We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
87
148
90
20
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
148
90
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomturkey tinselbit datedsea viewmobility problemstwin rooman updatesuperb viewscoach holidayscarborough baylarge hotelcleaning staffthe clifflovely hotellick of paintvisited this hotelroom was clean and comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel where I organised a bowls tour for 31 people. It has an excellent location in the South Bay overlooking the sea and all my colleagues were pleased with their rooms. Ours was spacious, clean and comfortable, in good decorative order and with a small but perfectly adequate bathroom. The hotel has a good lift, well-lit corridors, a number of lounges, bar, ballroom, and a large balcony with chairs and tables. The food was ample if only of average quality but service was efficient with very little waiting time. Reception staff were unfailingly helpful at all times and readily responded to all requests that were made. We were given the use of the ballroom for a presentation evening with no extra charge. Rooms for people with special needs were provided with no fuss. I have read some of the negative comments on this site and can only think that people must have stayed in another hotel with the same name as our experience was very positive. I am a professor who has stayed in hotels all over the world and have to say that, if this one is rated 22nd out of 28 in the area, Scarborough must have the finest hotels in Europe! Given the price that was paid our stay was extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a sea view. Room 242 was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonemmbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a tour to Scarborough based at the Esplanade Hotel.The hotel is in the quiet area of the south bay and is a few minutes walk from the town centre, but is up a bit of a hill from the town centre. Staff came out and took the cases from our coach up to the bedrooms which was quite a help as most people on our tour were over 70 years old.Our room was facing the Spa in the South Bay,was clean and tidy and had a very comfortable bed.I cannot praise the staff enough as they were all very friendly and helpful,but I must mention Steve our server in the dining room who made sure that anything we required was dealt with very quickly and with a smile on his face.The dining room and the food served was very good with quite generous portions.I would most certainly revisit the hotel if ever in Scarborough again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The esplanade is a hotel which is very comfortable and some lovely aspects. I had room 118 which is large and spacious , with a great view over the resort and windows leading onto a balcony. The furniture is a little tired and dated but works for the room. The dining room is very comfortable and spacious. One of the pluses for the hotel is the veranda from the bar area which is great to sit out on having a quiet time or with friends with great views over the sea. The only negative i will highlight is that the hotel gets too hot especially in the recent warm weather and they cant turn the old radiators off as they say the mains hot water flows thru them and keeps them hot. This is in the main communal areas and ballroom. This did cause a problem for us whilst we were dancing and it go to hot to stay in the function. As a base to see scarborough its ideal..... there is a lot of steps when going down to the town so may not suit some. As a venue to hold a function in the ballroom........ id check to see if they have sorted the hot radiators first before booking.... Would i stay here again....... Yes..... It does have a car park but get there early before they are all taken

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Esplanade is a very nice Hotel. The food was great. Staff really helpful and friendly.
Rooms and all parts were spotless. Porters were used to take cases to the rooms.

The Hotel itself is quite old as is Scarbrough. (Not much modernisation in the area.)

It is situated above the cliffs, hence steep walks but there is a lift to take people down to the beach at a small cost.

Not much entertainment in the hotel but good in the one next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as some rooms just looked onto another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I used to live in Scarborough and my parents still do - we visit when we can. We're on a budget so were surprised when we could stay for £64 per room per night on B & B. The room awas lovely and the view absolutely stunning - I have not come across a better vista of Scarborough than the one we had this weekend. All the staff were friendly and professional. We were lucky and managed to get a space in the small free car park as well. Breakfasts were good with an ample choice of fruits cereals and a 3 cooked options as well. Thank you Esplanade Hotel and staff we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SulynWaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews