We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable surroundings - Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #27 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable surroundings - Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Booked last minute as we fancied a couple of days away by the sea, on booking in was asked if I had a car, as I would need a display card to park outside the hotel. Once checked in we were shown to our room by the owners who were informative about things in the local area whilst being very friendly, we were told if there was anything else we needed help with then they would be happy to assist and you could tell that they really mean't it. We were booked into room five which is at the front of the property, the proportions of the room were lovely, it was nicely decorated, light, and bright with a large bay window and some really nice original features. This room had both a double and single bed as well as another bed which could be set up to make it into a family room for 4 people. The facilities in the room included an ensuite with shower, TV plenty of storage space and good quality hot drinks making facilities. There were nice touches in the room such as fresh milk to have with your hot drinks and large bottles of Bayliss & Harding toiletries in the bathroom so you didn't need to skimp on the shower gel. Eventhough we were at the front of the hotel it was lovely and quiet and we had a very restful nights sleep which was aided by the nice quality bedding and pillows.

Breakfast was well presented & freshly prepared, there was a choice of cerals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, toast and of course the good old full english breakfast. Once you were seated in the dining room you could choose what you would like, all hot food was then prepared in the adjecent kitchen and despatched through a rather nifty serving hatch to your table, even the jams and butter were feshly served at the table - no naff individual plastic portions here!!

We also had an evening meal in house on one of the evenings we were there the menu provided a variety of good homemade locally produced fayre with something for everyone all at a very reasonable price, the inhouse bar also mean't that we could enjoy a nice glass of wine to go with the meal. We both had the individual steak and ale pudding which was lovely.

The area was nice and quiet, easy to get to the town centre and the sea front , and easy to find.This hotel provides you will a combination of the surroundings of a traditional victorian villa with those extra touches to make our stay more comfortable, it may not have all the modern touches that you would get in one of the faceless big chain hotels but the proprietors made you feel so welcome that I would definately choose to stay here again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have good proportions
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trundle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
80
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Booked for the wifes birthday. On arriving was welcomed by the propriater. On booking in was asked if I had a car, as I would need a display card if not using my car. After booking in was shown to the room, which was well laid out, Was advised about the nice places that we could go to for a meal and places of interest. Was also told if we wanted any help with anything, just to ask and they would be happy to help. There was no time limit as to when we had to be back, which was very good. Breakfast for the 2 days we were there was very nice. Was met at the dining room, shown to the table and asked what we would like for breakfast. Declined the tomato and mushroom, as these are things I do not eat. The food that I and my wife had was well presented and tasted really nice. This was all done in a polite and frienly manner. The area was nice and quiet, easy to get to the town centre from, and easy to find. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very last minute booking. On entering house it had the feel of a nursing home, very dark and cluttered with bits n bobs. They demanded we pay up front in cash for two nights and forty pounds extra as we had a baby. The room was up three flights of stairs, they didn't offer to help with my two suitcases so had to carry them one at a time myself. Room was so small we could only open our suitcases one at a time and was full of old furniture. On last day we were told to make sure we left at ten as owner had a busy day, he also told us off about not eating our tomatoes on the previous days breakfast as he hated to waste food. While we were having breakfast the owner entered our room to start cleaning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mumadali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Very friendly owners, very helpful and able to recommend places to go and things to do. Room lovely and clean. Breakfasts fantastic - good wholesome home cooking! Vegetarians catered for. Nice quiet area of the town. No complaints at all, we had a lovely time and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lds369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#24 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#19 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#23 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#47 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 53 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish is an eight bed roomed 4* Self Assessed Guest house situated in the South Cliff Area of Scarborough. We are approximately 5 mins walk away from the Spa complex and the South Beach and a 15 minute leisurely walk into Scarborough town centre. The guest house has been owned and run since November 2011 by Robert and Joanna who pride themselves on their good food and hospitality. The Cavendish has a guest lounge, bar and dining room. All rooms are en-suite with showers and equipped with flat screen T.V, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryers and clock radio-alarms. Parking is on street and all parking permits required for the duration of your stay are provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing