We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach tour to Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coach tour to Scarborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a tour to Scarborough based at the Esplanade Hotel.The hotel is in the quiet area of the south bay and is a few minutes walk from the town centre, but is up a bit of a hill from the town centre. Staff came out and took the cases from our coach up to the bedrooms which was quite a help as most people on our tour were over 70 years old.Our room was facing the Spa in the South Bay,was clean and tidy and had a very comfortable bed.I cannot praise the staff enough as they were all very friendly and helpful,but I must mention Steve our server in the dining room who made sure that anything we required was dealt with very quickly and with a smile on his face.The dining room and the food served was very good with quite generous portions.I would most certainly revisit the hotel if ever in Scarborough again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    132
    82
    14
    23
See reviews for
50
151
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The esplanade is a hotel which is very comfortable and some lovely aspects. I had room 118 which is large and spacious , with a great view over the resort and windows leading onto a balcony. The furniture is a little tired and dated but works for the room. The dining room is very comfortable and spacious. One of the pluses for the hotel is the veranda from the bar area which is great to sit out on having a quiet time or with friends with great views over the sea. The only negative i will highlight is that the hotel gets too hot especially in the recent warm weather and they cant turn the old radiators off as they say the mains hot water flows thru them and keeps them hot. This is in the main communal areas and ballroom. This did cause a problem for us whilst we were dancing and it go to hot to stay in the function. As a base to see scarborough its ideal..... there is a lot of steps when going down to the town so may not suit some. As a venue to hold a function in the ballroom........ id check to see if they have sorted the hot radiators first before booking.... Would i stay here again....... Yes..... It does have a car park but get there early before they are all taken

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Esplanade is a very nice Hotel. The food was great. Staff really helpful and friendly.
Rooms and all parts were spotless. Porters were used to take cases to the rooms.

The Hotel itself is quite old as is Scarbrough. (Not much modernisation in the area.)

It is situated above the cliffs, hence steep walks but there is a lift to take people down to the beach at a small cost.

Not much entertainment in the hotel but good in the one next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as some rooms just looked onto another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I used to live in Scarborough and my parents still do - we visit when we can. We're on a budget so were surprised when we could stay for £64 per room per night on B & B. The room awas lovely and the view absolutely stunning - I have not come across a better vista of Scarborough than the one we had this weekend. All the staff were friendly and professional. We were lucky and managed to get a space in the small free car park as well. Breakfasts were good with an ample choice of fruits cereals and a 3 cooked options as well. Thank you Esplanade Hotel and staff we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SulynWaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

we decided on Sunday afternoon to pack our bags, load the car and head of to sunny Scarborough. booked this hotel while in car on drive, got last minute for £59 room only excluding breakfast.

Hotel situated close to sea, promenade etc, parking choc a bloc but then again it was a bank holiday weekend

all in all we had a pleasant stay, beds were comfortable, room clean, bathroom bit outdated could do with a bit of tlc.

Any way bob was happy cos he popped his cork.... yes folks we enjoyed a bottle of bubbly while looking out across the bay.

nice hotel, nice staff would happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vodkaveranmazdabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night. We fancied a quick night away from Leeds, and considering the weather was warm on the bank holiday weekend we headed for Scarborough.

I think we were very lucky, we could have been given one of the best rooms in the hotel with number 118. Had a fantastic view over the bay and a little balcony. Bed was extremely comfortable, had a sofa which is always a nice bonus (if the room is big enough to accommodate a sofa easily then that's always a good sign). The bathroom was a little small and a newer shower would be better, but it was very clean.

The night porter was also brilliant. On coming back at 11:30 or so, he was more than happy to serve us a drink at the bar and was very accommodating and ran round the hotel to find us the bottle that we wanted. He couldn't find it but the effort was appreciated.

We enjoyed breakfast, not a huge selection but then that always complicates things. The quality of what we had was good.

We paid £70 for the Sunday night on a bank holiday weekend. I was happy with that.

Room Tip: 118 is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llcooljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many years ago and were very pleased to see it on a booking website meaning we would pay an affordable price. We managed to get the last room which was a twin, and were pleased to find it was very spacious, lovely and warm with very nice decor. The hotel is perhaps in need of a little update however, in the current financial climate I feel that it is providing everything needed for a pleasant stay. The breakfast was really nice and the location of the hotel provides a fabulous view across the bay. There is a balcony, where in the summer nights you can sit, enjoying a drink looking out to sea.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Esplanade Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing