We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new retreat”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #23 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Joanna & Rob are 2 of the nicest people you could meet, and made looking after you and your needs effortless. Their guest house is immaculately clean and my single room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in, your complimentary drinks tray is well stocked with a variety of teas/coffees and the best bit is there is fridges with fresh milk based on the landing so no struggling with little tubs of sterilised milk. The most strenuous thing I had to do while I was there was to get Rob to do me a "small" breakfast which isn't in his vocabulary lol. I would highly recommend this beautiful guest house to all types of visitors to the area - I will definitely be visiting in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Cavendish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our first ever stay in this ideally located hotel owned by Jo and Rob who treat their guests like they have known you for years. As soon as you walk in you sense 'homely' and even though our room was on the top floor it was so light, airy and comfortable. Ironing facilities and a fridge on each floor and it was no trouble to supply us with Soya milk.
Their full English breakfast, exquisite and their knowledge of the resort and surrounding area/attractions is valuable. We said we would return without doubt and we've booked September again this year 2013 and looking forward to it very much and like going back to see old friends.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any room unsuitable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Very friendly owners. Excellent position for the Esplanade and a short stroll into town and the beach.Immaculate bedrooms with extra touches eg. bowl of sweets, make-up remover and moisturiser and plenty of space. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. The breakfasts were enormous and freshly cooked, high quality produce. We didn't try the evening meals but they sounded very tempting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Cavendish is a warm wonderful gem of a place, not too far from a genltle stroll into town or a short walk to the sea front.
The hosts Jo and Rob were very friendly and welcoming! Nothing was too much trouble for these two hosts.
Rooms were bright, airy and quiet, there were toiletries and little touches like a dish of sweets- great for my husband who has a sweet tooth! The breakfast was superb with fresh fruit , yoghurt , nuts etc, and a delicious full English breakfast to follow!
We booked for the evening meal wich I really couldn't fault , Fresh fish (not battered or crumbed) in a delicious prawn sauce with loads of fresh vegetables, The puddings were sumptious I had summer pudding with a creamy Eton Mess with fresh strawberries (enough for two really ) and my husband had homemade cheesecake with Mascapone ice cream.
A very reasonably priced hotel well worth a visit! Will be coming back here soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We received a very warm welcome from owners Rob and Joanna when we booked in for a recent long weekend. The Cavendish is a lovely old victorian building situated a few minutes walk from the sea front and the rooms are spacious well furnished and very comfortable. We both indulged in the massive full english breakfast and I can certainly recommend the award winning black pudding!. We ate here a couple of times in the evening and the food ( everything is locally sourced ) is an absolute delight. There is even a small bar in the dining room with a good selection of very reasonably priced bottled real ales, happy days indeed. We will definitely stay at this guesthouse again and yes, the sun really did shine in Scarborough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Cavendish is a reasonably- priced hotel off the Esplanade in Scarborough, so within a few hundred yards of the sea. Jo and Robert are lovely, and made the trip feel like staying with friends. Breakfast included a platter of fresh fruit, cereals with nuts and dried fruits to add, and full English for those who wanted it. I had the evening meal on the first night, and it was delicious. I parked outside the hotel (may not be quite so easy in the main season) and Jo provided me with a parking ticket to display in the car. The hotel is pleasantly decorated, there is a lounge with guide books, there was tea, coffee, biscuits and a bowl of sweets in the room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This Hotel is a real gem with easy parking and gentle walk into Scarborough. Jo and Rob are lovely hosts and you're always well looked after. The room I stopped in was well furnished and the bed comfortable to sleep in. The breakfast is a real treat with a good choice of items available for every taste. Didn't have time to try the evening meal but it smelt fantastic. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner_Garfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#25 of 184 in Scarborough
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#58 of 184 in Scarborough
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#12 of 184 in Scarborough
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: 53 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish is an eight bed roomed 4* Self Assessed Guest house situated in the South Cliff Area of Scarborough. We are approximately 5 mins walk away from the Spa complex and the South Beach and a 15 minute leisurely walk into Scarborough town centre. The guest house has been owned and run since November 2011 by Robert and Joanna who pride themselves on their good food and hospitality. The Cavendish has a guest lounge, bar and dining room. All rooms are en-suite with showers and equipped with flat screen T.V, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryers and clock radio-alarms. Parking is on street and all parking permits required for the duration of your stay are provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing