We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B but don't expect a lie-in!”
Review of Shorehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shorehouse B&B
Ranked #84 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B but don't expect a lie-in!”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Arriving at Shorehouse, we were impressed with the peaceful location, friendly owner and stylish decor. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was large and modern, with an excellent shower. The only downside was that the curtains didn't close fully, which on a sunny weekend meant we were woken before 6am. However, with breakfast only served from 8-9, perhaps this wasn't such a bad thing! Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice and fresh ingredients - we just would have liked to enjoy it a little later, as we were on holiday. Other than these two small niggles, it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Whatever takes you to Scarborough, be it surfing, business or just a getaway weekend, this is the place to stay. This was our second visit to Shorehouse and we went hoping it was going to be as good as our first. We were not disappointed. The rooms are unbelievable for the price and breakfast is a locally produced feast. We used Shorehouse as a base for a walking holiday so it was nice to come back to an immaculate room with great bathroom and shower to get ready for our night out. The owners are extremely knowledgable of the area but not intrusive which we found to be the perfect combination. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Free parking is readily available right outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

What a lovely place to stay when in scarborough, top of the mount, and a little treck into town but worth it. Zoe is just the best host, fantastic breakfast and the rooms a fantatstic, so nice you don;t want to go out.
No food as it's b n b, but otherwise excellent. wil be using again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthomp52Ramsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at Shorehouse Guest House we booked direct and spoke to Zoe who was very welcoming and a superb host. The house was beautiful and we stayed on the top floor in the suite, which I may say when booking ensure you pay that little extra for this suite as its spacious and a lovely room. I would definately stay here again, even if visiting other area's use this as a base. Breakfast was great nothing wasnt to much trouble for Zoe. The house was warm and welcoming with a homely feel to our stay. We stayed two nights I could have stayed longer, this the best guest house I have stayed in its overs three floors beautifully decorated, spotless clean and it has a lovely feel the the house as you walk in.

Its a good central area with parking outside the front, we will be staying here again and look forward to seeing Zoe next time we are in scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Shorehouse in August 2010. The house is beautiful throughout, the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a delightful stay in the bed and breakfast which is perfectly located for all the amenities of Scarborough being only a short and enjoyable walk away.

The owner was most helpful with everything she did and the choice available for breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We've just returned from a 4 day break at Shorehouse and we were delighted with our choice of accommodation. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a modern, well equipped bathroom. It was a quiet location just off the South Cliff and an easy walk into town. The street parking was very easy and we parked very close to the house every day. Breakfast was lovely, all freshly cooked, home made preserves, a good selection of cereals and fruit and rounded off with some really good coffee.

Zoe was very hospitable and recommended lots of places to visit and eat and helped us with all our enquiries.

This was our first visit to Scarborough and we loved it. We came away refreshed and relaxed and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EofClanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In my living room
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The Shorehouse B&B in Scarborough is maintained to a very high standard. Spotlessly clean, well furnished and ideally situated far enough out of town to avoid the hustle and bustle of a seaside town but close enough for a steady walk (15-20 minutes) into the town centre or the promenade and harbour.
there is plenty of free on street parking in the area and i managed to park right outside the front gate throughout my stay.
As you enter Shorehouse through the front door you are met by Zoe (the hostess) who will direct you to your room with a genuine friendliness.
My room looked brand new with crisp white linen on a very comfortable double bed and in the ensuite bathroom was a large walk-in shower.
there are several breakfast options available, either self service cereals and toast or a choice of cooked breakfasts prepared to your liking by Zoe.
must be one of the best value B&Bs in the area

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mountview
The Mountview
#65 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#91 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorehouse B&B

Property: Shorehouse B&B
Address: 52 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing