We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Weekend Away”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #52 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
2 reviews
“A Lovely Weekend Away”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Maynard from Friday to Sunday and had a lovely time. The room was a very generous size and very clean. There were tea/coffee making facilities and TV and it was a very comfortable room. The breakfast was of high standard and a good choice of food was available. Stuart was very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed our weekend away and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 10 and it was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    43
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Easter, arriving early but still receiving a very warm welcome. Parking was dealt with efficiently and the cost was very reasonable. Our room although a little "twee" was very clean and comfortable. The Facilities were very good eg TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities etc. Breakfast was of a high quality and cooked to a high standard with a smile.
The Maynard is very well placed to explore Scarborough and we will return without any question.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anlaby-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A friend and I booked one night at the Maynard Hotel, Scarborough, as a base to visit a nearby music festival last weekend (late June 2013).

We were welcomed into the hotel by our very friendly host, Angelia, who gave us our keys, told us "house keeping" policies and directed us to our room. Our room was a twin bedded room featuring amenities such as tea/coffee making facilities, a colour television, wardrobe and wash basin. The en-suite bathroom featured a shower cubicle and toilet. Additionally, our room was on the top floor and quite a trek, up a number of flights of stairs (keep this is mind if staying at the Maynard with young children, prams or for those persons with limited walking ability).

Our twin room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and the Maynard proved to be ideally situated for visiting the lovely town of Scarborough and the surrounding area. If I had one criticism it would be that the Maynard Hotel is in need of a little modernisation: it is beautifully clean and well-maintained but the garishly patterned floral upholstery may not be to everyone's taste!

As for breakfast, again, we were met by Stuart in the dining room where a choice of hot and cold breakfasts were on offer. Guests were able to choose from a selection of cereals and fruit juices in addition to toast, full-English breakfasts or lighter breakfast baps. The service in the breakfast dining room was excellent. Plates and cutlery were spotlessly clean and the Maynard team cleared away empty breakfast plates at once.

Although in need of a little updating I cannot fault the service, accommodation or breakfast we received at the Maynard Hotel. The hosts, Angelia and Stuart, work tirelessly hard and have been successful in making the Maynard a real home-from-home. Great value and, should I ever return to Scarborough, I'd be happy to stay again for a short break.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on a low floor if visiting with young children, prams or anyone with lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrayOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The wife and I have just had a fantastic weekend in Scarborough and The Maynard Hotel was a delight, Stuart and Angelia were superb hosts, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a friendly smile, our room (number 10) was spotlessly clean and the breakfast top notch.
We will definitely be back. Thanks again, Russ & Helen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at The Maynard end of may midweek with a groupon deal. Good value for money owners gave us a warm welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. We did have a room at the top, 67 steps my daughter counted! It was very spacious and comfortable. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we arrived at the hotel and was greeted warmly by the owner who gave us our keys and said the rooms were the same .
the couple we were with had disabilities so we gave the the keys to room six which was a floor below ours which was room 11.
the room itself was ok very dated tho , the mattress was old and the wardrobe and drawers were very old which again we didn't mind but when we entered the bathroom it was the size of a small broom cupboard .
when you sat on the loo the wall in front of you was about 7 inches from you and your arms touched the shower and the wall on either side of you . there was a rusty old metal wire shelf which was about a foot above the toilet with the glass tumblers to rinse your mouth out health n safety not good.
hanging from the top of the shower there was a all i c an describe as a radiator metal wire airer rack which was holding ( just) the towels again one wrong move and they would poss be in the loo it was very very poor and we was glad to get home to have a proper shower . the breakfast was top quality and the lounge area was good altho dated .
the owners said when we was leaving there was the ten pound sat supplement to pay which i had no idea about i explained that i wasn't told of it when i rang up but i was okay paying it . when i mentioned the room and the bathroom to him he walked away from me without a apology or sorry of any kind .
if you read my views on hotels bnbs wherever i have been i am always fair and i am sorry but it was the worst bathroom i have used in any of the hotels i have been to on my travels ....

Room Tip: dont accept room 11 room 6 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Oh dear first of all thank you for your review we appreciate all comments good and bad, we are sorry that your Groupon voucher deal ie £69.00 for a 2 night stay for 2 people inc breakfast with a £10.00 supplement for Sat stays did not come up to your expectations!
The room that you were allocated was a standard double room, as stated on the voucher that you purchased ,the en suite bathroom is compact but quite adequate for a 2 night stay, had you have requested a superior room at the time of booking then we would have offered you a superior room on a different tariff.
when you were asked if everything was ok with your room you said it was , you came into our bar that night at midnight and expected to be served, we allowed you to join us and our friends. and at no point did you complain of anything, the only time you got upset was when Stuart told you that there was a £10.00 supp due for the Sat night.
All the terms and conditions for the Groupon deal were on the Voucher and you agreed to these on purchase of the voucher from Groupon, i feel that all your complaint could have been avoided if you had followed the instructions on the voucher and printed it out.
i am sorry that you feel the need to review our guesthouse in this way, and i will not comment on the things you have said suffice to say our other reviewers obviously feel different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

just got back from the maynard brilliant 2 days stuart and angela could'nt do enough for you lovely brekkie both mornings had a drink in the evening with them at the maynard bar.. only thing i would say is we were in room 12, 4 flights to climb a bit hard on the old knnes even harder when u have had a drink lol..try the fish bar in town beautiful a bit pricey but worth every penny it was our anniversary so didnt mind and the best fish chips and mushy peas was from the lord roseberry the witherspoons in town beautiful also for a night out go to the merchant down the hill before u hit the seafront the group in there are called dirty beach fab singers young lads nice atmosphere enjoy(:x

Room Tip: if u have problems with your legs ask for a lower room number no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuWalker, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
thank you Jill for the lovely review we enjoyed your company and hope to see you both again in the future.....ring first for that lower room!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 182 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#56 of 182 in Scarborough
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#94 of 182 in Scarborough
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 182 in Scarborough
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing