartments are large and very well furnished everything you need is there, ie pots, pans, plates dishwasher etc so although they seem a bit pricy to start if you want to eat in then that could save you money. Good wifi conection free of charge , initially i had a problem connecting but a quick phone call sorted it with the lady even offering to pop over to the apartment to sort it for me. All rooms are very well finished, with tv, stereo, wifi, wi, dvd player all there for your use, they rent out dvd,s and wi games, did not use but for your info it says they only have one controller for each apartment so if you are taking kids may be worth while taking your own controller.
There is a cafe and a bar/diner below attached to the complex both with reasonable prices and a nisi store for everyday basics also in the same building.We got a taxi to the main town centre and it cost £5.If you dont know Scarborough then this is the quieter side so if you want pubs and night life you will have to walk or taxi over to the other side. The apartments are literally right on the beach, perhaps a walk of 15 feet or so.
So to sum up very very impressed by them and will definitely use again, when compared to what we were going to pay for B and B,s then these are a much better option as you can pop back for a rest or even stay in for a rest mid week if you are there all week.
Final quick point for your info the apartments are privately owned and just managed by the company renting them so your contract is stated as being with the owners not the management company.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for a sea view, if you are going to be in the apartment for any m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheapandcheerfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Property: The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Address: Kepwick House Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing