We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel

Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days in January and can't sing its praises enough. The hotel itself was warm and inviting with a very welcoming and calming atmosphere. The room I stayed in was very pleasant, each room is named after a precious stone and ours was the emerald room. There were great little touches such as a poem about emeralds and the decor kept in keeping with the theme. All the staff were very helpful and always greeted us with a warm smile which made us feel at home. Although I didn't partake in any of the treatments, I heard nothing but good reviews and intend to return to experience them in the near future. The hotel is located a short walk from the bay and there is a lovely park just down the road. So if your looking for a relaxing break which offers real hospitality and a chance to unwind, then I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theprimesuspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

It was my first visit to this hotel. I found it clean and very quiet. Helen and the team were very welcoming and made me feel at home. There were countless treatments available so I opted for the Thai massage and would recommend it to everyone.
The breakfast was was very healthy including different types of cereals. toasts and the option of having scrambled or poached eggs.
The Emerald room was spacious and comfortable. The room was an ensuite room with a clean toilet and shower which was very easy to operate.

Room Tip: The Emerald was a a very quiet room room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Helen runs what seem as though they were two boarding houses side by side in a manner far removed from that ethos. Tranquility envelops you as you walk through the door and whoever is on duty has a genuine smile and a real greeting. Helen's mum even lives in the building and emerges for a chat. The ground floor is dedicated to health and a light spirituality that is never allowed to be overpowering - and to breakfast for which there is ample vegetarian choice including poached eggs. I always cook my mushrooms and tomatoes with garlic at home and asked if Helen did. She doesn't normally but next day that was how I was offered them and delicious they were. I was in Scarborough for two nights of Alan Ayckborn plays and three days of the Jazz Festival so I made sure I booked in for 6 massages including an early one on my day of departure. As I'm almost seventy and have been too sedentary my muscles need freeing up. I was progressed through a gentle start to some hard remedial work by a series of therapists chosen by and including Helen in various coloured rooms. During the day on Monday I wanted to read and write and used the comfortable lounge undisturbed beyond the offer of freshly brewed coffee. My bedroom was named after a gemstone rather than numbered as they all are and was of luxury hotel quality, space, comfort and ambience with an easy to operate and effective shower. The cost of bed, breakfast and a daily massage were less together than I have paid many times for a room alone in an anonymous tenement masquerading as a hotel - overall an ideal destination if you want to be thoroughly spoiled on a limited budget within a short walk of station, park, beach and buses.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good quality and tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROYC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here and loved every minute. I have stayed before both by myself and with a different friend and always come away feeling refreshed and relaxed. I usually have a full body massage but all the treatments seem to be really beneficial. My friend had a facial and said she could recommend that. All in all a fantastic few days. Thank you Helen.

Room Tip: all rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We came for a short 3 day break to fountains court and have come away feeling relaxed and revived. Food is simple, healthy and nutritious, rooms are lovely and cosy, and treatments are relaxing and beneficial. I received Hopi ear candles, and a massage from a long list of different options. Well satisfied! It was relaxing and calming, I would defiantly recommend to anyone to visit fountains court. Thank you Helen!

Room Tip: Any is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

What a brilliant couple of days, we have just had. I had reflexoligy, back massage and head and shoulder massage, all while my husband was out diving. We stayed in Amber, not a big room but a very restful room. The whole house has a peaceful feel. And Helen and her staff are great. I was a bit wary of a vegitarian breakfast, but there was more than enough to eat and all fresh. If you want a sausage have a sausage, if you want veg have veg, but I just cannot get my head round a vegitarian sausage. (contradiction in terms). We really enjoyed our stay, only about ten of fifteen mins walk from town(leave the car). I will certailly be booking another visit .
Thanks Helen for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having stayed at Fountains Court 7 times over the last 4 years, Helen and her lovely staff make me feel most welcome. I need a place where I get lovely treatments(booked with professional therapists, as is owner Helen) have simple but delicious vegetarian food and a comfortable bed. I am looked after and come away feeling so much better. I can use any of the hotel facilities eg Zen garden, hot tub, sauna and quiet lounge. In all Fountains hotel is an oasis of calm and friendliness This is one place I can go on my own and not feel intimidated. Helen and Staff do all they can to fit in with your personal needs. I love it there and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Twin bedded Jade Room at rear of Hotel is comfy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atownson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel

Property: Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Address: Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing