We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joan & Trish always happy hols at Sunningdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunningdale Guest House
Ranked #17 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Mum and I just returned from a lovely holiday at Sunningdale and always enjoy our stay.

David & Judy make us feel very welcome and we love to see Poppy the dog which is an extra bonus!
A great breakfast (a vegetarian option is available which I have) , great room and a great location looking forward to going back later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from yet again a most memorable holiday at Sunningdale with David and Judy as the perfect hosts.Breakfasts are superb and the comfort and facilities including I.T.support with the free wi fi most appreciated.Immaculate and very comfortable room,together with welcoming tea and biscuits on arrival and available throughout the holiday within the room.Constant hot water always available and at this time of year the comfort of heating throughout the building is extremely welcoming.We will be back for more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

No B&B or hotel in my opinion should have cheap, plastic flowers used to decorate the rooms, they immediately make the place look awful. Why not invest in beautiful, fresh flowers? This B&B had dusty plastic flowers in all of the rooms and a collection of tacky teddy bear ornaments in the breakfast room.

There were photographs of children all over the B&B. This is totally irrelevant and should be kept in the owners private part of the accommodation. Paying guests want to see photographs of Scarborough, paintings and landscapes, not family photos.

I overheard the owners talking to guests about how they "have 13 weeks off a year, because nobody works 7 days a week." Perhaps you should take some of this holiday time to clean your B&B thoroughly, keep up with all of the maintenance issues and give it a lick of paint and TLC!

Our bed was extremely small and uncomfortable with a rattling headboard. The pillows were old and it felt like we were sleeping on rocks. Needless to say I had 3 very restless nights sleep!
The floorboards all around the B&B were creaky and the shower was either too hot or too cold. The bath filled up with water whilst having a shower and the radiators all needed bleeding, therefore did not heat up our room correctly.

On the final morning, my partner got called by the wrong name by one of the owners. This was very disrespectful. As a B&B owner, you should make an effort to know who your guests are!

One morning I decided not to go down to have breakfast. My partner explained that I was tired but he was faced by a highly disapproved owner of the B&B.

We did not feel like welcomed or valued guests at this B&B, therefore we will definitely be going somewhere else next time! I highly recommend that you pay extra for a better stay, better customer service and a better nights sleep.

Alex Polizzi, The Hotel Inspector, would have a field day here!

Room Tip: Go to a different B&B/hotel, unless you want a sleepless night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunningdale_9, Owner at Sunningdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Each reviewer is entitled to their own single opinion irrespective if they have come to sunningdale as a couple.
As said before for what reason this lady felt compelled to write this review, we are unsure. Hopefully prospective guests will come to their own conclusion. You may care to read all of my 126 previous reviews, that indicate this is untrue, hopefully this will enable you to make an informed choice of her credibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After A Long Journey To Scarborough We Were Greeted By David Who Welcomed Us Into His Home For A Second Time. He Showed Us Into The Lounge And Offered Us A Lovely Pot Of Yorkshire Tea, It Was Then When Judy Came Into Have A Lovely Chat And Were Made To Feel Welcome. Judy Went That Extra Mile To Ensure My Mum, Who Had Recently Come Out Of Hospital That Nothing Would Be Too Much Trouble To Make Her Stay More Comfortable.

David Offered To Bring Our Cases In And Judy Showed Us Up To Our Lovely Room Situated On The First Floor On The Front Of The Guest House. We Were Extremely Pleased With The Room, Decorated To A High Standard, Bed's Made Up Nicely And Everywhere Was Spotlessly Clean. A Room Which Alex Polizzi Would Be Proud Of.

After A Peaceful, Comfortable Sleep We Went Down To The Dining Room Where We Were Greeted By David To Have Breakfast. We Were Offered A Variety Of Fresh Food And Beverage To Compliment Our Perfectly Cooked Tasty English Breakfast.

Overall A Fantastic Guest House In A Great Location Hosted By A Wonderful Couple. Couldn't Ask For Better Host's With A Beautiful Dog Called Poppy. Will Be Sure To Keep Coming Back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexy2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

On arriving we were met by what can only be described as an eccentric host, from reading the reviews we were expecting great things from this B&B, we experienced the complete opposite.

In fact what we got a crazy host who could not find anything and really does not know how to "do customer service". One of the first things the host said was "we are very relaxed here, we don't have any rules". As our stay progressed we found out the extensive list of rules, including "do not bring takeaways into the hotel", "breakfast is served between 8:15am and 9:00am" - we were on holiday if we wanted a lie in we had chosen the wrong B&B, the list goes on.

The B&B has a doorbell to contact the staff if you need them, on the first night of our stay we rang it several times to ask a couple of questions and pay our bill, the doorbell was switched off, so we had to ring the outside bell, the owner looked down her nose and spoke to us as if we were lying when I said we had rung it several times. The next day she ignored the bell when we rang it twice ... extremely poor service.

Our room was cold throughout our three night stay, the heating was off more than is was on, our room was also very dusty and we had a bed that was too small at 5feet 8inches my feet were hanging out of the end, then there was the issue of pillows that felt like they were made from concrete. And there was no need for the five hideous cushions on the bed, by the time we had stacked them on the floor there was no room to move.

Each morning the breakfasts got worse, so bad that my partner decided not to have breakfast on the final morning, one example was beans that were so overcooked they were thick and gloopy. The food was cheap quality and no care was taken about presenting it, it was just piled on a plate. The hosts spent more time gossiping with the regulars in the dining room, than they did actually cooking a good breakfast.

The final issue was the noise, you should not be able to hear people going to the toilet, talking, snoring or being kept awake by toddlers crying in the middle of the night. The walls are so thin in this B&B that you have no privacy and quite frankly the noises you hear from other rooms are disgusting.

If you want a good nights sleep do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunningdale_9, Owner at Sunningdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

For reasons only known to this gentleman he has felt it necessary to write a review that is both untrue and falsified. I do hope that prospective guests reading this can rise above such nonsense.
You may care to read all of my 126 previous reviews that indicate this is untrue, hopefully this will
enable you to make an informed choice of his credibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

From the offer of a cup of tea on arrival, to offering assistance with baggage on leaving, could not fault anything about our stay.
Excellent room overlooking the park. Beautifully decorated.
First class accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tesh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Sunningdale Guest House on the 18th to 20th. We were greeted by Judy who was very friendly and made us a cup of tea after a long tiring jouney. We met David at breakfast and he too was very friendly. They both made us very welcome.The room was very clean and very nicely decorated.Breakfast was beaufiful. We will go again.xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
973 reviews
1.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#36 of 183 in Scarborough
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
821 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Guest House

Address: 105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £38 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Guest House is perfectly situated on Scarborough's North Bay, opposite Peasholme Park, close to town centre, theatres, parks, gardens and galleries. Children of all ages are welcome at Sunningdale. David and Judy look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunningdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing