We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Maynard
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$149
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$179
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$84
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$163
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
160
43
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
43
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpruneswarm welcomelovely weekendfantastic hostsspa complexnothing is too much troubletea coffee making facilitiesfull english breakfasta great stayspent two nightscomfortable bedtown centreenjoyed our staycouple of nightseach morningexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A friend and I booked one night at the Maynard Hotel, Scarborough, as a base to visit a nearby music festival last weekend (late June 2013).

We were welcomed into the hotel by our very friendly host, Angelia, who gave us our keys, told us "house keeping" policies and directed us to our room. Our room was a twin bedded room featuring amenities such as tea/coffee making facilities, a colour television, wardrobe and wash basin. The en-suite bathroom featured a shower cubicle and toilet. Additionally, our room was on the top floor and quite a trek, up a number of flights of stairs (keep this is mind if staying at the Maynard with young children, prams or for those persons with limited walking ability).

Our twin room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and the Maynard proved to be ideally situated for visiting the lovely town of Scarborough and the surrounding area. If I had one criticism it would be that the Maynard Hotel is in need of a little modernisation: it is beautifully clean and well-maintained but the garishly patterned floral upholstery may not be to everyone's taste!

As for breakfast, again, we were met by Stuart in the dining room where a choice of hot and cold breakfasts were on offer. Guests were able to choose from a selection of cereals and fruit juices in addition to toast, full-English breakfasts or lighter breakfast baps. The service in the breakfast dining room was excellent. Plates and cutlery were spotlessly clean and the Maynard team cleared away empty breakfast plates at once.

Although in need of a little updating I cannot fault the service, accommodation or breakfast we received at the Maynard Hotel. The hosts, Angelia and Stuart, work tirelessly hard and have been successful in making the Maynard a real home-from-home. Great value and, should I ever return to Scarborough, I'd be happy to stay again for a short break.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on a low floor if visiting with young children, prams or anyone with limited walking. Additionally, I'd recommend closing the windows at night - the Scarborough seagulls can be quite vocal at all hours of the night/morning!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrayOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The wife and I have just had a fantastic weekend in Scarborough and The Maynard Hotel was a delight, Stuart and Angelia were superb hosts, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a friendly smile, our room (number 10) was spotlessly clean and the breakfast top notch.
We will definitely be back. Thanks again, Russ & Helen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at The Maynard end of may midweek with a groupon deal. Good value for money owners gave us a warm welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. We did have a room at the top, 67 steps my daughter counted! It was very spacious and comfortable. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we arrived at the hotel and was greeted warmly by the owner who gave us our keys and said the rooms were the same .
the couple we were with had disabilities so we gave the the keys to room six which was a floor below ours which was room 11.
the room itself was ok very dated tho , the mattress was old and the wardrobe and drawers were very old which again we didn't mind but when we entered the bathroom it was the size of a small broom cupboard .
when you sat on the loo the wall in front of you was about 7 inches from you and your arms touched the shower and the wall on either side of you . there was a rusty old metal wire shelf which was about a foot above the toilet with the glass tumblers to rinse your mouth out health n safety not good.
hanging from the top of the shower there was a all i c an describe as a radiator metal wire airer rack which was holding ( just) the towels again one wrong move and they would poss be in the loo it was very very poor and we was glad to get home to have a proper shower . the breakfast was top quality and the lounge area was good altho dated .
the owners said when we was leaving there was the ten pound sat supplement to pay which i had no idea about i explained that i wasn't told of it when i rang up but i was okay paying it . when i mentioned the room and the bathroom to him he walked away from me without a apology or sorry of any kind .
if you read my views on hotels bnbs wherever i have been i am always fair and i am sorry but it was the worst bathroom i have used in any of the hotels i have been to on my travels ....

Room Tip: dont accept room 11 room 6 was ok
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Oh dear first of all thank you for your review we appreciate all comments good and bad, we are sorry that your Groupon voucher deal ie £69.00 for a 2 night stay for 2 people inc breakfast with a £10.00 supplement for Sat stays did not come up to your expectations!
The room that you were allocated was a standard double room, as stated on the voucher that you purchased ,the en suite bathroom is compact but quite adequate for a 2 night stay, had you have requested a superior room at the time of booking then we would have offered you a superior room on a different tariff.
when you were asked if everything was ok with your room you said it was , you came into our bar that night at midnight and expected to be served, we allowed you to join us and our friends. and at no point did you complain of anything, the only time you got upset was when Stuart told you that there was a £10.00 supp due for the Sat night.
All the terms and conditions for the Groupon deal were on the Voucher and you agreed to these on purchase of the voucher from Groupon, i feel that all your complaint could have been avoided if you had followed the instructions on the voucher and printed it out.
i am sorry that you feel the need to review our guesthouse in this way, and i will not comment on the things you have said suffice to say our other reviewers obviously feel different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

just got back from the maynard brilliant 2 days stuart and angela could'nt do enough for you lovely brekkie both mornings had a drink in the evening with them at the maynard bar.. only thing i would say is we were in room 12, 4 flights to climb a bit hard on the old knnes even harder when u have had a drink lol..try the fish bar in town beautiful a bit pricey but worth every penny it was our anniversary so didnt mind and the best fish chips and mushy peas was from the lord roseberry the witherspoons in town beautiful also for a night out go to the merchant down the hill before u hit the seafront the group in there are called dirty beach fab singers young lads nice atmosphere enjoy(:x

Room Tip: if u have problems with your legs ask for a lower room number no lift
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

thank you Jill for the lovely review we enjoyed your company and hope to see you both again in the future.....ring first for that lower room!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews