We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shorehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shorehouse B&B
Ranked #75 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
notts
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Paul & Julie Nottinghamshire:
Spent a full week during August in the Shorehouse B&B can not recommend this enough. Room spotless, spacious, beautifully decorated to a very high standard, on suite absolutely fantastic.
Breakfast brilliant with plenty of choice from the full cooked English breakfast to the variety of fresh fruit, cereals, breads and pastries etc.
Completely disagree with Travellers5709 as Zoe was very welcoming helpful and pleasant. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend in Scarborough staying in the Shorehouse B+B. First impressions were very impressive and Zoe was very welcoming. She showed us around before showing us to our fantastic room. The room was very spacious, clean, modern etc. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and every need was catered for. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend it to a friend. Made our weekend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Previous good experience at Shorehouse brought us back again this summer. It was a lst minute booking but Zoe was able to accommodate us in a lovely top floor room - as previously, everything appeared newly decorated and fresh. The bed was large and comfortable, the ensuite was very modern with a large shower enclosure, and the hospitality tray was well stocked. Free wi/fi continues to be available, although it did tend to drop out a bit - probably because the room is some distance from the router.

Breakfast was once again marvellous - choice of cerials/fruit, choice of full English (any variation you want), toast, and freshly made unlimited tea/coffee. A good start to the day.

Zoe was again the consumate host - she remembers guests and their names, and was once again anxious to help with any planning/directions/eating out needs.

Parking is free, easy, and convenient. It's a short walk to the sea front, and buses are nearby too.

We were made very welcome and look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: It's a long climb to the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalifaxThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Once they've cashed your deposit cheque they don't seem to want you there breakfast is only served 8-9 am and seems to be an inconvenience this can only be because they really dont want you to have breakfast and they expect you to check in at the exact time that they state then call you up if your late.they couldn't do any more to make you feel unwelcome. Lovely clean room but not hospitable at all. Giving British b&b hospitality a bad name. The owner couldn't even be bothered to phone us a cab.
Seems they're only interested in your money. The owners shouldn't be in the hospitality industry because they are purely motivated by the money. For a mere £10 more you can stay at the crown plaza which is far more hospitable and more welcoming. I would never stay here again even though the rooms are lovely the owners aren't.
Once you see past the nice decor you soon realise you are a mere inconvenience to Zoe because she's already cashed the cheque. Even when I asked for a confirmation email I never received one then when I asked again I was told by Zoe "I've already sent this" - very rude I've never experienced such poor hospitality. Remember - don't inconvenience Zoe with your presence

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller5709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Easy on street parking, building looks nice and clean on arrival. The owner greeted us on arrival, very friendly and approachable and gave us information about the local area and restaurants. Our room was large and clean with a great en-suit bathroom. We felt very comfortable there (and not at all like we were in someone else's house). If we go back to scarborough again we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We reviewed this B & B on TripAdviser and it was as described - an excellent place to stay, lovely room and Zoe was very helpful as to where to visit. Breakfast was delicious and much thought had gone in to making guests feel welcome. Would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B when visiting Scarborough, we really enjoyed our visit to this part of England.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PR123Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Thanks to previous favourable Tripadvisor reviews, we found this little gem. Located five minutes' walk from the famous cliff lift, the room was of the highest standard and very reasonably priced. We stayed in a deluxe room which had a large, comfortable bed, a quality bathroom and spacious seating area. Being picky, I looked at the pipes under the sink to find that they were totally spotless- not a scrap of dust anywhere. Zoe was an extremely welcoming and helpful host, making us feel totally at home. Breakfasts are a real highlight with high quality, plentiful produce. I would not hesitate to recommend Shorehouse to other visitors to Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granvillesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#44 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mountview
The Mountview
#56 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorehouse B&B

Property: Shorehouse B&B
Address: 52 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing