We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming small hotel, relaxing break”

Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very welcoming small hotel, relaxing break”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We really enjoyed our visit to the Fountains Court. Helen and Jilly made us feel very welcome without being at all intrusive. The location is excellent - on a quiet road, just 3 mins walk from Peasholm Valley, about 6 to the seafront. The hotel is very clean and well-renovated, the sauna and hot tub very welcome, free additions to a weekend break. Our included veggie breakfast was very good and there was ample choice. And the little dog, Badger, is adorable! We didn't have time to try out any of the treatments on offer, but had a quick tour of the treatment rooms, and they were very modern, light and attractive. We didn't eat in the hotel, apart from breakfast, but what we saw others having looked very tasty, and there was plenty of choice. We'd highly recommend Le Chat Noir for a great, authentic French meal around 15 mins walk away. And we managed to get tickets for the Steven Joseph Theatre at the last minute for just £6 (ask for stand-by tickets). All in all, a wonderful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisymaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
11
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We have just returned from a one night stay at Fountains court and we would have loved a second night. The hotel was spotlesslessly clean and everything is done simply but to a very high standard. We enjoyed the hot tub on the evening we arrived, a calm evening with the gulls flying over head. We were given an excellent recommendation for dinner and spent a delightful night. The atmosphere was calm and peaceful. We had a great breakfast and both received treatments which were to a very good standard and well priced. We just had time for the sauna before moving on. We will return as soon as we can for a longer stay.
Helen really cared and belived in what she was doing and it showed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Very relaxing, clean and comfortable hotel just the tonic if you need to get away for while with an excellent treatment centre and facilities on site. Food wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowles-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Fountains Court Hotel is a small, intimate hotel and has the feel of a ‘wellness’ focussed B&B. The rooms are nicely decorated, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and Helen, the owner, made us feel so welcome that we even found ourselves slipping up and referring to the hotel as ‘home’ a couple of times.

I discovered this haven of peace and tranquillity more by luck than good planning as I was actually searching the internet for possible overseas holidays with the added ‘pamper’ factor such as a spa or health retreat. I had always holidayed abroad and I must admit that my husband looked a bit dubious when I suggested Scarborough instead of somewhere like Dubai or Cyprus but thankfully we didn’t regret our decision for a moment!

Our main focus in choosing a holiday destination this year was somewhere that offered a quiet, kid free environment (not an easy task in the middle of the Easter holidays!) with the opportunity to relax and unwind, have some treatments and yet still be able to go out and enjoy more active pursuits if the mood took us. I am pleased to say that our stay at Fountains Court ticked all of these boxes and, as well as some heavenly massages, we also managed to fit in some lovely long coastal walks, great lunches and dinners and even a morning of horse riding.

It felt wonderfully decadent to be able to wander about in our robes all day if we wanted to and having a treatment centre in the same building was a real bonus. We could come down about 5 minutes before our treatment time and then drag ourselves up the stairs to our room to collapse on the bed feeling all blissed out and loosened up afterwards.

The food that Helen serves is fresh and flavoursome and she makes the most perfect poached eggs I have ever seen! Helen is also an excellent judge of local restaurants and, thanks to her recommendation of ‘Peppers’ restaurant, we had 2 of the best meals out ever…and that includes our visit to ‘Gordon Ramsay’s at Claridges’ earlier this year!

I have nothing but high praise for the wonderful little oasis of calm that Helen has created at Fountains Court and my husband and I are already planning to go again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Mergon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I was greeted by Helen who helped me up stairs with my luggage, don't always get that in a larger hotel.
The atmophere in the hotel is very relaxed and friendly.
The treatments I had were extremely beneficial.
I was there in Dec and have just booked to return in March.
Its like an oasis of calm in a busy stressful life.
I would thoroughly recomend a visit especially to anyone needing a rest and recouperation.Last butnomeans least the food was amazing what atalented ladyHelen is. 10 out of 10

  • Liked — Ambience ofthe Hotel an THE FOOD
  • Disliked — Room small but adequate (single)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gold999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel

Property: Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Address: Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing