We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 2 May 2012

stayed here from the 27th - 29th april,hotel was ok but very dated.on entering our room( which overlooked the back street) it seemed very dark and dingy..everything was clean though and beds were comfortable... rooms had kettle tea coffee etc hairdryer and toiletries..we went for my husbands parents 50th wedding anniversary so booked quite a few rooms..having looked at everyone elses rooms we found out ours was the worst..they all had great views with nice decoration and very bright rooms.. the best room out of the lot was room 116 ours was room 103.food was a little disappointing with not much choice and some of the food wasnt very nice but dining room was luvli and staff very nice, and helpful too.to be honest we found all the staff to be ok and bar service was good, although the bar wasn't manned costantly ,when u rang the bell they came pretty fast to serve you..lovely comfy sofas in bar area and plenty of seating...was entertainment on the saturday night but we all went to a sitting room further down the hall so the kids could play and we could talk without disturbing anyone.i dont think i would stay there again as it was quite expensive for what you got..i have stayed in much nicer places for the money..but my in laws like it and have been a few times and have booked a few more stays there..i think its better suited to someone older.it is in a good place though easy to get to and has free parking..and not far from the seafront.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview these were the nicest and largest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank doco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

yes this is a good hotel but one thing the porter on the night duty left the bar radio on and whet away with one small child and the only ones in the bar area all we heard was a chat show talking about sex please buy some cds and lets have some back ground music and some plants on the in the passage ways they would be nice the meals are great the room great and the stafff were great even if they text under the counter and a great view

Room Tip: i think all but try to get a veiw of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The room is quite dated. The cleanliness did not meet the hotel standard. I won't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank YorkieTalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel last year (not by choice) , and have just stayed again (not by choice). I complained last year and i am sorry to say it hasn't improved.
The outside is a disgrace the rendering is dropping of the walls it is in desperate need of painting.
It is very dated, the toilets an en-suites leave a lot to be desired, bedroom furniture is tatty and who has wool blankets on beds these days?. The public rooms was clean & comfortable but dated.
Staff ....well what can i say a few manners, customer care wouldn't go amiss.
On entering the hotel the receptionist sat behind the desk reading the newspaper never looked up! wearing casual clothes.
Dining room,.... the waitress has no manners (clearing your plate while your still eating). The food is processed not cooked ,eg solidified gravy on processed meat, soggy veg except the parsnips which was so hard you couldn't stick your fork in.
Its an insult to be given such in-edible food, you dont need to be a michelin star chef to cook a roast diner
On a positive note i will praise the night doorman/security/barman he was very polite and obliging.

It is a big hotel with commanding views overlooking the habour and central position for the Spa & town etc, it is such a shame that it has been neglected
Co-operative organisation should be ashamed.

Room Tip: I cant think of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank golden1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

stayed 4 nights rooms large with nice views food was ok super views from restaurant bar bit dingy could do with a makeover overall good hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We first visited the Esplande Hotel 60 years ago for our honeymoon. It was very good and in spite of the wet weather then we enjoyed our week's stay. After 60 years the service was excellent and a big improvement was the addition of the beautiful dining room, with its excellent view over the Harbour and also the addition of the lift. The hotel could do with a lick of external paint, but inside the comfort and the attention of the staff made up for this. The meals were excellent and served very hot and with much choice. Would love to return but don't want to wait 60 years!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 60yearswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The main downside was that the staff seemed to be trying to do too much with two little of them.
Breakfast and dinner could have done with more waiting staff.
On two occasions 20 minute waits for just being able to order.
Also the bar person seemed always to be doubling up as a receptionist in the evenings which
meant waiting for service again.Poor selection of beer,only one beer.A frothy streamflow.
The girls cleaning the rooms were first class as was the room - despite a minor problem with the sink,quickly sorted out to the hotel's credit.
The food once it arrived was well cooked and plenty in quantity.
Entertainment on two night's of a four night stay was adequate.
This is a COACH hotel and ones's expectations should perhaps reflect this.

Room Tip: Seek out on booking,even with a coach holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank badmintongrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing