We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would definitly go back and we have!!”
Review of Howdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howdale
Ranked #41 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would definitly go back and we have!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Been going to Louisa & Kevins since about 2007 a couple of times a year. Everything is Spot on and spotless, Takes a very hungry person to best Kevin's breakfast. First Class!
Cheers Mike & Peggy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedgyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

First time we had been to this hotel, The service was excellent. Louisa and Kevin are first class hosts, and go out of there way to cater for our needs.The breakfast was excellent and plentiful with so much choice. (going on a diet now ha ) The rooms was immaculately clean with a shower room, comfy bed, T v, Hair dryer, Toiletries, Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate, and Biscuits Replenished every day, which was a plus having come back in from walking lots in the day. The town Centre which is about 15 minutes walk, Or you can get the open top bus from the sea front to the south pier and walk through the back streets costing £2 each.
We also had a sea view room, with a beautiful view of the north bay, with only the sound of the waves to relax us. All in all we had a first class, good valued holiday, and will be returning.
Thanks Louisa & Kevin

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had a short break here and cannot fault the standard of cleanliness and the excellent breakfasts, and the fantastic view from the bedroom, just one or two niggles, no replenishment of biscuits and toiletries after the first day. also the bathrooms could do with updating, a very small bath with shower attachment, a shower cubicle would be better, especially for older couples which this hotel seems to cater more for, apart from that we had a very nice break and would recommend this hotel as very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakewell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My wife HELEN & I would not stay anywere else.You are always made welcome.
The rooms are always spotless.The beds are Comfortable.Great breakfast with plenty of
choice. The location is ideal with good views of the north bay, but quiet so you get a good nights sleep. There is good off street parking at the front

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodfornowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

A warm welcome awaits you at this lovely spotlessly clean hotel , nothing is too much trouble for the hosts , fantastic sea views over north bay , lots of nice paths for long walks great night life , all in all a very pleasent stay ,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tedward65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Second time we've stayed.Warm welcome,if possible try for top floor seaward side,the view is well worth the climb upstairs !
Comfy clean room and lovely breakfast.Adequate parking and plenty to see in Scarborough.
Motorcyclists try the nearby Helmsley to Stokesley road, a good scenic route with plenty of bends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adew_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My wife Sandra and I love this hotel. We have been many times. Louisa and Kevin make you very welcome. The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard and the breakfasts are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dellboyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#62 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#121 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#34 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catania Hotel
Catania Hotel
#104 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howdale

Property: Howdale
Address: 121 Queen's Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howdale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a friendly, spotlessly clean place to stay in Scarborough with five star breakfasts, free parking and stunning views, then you've found it... Welcome to the Howdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing