We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ok, the room was a bit dated,near our room we could smell sewerage, but the rest of the hotel smelt a bit dirty. It was a bit difficult to get a car in there car park because they were two fifty three seaters parked there all day. The breakfast was also a bit disappointing, and was catered more for the elderly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarnsleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

On arriving at the hotel we noticed that the outside appearance was becoming very tatty and in need of a lick of paint. We were greeted by a very abrupt receptionist who certainly could do with attending a course on customer service.

I have a great respect for the older generation and I believe this is now who the hotel are catering for as on arrival there were older people sat in the lounge obviously enjoying the peace and quiet and a number of wheelchairs in the corridors. It is now giving the impression of a residential home perhaps for the elderly. I think this is important to mention as it does not seem the right environment for a young family.

This was our second visit this year but I have to say it seems we were very lucky with the room we had previously. On this occasion with my family, we occupied three rooms and all were very dated and desperately in need of a make over. On entering our room there was a strong smell of foist, possibly from lack of drain cleaning. The wallpaper and bedding were very old fashioned giving the room a very drab appearance. The single rooms occupied by my son and daughter had very poor flowing showers in them, along with very shabby furniture.

I would not visit again as overall it was a bit of a let down, such a shame as once a beautiful building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there over the weekend lovely room fantastic view.Its old but clean found staff friendly. The dinner was good all home made breakfast was very good and lots of it to choose from..Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catemclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Esplanade Hotel, Its situated at the top of a hill overlooking the bay.
First impressions it looks a bit tired and needs some updating.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms are situated over 4 floors and are accessed by either a single lift or lots of stairs.
our room was on the 3rd floor with an excellent view over the bay.
our room was clean, comfortable and no noise from other guests.
we had breakfast/evening meal at the hotel and the food was excellent.
access to the seafront is by steep steps/slopes
parking at the hotel is very limited
overall good value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel decor is dated and in some areas downright shabby, however it is clean and the rooms and bathrooms are very good size and well laid out. Everything in the building seems to creak so not entirely conducive to a good nights sleep. The main downside to this hotel is the staff. On checking in we were not given any directions to the rooms or any information about breakfast service or any other facilities. Having found our own way to the breakfast room we waited at the entrance only to be ignored by a member of staff who looked at us 3 times and carried on doing what he was doing, he only came over when he was told to by the senior member of staff. Later on he was again told that some people were waiting to be seating to which he sarcastically replied 'and?'. Some of the waiting staff are scruffily dressed and spend most of their time hiding in a corner (actually sitting on one of the breakfast tables) slagging off guests and moaning about working at the hotel. Everything is done grudgingly and they made a big show of the fact that the resturant closed at 9.30 when someone was trying to get some more coffee 1 minute after 9.30. The tip box prominently placed on the buffet table is clearly a joke.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a coach holiday at the Esplanade Hotel.It does needs a lick of paint in places,but clean and food good.Staff really need to cheer up.Tip boxes in resteraunt,reception ,one is enough.

Room Tip: choose a room with sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel where I organised a bowls tour for 31 people. It has an excellent location in the South Bay overlooking the sea and all my colleagues were pleased with their rooms. Ours was spacious, clean and comfortable, in good decorative order and with a small but perfectly adequate bathroom. The hotel has a good lift, well-lit corridors, a number of lounges, bar, ballroom, and a large balcony with chairs and tables. The food was ample if only of average quality but service was efficient with very little waiting time. Reception staff were unfailingly helpful at all times and readily responded to all requests that were made. We were given the use of the ballroom for a presentation evening with no extra charge. Rooms for people with special needs were provided with no fuss. I have read some of the negative comments on this site and can only think that people must have stayed in another hotel with the same name as our experience was very positive. I am a professor who has stayed in hotels all over the world and have to say that, if this one is rated 22nd out of 28 in the area, Scarborough must have the finest hotels in Europe! Given the price that was paid our stay was extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a sea view. Room 242 was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonemmbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing